We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classy, well run hotel in downtown Charleston”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #11 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This was the first place my wife and I stayed during our time in Charleston, and we were very pleased. Every staff person, from the bellmen, front desk personnel, maids, and restaurant servers went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, very well maintained, and spotlessly clean. The hotel's location is perfect as well, in the heart if the historic district downtown. It is not an inexpensive hotel, but we felt it lived up to the expectations of its cost. Hospitality touches made it a winner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank erickjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear erickjd,
What a superb review from your recent trip to Planters Inn. It is true in most cases that you do get what you pay for and we are pleased you noticed the numerous reasons that make our property stand out in the many options in Charleston. Location, service, luxurious and spacious accommodations bring many guests back year after year our charming hotel in the heart of the city; however your observation that…“Hospitality touches made it a winner” are a sign we are all working to ensure our guests truly feel the difference. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you and look forward to assisting you on what we hope will be many return trips to Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,409 - 1,415 of 1,922 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Lovely hotel with helpful staff in a perfect location. Not the least bit pretentious. The rooms are beautifully appointed. The bathrooms could have had better lighting. It was difficult applying make-up.

Tea and lemonade are put out in the parlor every afternoon. It would have been perfect had there been cookies!

The Peninsula Grill is attached to the hotel and the food and ambiance are excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annbmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Annbmdcdonald,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your comments and suggestions following your most recent visit. Although we do offer an assortment of cookies in the parlor with during our evening coffee service, we shall take your “afternoon” suggestion under consideration. Regarding the lighting in our bathrooms; we hope the multiple dimmers that operate our sconce lighting and our overhead lighting in each guest bathroom were operating at full capacity during your visit as they have been known to create a quick solution to a dimly lit bath. In summation, we are pleased you enjoyed our “Charming hotel….helpful staff... perfect location and beautifully appointed rooms” and look forward to having you join us again in the future.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

If you ever get the chance and want to stay right in the heart of downtown, and can afford even just one night, this is the place! Gorgeous room! Great location to walk anywhere in downtown you want to go! Excellent service and super friendly and helpful staff. They have got this down pat. We had a room in the newer building facing the court yard that was amazing. We ate at the Peninsula Grill for breakfast and the food was very good. While the stay was in the pricy side (especially for someone with a middle class background as myself) you get what you pay for. If I can afford to do it again I would in a heart beat! I absolutely loved my stay there. Btw, this was a splurge my husband and I did for our 5th wedding anniversary and they really did make it special.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Medicmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Medicmom3,
Sometimes, our reviewers go above and beyond with their appreciation and admiration for our property, staff, location, and accommodations. “OMG! Amazing beautiful place!” is one the first clues that your review will be one of the GREAT ONE’s we all look forward to reading. We are so pleased you chose to share your 5th anniversary with us and “splurge”. Thank you for comments and on our “Gorgeous room…. Great location … Excellent service and super friendly and helpful staff”. All of your sentiments are very much appreciated by our staff and we hope you can convince your husband another trip to Charleston and the Planters Inn is well worth the time and money to enjoy another anniversary!
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My husband and I and my in-laws stayed for 3 nights. Amazing! The rooms are impeccably clean, the breakfast is great and dinner is amazing. There is a fun bar and a parlor where u can sit and read and enjoy fresh squeezed lemonade and tea. Located close to so many things....we loved it. My only suggestion and it is so minor is that they would offer some type of sweet treat in the afternoon with the lemonade and tea. The water in the rooms is a nice touch. We will go back agin! Well done.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FROMOMAHANEBRASKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Fromomahneb,
As a senior reviewer for Trip Advisor, we respectfully appreciate your recent posting …. “A time in time with modern amenities….”. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our Peninsula Grill for breakfast and dinner and cocktails at the bar of Peninisula Grill. I’m sorry you were not able to indulge in our evening cookies that accompany the parlor coffee service each evening; however, I’m sure you will join us again for another visit to Planters Inn. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your comments and look forward to assisting you on your return trips!
All the best,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary there. This charming historic inn lived up to all our expectations and more. As a member of Relais & Chateaux, the standards of quality and excellence are very high and the price tag reflects that. If you wish to splurge and treat yourself in a small, intimate and luxurious hotel, the Planter's Inn is the perfect choice. We booked the Plantation King room which was spacious and very elegant with a view on North Market Street. The bathroom was also spacious, in perfect condition with all the amenities you can wish for. The hotel is full of historic charm and very clean. The restaurant Peninsula Grill offers a beautiful setting (we dined outside in the garden terrace), the service impeccable and courteous, and the food delicious and refined. We highly recommend the Planter's Inn for a romantic stay.

Room Tip: Best for couples.For a special treat, request the champagne and strawberries on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KaC_Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear KaC_Mtl,
“Perfect Stay” is a moniker we love to read from our Trip Advisor postings! We are pleased to read you are fond of our property and our affiliation with the fine collection of Relais & Chateaux properties of the world. Your recognition of our “Charm” is an observation we are proud to say is a unique characteristic of Planters Inn that many other establishments in Charleston are unable to offer. Combining our superb service, award winning cuisine at the Peninsula Grill and the unquestionably best location in the city; it is hard not to fall in love with our charming circa 1844 property. We look forward to assisting you on your next trip to Planters Inn.
Best Wishes until then,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This is the perfect hotel if you like European, boutique, luxury hotels. It is small enough to avoid tourist groups, large enough to meet all your needs. It is perfectly located in the center of the old town right next to the City Market, yet none of the noise from the market gets in through the soundproof windows. We had reserved a Plantation King room and were upgraded to a Plantation suite, #402, on the market corner . . . a beautifully appointed room with a 4-poster king bed, a very large bathroom with a tub, walk-in shower, and windows to the east, a terrace with table and 4 chairs on the market side, and a bar area with small frig, sink, and glasses for every kind of beverage. Although this room was lovely indeed, I would still stick with the Plantation King because the added cost may not be worth it. Speaking of cost, Sunday through Thursday is MUCH less expensive than Friday and Saturday. Check it out and go during the week if you can.

You have a choice of the main hotel, which was built in 1844, and an addition with large rooms and a courtyard which was added in the 1990's. For atmosphere, I would definitely choose the main hotel. The period furnishings are splendid!

The staff is marvelous . . .gracious and helpful without being overbearingly friendly. They always remembered our name and could even pronounce it correctly (not an easy task with our name). When I made the reservations they helped with restaurant selections and made those reservations for us ahead of time (difficult to get in the best restaurants at the last minute). It was our 53rd anniversary celebration, which I told the reservation staff gentleman who assisted me. That may be the reason for the upgrade and also the half-bottle of champagne sent to our room upon arrival.

A large room off the front lobby provided coffee and tea from very early morning to late evening. There are flowers throughout the downstairs area and in our bedroom and bathroom.

The restaurant, the Peninsula Grill, comes highly recommended and is well worth it. The bar and dining room are elegant without being stuffy. The food was indeed superb. . . seafood, meat, low country specialties (peruse the menu online before leaving home). The "ultimate coconut cake" for dessert comes with rave reviews. I found it to be too heavy and sweet for my personal taste (even though I shared it with my spouse). A word about breakfast is simply DO eat there. We tried some others places close by with traditional southern breakfasts and only ate at the hotel on our last morning. We wished we had done so every day. The full breakfast is on the expensive side, but the continental breakfast ($10) was perfect for us and included juices, pastries, breads, 4 types of cheese, 6 types of fruit, and a pot of coffee or tea.

We received a newspaper at our door every morning and the staff arranged every outing we wished to make . . . to include a private carriage ride (a splurge to be sure, but we noted that the public carriages were crammed with 16-20 people). We had our own car and parking in and around town was plentiful. We opted for valet parking for the convenience ($22 a day) although there was a public garage very nearby.

We also ate at FIG and HUSK . . . would rate both in a category with the Peninsula Grill.


With all of these superlatives, here are a few things that could be tweaked a little:
Because of the doors in front of the TV in our room we could not view the TV
from the wonderful overstuffed chairs.
The walk-in shower was somewhat slippery with nothing to hang onto.
A wine opener would be a nice and welcome (perhaps even necessary) addition to the
room.

All in all, we loved our stay at Planters Inn, would highly recommend it, and would definitely choose it again. Charleston is a lovely city and you need a minimum of 3 days to do it justice.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor corner rooms in main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vanam1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Dear Vanam1960,
Upon occasion a review is posted that touches on virtually every aspect of our operation. From the physical, to the service, and the dining room experiences; your posting is well documented and very much appreciated. As a well travelled Top Contributor for Trip Advisor, we greatly appreciate your comments and thank you for taking time to draft such a concise review from your recent visit.
“Understated Elegance..and "...European, boutique, luxury hotel” are descriptions we completely agree are paired well with our southern hospitality at the Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill. We sincerely hope you join us again on many visits to come to Charleston and with you all the best.
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I am a travel consultant who booked clients into the Planters Inn for 4 nights in May. My clients are an older couple who have rather limited mobility, but who wanted to see a lot of the sites of Charleston nonetheless. Caroline Stout at the Inn was amazing with my clients. She made sure that they had everything they needed, from the same reserved table in the restaurant every evening to transportation to various sites to confirming bookings of their tours every day. But not only Caroline gave this kind of personalized service - every employee of the hotel was kind and attentive. My clients loved the food at the restaurant, and said it rates with some of the finest restaurants they have been in around the world.
I am very impressed with this hotel and will look forward to visiting Charleston one day soon! Thank you Planters Inn for taking such good care of them.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sakrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear Sakrao,
We enjoyed meeting your clients and our mutual guests during their recent visit. It was our pleasure to assist them with their dietary needs and special requests and ensuring they were well looked from the Inn to the Peninsula Grill. Our service team is very attuned to the needs and requests of our guests; yet special requests are area we shine and embrace the hospitality and make every effort to excel. We are pleased to read your clients enjoy our property and staff and hope you too have the opportunity to visit the Planters Inn and experience us first hand.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
3,030 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,973 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,159 reviews
Zero George Street
#3 of 62 in Charleston
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £224 - £565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Travel + Leisure magazine’s #1 Best U.S. Small Hotel Award, PLANTERS INN is South Carolina’s only member of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of renowned boutique hotels in the world’s most romantic destinations. This AAA Four Diamond Historic Hotel is beautiful to behold with high ceilings, silk window dressings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a four-poster bed with luxurious Italian linens in every room. Thanks to the best location in the very heart of the Historic District, guests do not need a car while at Planters Inn. Complimentary amenities include refreshments in the parlor throughout the day and evening, macarons delivered with turndown, Gilchrist & Soames spa-quality bath products, Pivotal Fitness Club access, and wifi. What’s more, a hidden garden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides an enchanting sense of arrival to Charleston's most romantic restaurant: Peninsula Grill, home of the famous 12-layer Ultimate Coconut Cake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing