We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing personalized service by all - wonderful stay.”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I am a travel consultant who booked clients into the Planters Inn for 4 nights in May. My clients are an older couple who have rather limited mobility, but who wanted to see a lot of the sites of Charleston nonetheless. Caroline Stout at the Inn was amazing with my clients. She made sure that they had everything they needed, from the same reserved table in the restaurant every evening to transportation to various sites to confirming bookings of their tours every day. But not only Caroline gave this kind of personalized service - every employee of the hotel was kind and attentive. My clients loved the food at the restaurant, and said it rates with some of the finest restaurants they have been in around the world.
I am very impressed with this hotel and will look forward to visiting Charleston one day soon! Thank you Planters Inn for taking such good care of them.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sakrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear Sakrao,
We enjoyed meeting your clients and our mutual guests during their recent visit. It was our pleasure to assist them with their dietary needs and special requests and ensuring they were well looked from the Inn to the Peninsula Grill. Our service team is very attuned to the needs and requests of our guests; yet special requests are area we shine and embrace the hospitality and make every effort to excel. We are pleased to read your clients enjoy our property and staff and hope you too have the opportunity to visit the Planters Inn and experience us first hand.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,362 - 1,368 of 1,869 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

The Inn is in an 1844 building on Market Street directly opposite the Confederate museum and the Charleston markets. It is a member of the Relais & Chateaux group and therefore a high quality hotel. The arrival and departure processes were seamless, even to the extent of providing us with a fridge to enable us to cool our travel eats. The room was large and extremely comfortable with a separate area for the desk, a safe, ironing equipment and a large fully equipped bathroom. Room service was prompt and cheerful. We had the feeling that the staff were keen to be of assistance whenever needed. A very welcoming atmosphere.

Room Tip: 4th floor in the old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear JohnR63,
“EXCELLENT ACCOMODATIONS” is music to our ears! We appreciate your business and especially your kind words regarding our team and the services you experienced during your recent visit. Your comments are heartfelt and we all enjoyed meeting you. It is rewarding to read such praise from a Relais and Chateaux regular guest from another country and especially a Top Contributor for Trip Advisor. Our goal is to welcome all guests into our charming home at the Planters Inn and we are thrilled you were able feel this from our staff. On behalf of the team, I thank you for your comments and we hope you have the opportunity to join us again in Charleston soon.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We choose this hotel based on reviews, and we were very happy with our choice. We had a pretty room that was clean, quiet and cool - everything we wanted in a Charleston hotel. The staff was a bit young, but they were enthusiastic. We didn't have any reason to need anything from the staff so no complaints there. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the restaurant, not the street, We only heard one car's bass during our 3 n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bonnwerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear Bonnweri,
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our property and your selection of the Planters Inn based upon our online reviews. Our “enthusiastic” staff is always ready to serve and are happy to assist in planning your next visit to Charleston to further enjoy the city’s amazing attractions, superb dining (such as our acclaimed Peninsula Grill) and share their concierge knowledge of this fantastic area. Thank you for taking a moment to share your comments and giving us a “Terrific Hotel”.
We look forward to your return.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Planter's Inn is a very pretty, well-appointed hotel. The small grounds are gorgeous and the restaurant The room we enjoyed was very comfortable and quiet until 1:00-3:00 in the morning when the bars start to close and the kids start to scream coming out of the nearby bars on each side of the street. If the city requires that visitors pay a policeman's fee for each night's stay, then the local police force needs to show up and get the kids off the street so the patron's can sleep.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank R J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear RJD,
Thank you for taking a moment to post your sentiments and appreciation of our property, grounds, dining room and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your accommodations. We appreciate your suggestion on better city supervision of external noise factors beyond our control and appreciate your point of view; as we strive to provide a peaceful and restful environment for our patrons. It is true; our superb location in the heart of the historic district commands the best attractions, shopping and restaurants. We hope you allow us to aid you in selecting an alternate location on your next visit to Charleston and look forward welcoming you back to Planters Inn.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My husband & I have stayed at the Planter's Inn on a number of occasions & have never been disappointed. The wonderful southern charm in both hotel & dinning remains constant. We enjoy the mix of young and experienced staff.

Room Tip: Plan ahead if possible for best rates. We always request a first floor room which is street level an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear Nancy H,
On behalf of the entire team at Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill we always appreciate postings from our loyal regular guests. As you mention, our young and “experienced staff” are both knowledgeable and attentive to the needs of our guests and strive to exceed expectations and continue to find new and interesting ways to aid our repeat guests in their planning activities and restaurants in this amazing city. Your suggestion to try one of our spacious and quiet first floor rooms is terrific; as many mistakenly assume otherwise. We are proud of our sound proofing efforts on rooms near Meeting Street and are happy you suggest these rooms that offer the highest ceiling and great light looking onto the historic district.

We look forward to assisting you on many future visits.
Best Wishes until the next visit,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Had a 4 night visit celebrating a major anniversary so we splurged for one of the two Penthouse kings. Although the room was very well appointed and comfortable the additional size, balcony, and view of an adjacent rooftop in my view was not worth the extra expense compared to the Plantation king. We checked in Friday at 5pm and when I requested a bottle of champagne for our room there was no room service available. The staff seemed like college students with weekend jobs who were mostly engaged in conversation with each other rather than the needs of the guests. The rather poor weekend experience all changed on Monday morning when the management appeared at the front desk and the hotel was transformed into a completely different and very positive experience.

Room Tip: Penthouse king probably not worth the additional expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boomer_from_Boulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Boomer_from_Boulder,
Thank you for taking time to outline the inexcusable inconsistencies you witnessed during your visit. Neither your expectations, nor our standards of excellence were fulfilled. We appreciate all forms of guest feedback and regret that your visit was far less than your expectations.

The information you provided has been addressed with entire team and will be used to improve our consistency of service 24 hours a day and seven days a week.
Although some newer staff may have been present during your arrival were present; this does not excuse the perception and reality of your experiences.

Thank you again for your comments and suggestions to improve our operation.


Kind Regards,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at the Planters Inn for a special Mother's Day weekend and the level of service we received was outstanding. From the time we drove up to the hotel until we left we were treated like royalty. This was not my first stay at the property and it will not be my last. This is truly a first class property.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melodi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Melodie R,
We always appreciate feedback and especially from our loyal repeat guests. Thank you for taking a moment to remind us just how much you enjoy staying with us. On behalf of the entire team at Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill we are grateful for your patronage and look forward to assisting you on your next trip to Charleston.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,953 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,281 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,881 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,475 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 61 in Charleston
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £184 - £436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Travel + Leisure magazine’s #1 Best U.S. Small Hotel Award, PLANTERS INN is South Carolina’s only member of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of renowned boutique hotels in the world’s most romantic destinations. This AAA Four Diamond Historic Hotel is beautiful to behold with high ceilings, silk window dressings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a four-poster bed with luxurious Italian linens in every room. Thanks to the best location in the very heart of the Historic District, guests do not need a car while at Planters Inn. Complimentary amenities include refreshments in the parlor throughout the day and evening, macarons delivered with turndown, Gilchrist & Soames spa-quality bath products, Pivotal Fitness Club access, and wifi. What’s more, a hidden garden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides an enchanting sense of arrival to Charleston's most romantic restaurant: Peninsula Grill, home of the famous 12-layer Ultimate Coconut Cake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing