We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, cozy hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cozy hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

The staff is great. The rooms are clean and neat in both buildings. My only suggestion would be to offer decaf tea and coffee as well as the complimentary caffeine you serve in the lobby- like the Biltmore Inn does. Not a big deal though. I would definitely stay here again. The beds are so comfortable!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billygoat2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Billygoat2010,
Thank you for your recent posting and sharing your views following your visit We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our property, services, and staff. Our beds do offer a relaxing retreat from the hustle and bustle of the historic district. We appreciate your suggestions and hope you have the opportunity to join us again from Charlotte; a short ride for you next trip. On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,270
    213
    88
    29
    10
See reviews for
220
1,038
37
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed here one night. The hotel is well located across from the market (though I would stay a couple blocks away another time as it's a bit grubby at night). The property is very professionally run. The staff is knowledgable and helpful. Nice living room at front with beverages and snacks throughout the day. The room was very clean and quite spacious. The bed was very comfortable and all amenities were good. The internet was complimentary and worked well. I generally prefer a more modern hotel but the intent here was obviously historical and it was nicely done.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anerlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear anerlli,
Thank you for your comments and appreciation of our operation, knowledgeable and helpful staff and spacious and clean accommodations. Although you admit to preferring a more modern hotel, we are pleased to read you discovered we offer all the modern conveniences with the character and charm of an old world hotel with our perfectly situated circa 1844 property. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are second to none for their location in Charleston and we are pleased you agree and look forward to assisting you on your next visit.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

The Planters Inn is a wonderful hotel with a perfect location to walk to almost anything in Downtown Charleston. Rooms are cozy and have been thought through with all the detail. It makes you feel like you are in someone's home.
I would have given it a five stars, but it didn't have a conceige desk. If this was a small inn then that would be fine, but because it is such a tourist city, you really need to talk to someone about things to do, places to eat, etc. The front desk staff is helpful and trained to do all this as well, but when people are checking in you just don't want to wait in line to ask for these things. But, it is still a place I would stay at again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear smlbusowner,
We appreciate your time and comments. Thank you for acknowledging our “perfect location, cozy rooms…that make you feel like you are in someone’s home”. We respect your suggestion on providing a separate concierge desk; however we do subscribe to a more European style registration and concierge desk that allows our guests to communicate directly with every member of our guest services staff for their concierge needs. During your next visit, please do not hesitate to take your time and enjoy the knowledge of our staff to help guide you around our amazing city with suggestion and favorites. We promise you will not be disappointed. Until next time,
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

One of the finest Inns in the South. Great service, great location, great food, and fine rooms.

We were there for a business conference and the conference facility and breakfast were outstanding. A little pricey and the rooms need a coffee maker, but I'd recommend this place in a hear beat. We enjoyed it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear John G,
“First Class All the Way”….a wonderful summation of your experiences at the Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill. Although many guests are enjoying Charleston for leisure, dining, and touring alone; it is always nice to read of our guests that were here to enjoy our facilities for a business meeting as well. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill private meeting rooms are well equipped and offer a perfect location to host small business meetings. We are happy to hear you will recommend us in a “heart beat”. Thank you again.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

I have mixed feelings about the property. It could have done much better for a Relais et Chateaux that charges so high rates for Charleston. The common areas are fine but far from being outstanding. There isn't much space for one to sit and have a cup of coffee.It is true that there is a sort of a library with two sitting areas close to the lobby but that's it. While we appreciated the complementary cookies and coffee (the coffee samovar was empty though) served in the library in the afternoon, we were expecting that a Relais et Chateaux such as the Planters Inn would make a little bit more of an effort and serve some wine and more refined pastries. After all, any youth hostel or cheap B&B would serve complementary cookies and coffee. Our room was nicely decorated and spacious. The bathroom was fine though pretty basic and the amenities quite minimalistic. We paid over $ 400 per night with no breakfast included. The hotel could have at least included the miserable continental breakfast served for $ 10 or $ 12 in the Peninsula Grill in the $ 400 rate. We left with a feeling that the Maitre de Maison must be particularly stingy which may not be the case, but it was obvious that we were being charged the maximum and that the hotel was making every effort to deliver the minimum and optimize its profit. We have seen much more generous Relais et Chateaux properties. Except for the French manager, the reception staff was a little chilly. The femme de chambre was extremely nice and the room impeccably clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneDijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear ReneDijon,
Thank you for sharing your views following your recent visit to the Planters Inn. We appreciate all forms of feedback from our guests and utilize your suggestion to improve our operation. Whether it be perceived value, training, or service suggestions; all are taken into consideration and communicated with our staff and management in daily meetings that address all guest comments. Although you felt our pricing may have been high for Charleston; we are confident we are very competitive in the market and our al a cart breakfast and dining at options from Peninsula Grill are both and exceptional value and well worth the accolades they are known to garner. In respect our fellow Relais & Chateaux properties, we are quite reasonable in relation to others in the U.S. while providing the premier location in the heart of one of the country’s most sought after historic district. It is true many R&C properties include meals;however those that do command a much greater sum. Should your travels find you in Charleston, please call on me directly for assistance with planning your next visit.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amersham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Planters Inn last week
The hotel was excellent in all respects
The service was immaculate ,our room was perfect and the whole ambience of the hotel was peaceful and relaxing
The food and wine were first rate
But above all the staff were so friendly, helpful and efficient
It was the ideal place to relax after a few hard days watching the Masters at Augusta!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gordonjeffreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Mr. Jeffereys,
We all enjoyed meeting you during your recent visit and appreciate your time and posting today. Thank you for acknowledging our staff, your guest room and the ambience of our property. Happy to hear we were able to allow you to relax and enjoy Peninsula Grill and our amazing city after the rigors of a visit to our neighbors in Augusta Please call on us when your travel bring you back to Charleston for a return visit to your new favorite; The Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill!
All the Best,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan Center, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Could not have been happier with this hotel ! The service is 5 Star, and all employees seem to love working there! They ALL have an infectious, happy attitude... and a very "can do" mindset.

Our room was great, in an older section, on the street, but amazingly quiet. The location is central, but not super crowded. Penninsula Grill restaurant is delicious, with a beautiful atmosphere. Even ordered a room service dinner that was fantastic, and THAT doesn't always happen!

The staff went overboard helping me with a fax transmission that ended up being a bit of a pain. They were fantastic though, kudos to them and their great attitudes!

A highly recommended hotel, I would not stay anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1travel1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear 1Travel1111,
A mark of any great hotel is the staff! We are pleased to hear you appreciated our team of professionals and noticed their “infectious and happy attitude”. Providing pleasant, attentive and accommodating service is a hallmark of the Planters Inn; although doing so with an upbeat attitude is a true compliment to our team. We thank you for your time and review of our property. On behalf to all of us at Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill we look forward to assisting you on your next reservation to Charleston.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#9 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Property: Planters Inn
Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding court in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, the 64-room Planters Inn Relais & Châteaux is the city's iconic grande dame hotel. Uniformed doormen welcome every arrival, ushering guests inside the gloriously restored circa 1844 building to a sanctuary of elegant style and genteel service. Voted #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel by readers of Travel + Leisure magazine, Planters Inn is a world of civility, sumptuous cuisine, and cultural pursuits. Soaring ten-foot ceilings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a stunning collection of antiques and Baker Historic Charleston décor, including a sumptuous four poster bed in every guest room, create a luxurious ambiance described by Travel + Leisure as "akin to an overnight with well-to-do friends in their old Charleston mansion." Hushed tones of buttercream, Lowcountry greens, and pale powder blue paint the walls, while raw silk fabrics frame the windows. There's also more to Planters Inn than meets the eye: A hidden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides a beguiling entry to Peninsula Grill, the city's foremost dining experience. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are longstanding members of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of luxury boutique hotels and gourmet restaurants located in the world's most romantic, most cultured, and most memorable destinations. Are you excited for your getaway to Charleston? We are excited to welcome you to Planters Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing