We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Downtown and exceptional.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Nashvillle, TN
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Downtown and exceptional.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

The Planters Inn brings a European flair to running its' hotel. The Staff goes out of their way to see to all your needs. The roooms are luxurious; king size bed and bedding, marble bath with jacuzzi, plenty of room. Each night they have turn down service and put a little treat, from their pastry chef, on the table beside the bed. Overall, we had an awesome stay.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the second floor of the new wing. You don't have to go through the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear JoeRichards,
Many of our return guests are fond of the Deluxe King rooms located in the piazza wing for many of the reason you mention. Beautiful shared courtyard overlooking the city market and our newly renovated central courtyard, these oversized jetted tub bathrooms are a favorite for many. A continental breakfast just outside your door on the piazza in the morning can make for a terrific start to the day or perfect for an afternoon beverage and or relaxing book in the sun. We thank you for your comments and look forward to your next trip to Planters Inn.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,244
    209
    84
    28
    8
See reviews for
210
1,012
37
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary at Planters Inn and we ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!! This was my first trip to Charleston and it exceeded all my expectations. We looked at several different places and settled on Planter's Inn and were completely satisfied with our choice. I am a history buff and would recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys history but Charleston also offers excellent shopping, dining, and plenty of other fun things to do. We spent 3 days and only "scratched" the surface. We will certainly return!

Pros to Planters Inn:
-Great location right in the heart of historic district. We rarely used our car the whole trip. The street market is directly across the street. King street is one block away with great shopping from large retail stores such as (Pottery Barn, Banana republic, J. Crew, etc). There is also great shopping with more "local stores" a block or two away towards the coastline.
-Large, quiet, beautiful rooms. We had a room off the courtyard and one night there was a large group of people that were slightly noisy but it did not keep us up and otherwise it was very nice and peaceful.
-Peninsula Grill is awesome; very expensive but delicious.
-Staff all very friendly and helpful. The overall atmosphere is what you would expect from a fine hotel.

Cons to Planters Inn:
-Valet Parking is ~$20 per day. I really think most places do valet parking as well though so this is kind of part of the trip wherever you go.
-No complimentary breakfast. They do have coffee and hot tea in the morning and apple cider and orange spiced tea in afternoon which is excellent.

Other "nuggets" from our trip:
-If you enjoy history, you must go to the plantations. We only had time for Middleton and Magnolia but hope to go to more plantations next trip. Middleton has an excellent restaurant located on the property that was one of our favorite lunch spots. We only bought general admission to both plantations (there are lots of "tour" options, etc. but we decided to just head out on our own as it can be pricey). I think this was more efficient for covering the whole plantation but I guess we probably missed out on some history info.
-Hominy Grill is a great spot for breakfast. Just be careful, on weekends they don't open untill 9am (Which I think is absolutely ridiculous.)
-MUST go on a carriage tour. We went with Palmetto Carriage (located in a big red barn) and I would recommend to anyone. I would do this tour early in the trip to help get a feel for where everything is and get an "taste" of all Charleston's rich history.

Overall, Charleston is such a charming city full of beauty, great food, shopping, and history. My only complaint is that the trip was very expensive but some of that was because there was so many fun things to do!!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DocBriggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear DoBriggsy,
We are pleased to hear you discovered Charleston and Planters Inn for your first visit. Your review takes time to address many of our attributes with a few minor suggestions that we always appreciate. Our city is famous for history, dining, shopping and numerous culinary delights. Thank you for taking time to summarize your experience and share for other to read. We look forward to seeing you and many future visits as Greenville is a very short drive to Charleston!
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

We spent the nights of 11/22 and 23 of this year in one of the hotel's Plantation King rooms. It was a definite splurge for us, but we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our room was large, quiet, clean and comfortable, and the hotel's location is perfect for walking around Charleston's historic district.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaoenophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Vaoenophile,
Our Plantation King rooms offer guests the largest variety of “looks” in our charming circa 1844 property and are by far the best value and most spacious of our guest rooms. With fourteen versions of this room, the Plantation King is our most recommended room category. Thank you for your comments on the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms and we appreciate the acknowledgement to the housekeeping staff; our most underappreciated and highly valued team members that make our property what is every day.
Best Wishes and thank you from all of us,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this quaint and romantic place. Loved the room decor and in-room fireplace. Staff was attentive and provided nice touches.

Room location off the courtyard was nice and quiet. We had heard that rooms off the street side might be noisy, so we asked for a courtyard room and were rewarded.

Location was excellent, within walking distance of just about everything. A great trip!

Room Tip: Ask for room off courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear David,
Thank you for your recent trip advisor and pleased to hear your room choice was rewarded and partially attributed to suggestions from others. Our circa 1844 historic property offer guests an experience unlike any other property found in Charleston. We provide a variety of guest accommodations that include the seasonal benefit of a working gas fireplace which enhances almost any occasion by simply creating that little extra charm. Although this precious amenity is not found in all 64 rooms, it is a highly requested item during the holiday season and is a popular selection from your repeat guests. “Quaint and romantic” is a succinct description of the atmosphere we offer guests upon arrival to our property. As we have decorated for the holidays, the warmth of the lobby décor and our wood burning fireplace truly welcome our guests to the property and reminds us all of the special memories we help create for guests that are visiting during the holiday season.
Happy Anniversary from all of us and Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

My husband and I went to Planters Inn in Charlestown, South Carolina, in August 2012, for our wedding anniversary. We could not have chosen a more romantic and glamorous place to stay than this famous old hotel and this amazing city. The accommodations in Planters Inn are beautiful and elegantly Old South but with great and large modern bathrooms and other modern amenities. The valet service and staff are superb. The staff and service is warm, Southern, impeccably efficient and helpful. The Peninsula Grill Dining Room in the Inn is to die for. We also love the courtyard beside the hotel. It is whispery lit and romantic in the evenings. Fountains and flowers and greenery abound. Our room looked right off onto the courtyard and onto the old Market. (We had a corner room, which was so beautiful!) Horse carriages, ladies weaving sweet grass baskets, and history abound right outside the door of the hotel and right outside one’s window. Charleston is one of our favorite best cities in the world and the Planters Inn is the perfect setting in which to enjoy it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdamandVictoriaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Adam and Victoria S,
We always grateful of our guest feedback; however the lasting impressions we help create during an anniversary trip remind us all of the significance of our guests experiences even more. Your summation from your anniversary trip is superb in all areas and we are so pleased you elected to share your special occasion with us in Charleston. On behalf of the entire team of Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill we appreciate all your comments and hope to see you again soon for a return visit to Charleston.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Over the recent Thanksgiving Holidays, we spent four nights at the memorable Planter's Inn, Charleston. As salient background, I am a corporate compliance consultant and travel frequently on a global basis, and because my firm has excellent clients, it has been my privilege to domicile in the best hotels and resorts in the world. (My favorite hotel in the universe: Claridge's, London.)

Well on my own nickel this time, we booked the Governor's Suite at the Planter's Inn and our stay at this marvelous property convinces me this historical gem (1844) resides on a stratospheric level with the world's finest boutique hotels. The service, lodging, food and ambience was absolutely perfect and we were especially mesmerized at the classy personal attention bestowed by the incomparable, peerless staff.

And speaking of the staff, General Manager Brian Dickerson and his carefully-selected and trained employees could give professional lessons to other properties as to how to manage a hotel and treat its guests.

At the risk of leaving out someone equally worthy, I would especially compliment Drew, Amy, Kara, Nick, Tristin, Steve and Josh for high praise. Drew runs a tight ship at night and joined me as I puffed on an infrequent cigar in the garden one pleasant evening. Nick, an urbane, sophisticated Englishman, has broken some female hearts, I imagine; Amy and Kara can secure reservations that no one else can--plus, both are drop-dead beautiful; Steve exhibits smiling charm to early risers seeking coffee; Tristin and Josh--friendly, accommodating and attentive linebacker types are fellows you want around just to steady things. (Although I can't imagine trouble of any kind ever pays a visit to the Planter's Inn.)


Here is the last word and the best thing I can say about the Planter's Inn: This hotel is a genuine credit to the exceptionally historic city in which it is privileged to serve a world-wide clientele.

Point being, we'll return--and often..

-Appreciatively to all.. Clark

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Mr. Clark,
Your posting is simply perfect. OUTSTANDING HOTEL AND SERVICE! Individual recognition of our team members by name is what we strive for in the service industry and ultimately the standard we look for when recognizing our staff internally. On behalf of the numerous staff you recognized and those you include in your overall summation of our service, we are humbly appreciative. Planters Inn is known to provide guests a superior location, amazing restaurant, and beautifully appointed guest accommodations and outstanding service. We are proud to hear you were able to experience and enjoy all of the above. We are certain you will be back for many visits and we look forward to your return!
Best,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

This is a great hotel with a great location. Left my car with the valet on a Friday and didn't need to drive until Monday when I left. Ran into a few issues with my reservation and room service that the management worked hard to resolve. Speaking of "room service" , dont expect a romantic room service meal sitting in your fireplace suite. They do not have in room dining except for light continental breakfast. I would also note that one should not leave anything like newspapers or partial water bottles in room as the housekeepers will take them away. This happened twice in our visit and I see other reviewers have noted this in the past. Quite peculiar. Again staff is quite positive and always address you by name. Great free wifi here . Dont miss the relaxing and comfortable lounge off lobby, its a great place to read your weekend paper.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shane n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Mr. Nolan,
As you mention, management made numerous efforts to address and assist with your concerns during your visit and we hope those attempts were taken into consideration during your recent review and posting. Your suggestions and feedback regarding our room service have been met and addressed with the management team and improvements are progress to better serve our guests and improve our operation. Thank you for your comments.
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Property: Planters Inn
Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding court in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, the 64-room Planters Inn Relais & Châteaux is the city's iconic grande dame hotel. Uniformed doormen welcome every arrival, ushering guests inside the gloriously restored circa 1844 building to a sanctuary of elegant style and genteel service. Voted #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel by readers of Travel + Leisure magazine, Planters Inn is a world of civility, sumptuous cuisine, and cultural pursuits. Soaring ten-foot ceilings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a stunning collection of antiques and Baker Historic Charleston décor, including a sumptuous four poster bed in every guest room, create a luxurious ambiance described by Travel + Leisure as "akin to an overnight with well-to-do friends in their old Charleston mansion." Hushed tones of buttercream, Lowcountry greens, and pale powder blue paint the walls, while raw silk fabrics frame the windows. There's also more to Planters Inn than meets the eye: A hidden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides a beguiling entry to Peninsula Grill, the city's foremost dining experience. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are longstanding members of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of luxury boutique hotels and gourmet restaurants located in the world's most romantic, most cultured, and most memorable destinations. Are you excited for your getaway to Charleston? We are excited to welcome you to Planters Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing