We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Charleston charm with all the benefits of home and then some!”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #11 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Awesome place to stay in Charleston! The location is ideal, perfect for walking to the market place, battery park, shopping on King street, and tons of great bars and restaurants. The staff is friendly and helpful and had great suggestions of places to go and things to do. The rooms are spacious and clean, decorated nicely. And the bathrooms are luxurious. Overall, we had an amazing time here and would absolutely recommend the Planters Inn to all of our family and friends!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ktdazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Kfdazee,
“Classic Charleston with all the benefits of home and then some” is a terrific summation of your recent visit to Planters Inn. On behalf of the entire team, we would like to thank you for your comments and taking time to share your experiences. Our “friendly and helpful staff” make the Planters Inn experience that much more enjoyable by sharing their suggestions on Charleston’s finest. We are pleased you enjoyed our small boutique property and look forward to assisting you on your next visit to Planters Inn!
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,288 - 1,294 of 1,898 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

Great location, wonderful ambiance and fantastic service! The Front Desk staff and the Housekeeping staff were always extremely helpful with directions, "tourist" questions and suggestions. Everyone was extremely pleasant and seemed concerned that our stay was a good one. If this is your first time to Charleston to visit the historic district, this is a fantastic location. Close to most everything, easy walking. Short walk to the carriage rides that take you on a one hour tour of different sections of the city. If you want to go to the Fort Sumter ferry, consider taking the "bike" cab. It was only $5 per person and a lot of fun. They had a stand just down the street from the Inn. Lots of great restaurants and shopping very close by. This was a wonderful place for our honeymoon. I highly recommend Planters Inn.

Room Tip: We had a suite on a higher floor with a working fireplace. A higher floor might help with diminishe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabway1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Rabway1313,
We are pleased to read you enjoyed your recent visit and thank you for taking time to share your views and appreciation our facilities, staff, and terrific location in the hear of Charleston. You are correct; not only do we enjoy guiding our guests to the best that Charleston has to offer but our staff does so with a genuine interest. Our service is professional and sincere while being informative, friendly, and unobtrusive. I'm sure we will see you again on many future visits to Planters Inn.
Until then, Best Wishes from all of us at Planters Inn.

Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We've travelled extensively and the Planters Inn is, without doubt, best in class. Our long "getaway" weekend was made a pure joy by the staff, the location and the overall service. I'm a very early riser, so the front desk went out of their way to have coffee available for me each morning at 4 am in the front sitting room. Our every request was granted with professionalism and a smile. The location is perfect for sightseeing and shopping.

We loved this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Tom,
We appreciate your time and complimentary comments. "Wonderful" is a terrific word to describe your recent visit to the Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our attention to details allows our service to stand above the crowd in many respects and your personal experiences with our team simply reconfirms this attentiveness first hand. On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to assisting you on many future trips to Charleston and the Planters Inn. Until then...
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

If you liked the Inn at Little Washington in rural Virginia, you'll love its big city cousin, Planters Inn, in Charleston. I have stayed at both, and the similarities are striking. Superb service, gorgeous rooms and common areas, and an "Inn" atmosphere, as opposed to a big city, hotel feeling. Examples. At the Inn at Little Washington, when you arrive you are ushered into the parlor for a complimentary glass of champagne and a snack, and when you leave you are given a cold bottle of water for your journey. At Planters Inn, located right in the center of the historic district, a valet takes and parks your car, delivers you bags to your room and welcomes you in a parlor that always has coffee, ice water, ice tea, or cider. The staff is exceedingly friendly and outgoing, and helped us with every aspect of our stay, including walking tour and restaurant reservations. Our room (405), a Plantation King overlooking Meeting Street was amazing. The room was 30 feet long with a 4 poster, very comfortable bed, three windows onto the market and Meeting Street, a large flat screen TV, desk, upholstered chairs and beautiful furnishings. The bathroom was perpendicular to the bedroom and was 20 feet long, with semi partitioned areas on one side for the closet, sink, bathtub and toilet. Everything was sparkling clean and fresh, a perfect oasis in which to relax after a long day of sightseeing and eating. We had a chance to discuss the Inn with the General Manager on multiple occasions while relaxing in the parlor, and he was understandably proud and exited about this property and its future. We also compared travel notes with other guests in the parlor, something we would rarely do in a large hotel. The Inn at Little Washington has long been recognized as one of, if not the top Inns in the US. Planters Inn has been recognized as one of the 50 top small hotels in the US by a top travel magazine. They share many of the same attributes, but the attention to detail and fine restaurants are overriding attributes of both. One last example. As guests of the 64 room Inn visited the parlor to relax and mingle, an attendant came in every 5 minutes or so to ensure that empty coffee cups and glasses were removed, and the complimentary drinks and snacks refilled. A small detail, but notable and appreciated. In short, plant yourself at Planters Inn next time you visit Charleston. You won't find a better Inn, or example of southern hospitality, anywhere.

Room Tip: The web site is very user friendly and allows you to view and assess many different types of rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank traveljunkienow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Travel Junkienow,
“Plant yourself here” is terrific advice to the many travelers considering a trip to Charleston and the Planters Inn. Your knowledge of and comparisons to our fellow Relais & Chateaux property, The Inn at Little Washington are both complimentary and humbling; as it one of the world’s finest. Your observations and comments are astute and thoughtful. The art of hospitality is alive and well and southern charm can always be found at the Planters Inn. Charleston is one of the greatest cities to explore, enjoy, and experience the array of historic attractions and exceptional dining options that surround our hotel and we are proud to represent the esteemed collection of Relais and Chateaux properties. We are pleased you enjoyed our services, our staff, and our city and look forward serving you on many return trips to Charleston!
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The rooms, location, service and welcome were excellent, for our 3 day stay here. It was the perfect location with-in easy walking distance to almost all things in downtown Charleston. The rooms were spotlessly clean with amazing beds and linens. The nominal charge for the great breakfast was worth every penny and the staff, both at the door, front desk and housekeeping were all very friendly and pleasant.
Thank you

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHunton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear BelliBoop,
It is with great pride we read your “Perfect” review following your recent visit. Thank you for taking time to share your views and positive experiences. From our “Perfect location” and our “amazing beds and linens” you are gracious in your summation and we truly appreciate your feedback. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations by providing a warm and professional level of service that mirrors the many amazing physical attributes that make the Planters Inn such special property. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill provide a superb location to enjoy all that Charleston has to offer while allowing our guests to feel at home in our small boutique hotel in the heart of the historic district. We look forward to your return visits to Planters Inn and will welcome you back with the “very friendly and pleasant” service you experienced.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The inn justifies it's Relais & Chateau affiliation. Our wonderful room with fireplace was very comfortable. Hotel staff are just outstanding in service and happiness. The Grill is a happening place so don't even think about not making a reservation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k12dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Owner at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear k12dad,
On behalf of the entire team, we are pleased you enjoyed your recent visit and found us to be “IDEAL”. It is true, our staff of the Planters Inn truly make the Relais & Chateaux experience when visiting Charleston. “Outstanding Service and happiness” are wonderful compliments and we thank you for noticing! Peninsula Grill is a dining experience that we agree, all guests should experience during a visit to Planters Inn. Any visit to Planters Inn allows for convenient access to the area’s finest shopping, historic landmark attractions, and the best dining in the Southeast. We look forward to assisting you on your next visit to Charleston and the Planters Inn.

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We came to Charleston to visit family for the first time. We loved the hotel from the minute we arrived. It was a little cold outside and the fireplace was so welcoming. As our room also had a fireplace that was wonderful to have. It's location was perfect to sightsee Charleston, the historic Planter's Inn seem to go hand in hand with the area. We had to use our car several times to visit the family members and Hunter was wonderful and never counted how often we needed his services! Always so polite. Beautiful hotel that we would love to visit again. Thank you to all that made it so special.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Sherri M,
There is nothing like a gas fireplace to warm your room and welcome you back after a day of site seeing and enjoying the historic district that surrounds the Planters Inn. Thank you for taking time to offer special recognition to Hunter on our valet staff. We appreciate your patronage and time to share your view points and we are pleased you “Loved this Hotel”. On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to assisting you on many a return visits to the Planters Inn and Charleston.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,989 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,930 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,489 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £178 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Travel + Leisure magazine’s #1 Best U.S. Small Hotel Award, PLANTERS INN is South Carolina’s only member of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of renowned boutique hotels in the world’s most romantic destinations. This AAA Four Diamond Historic Hotel is beautiful to behold with high ceilings, silk window dressings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a four-poster bed with luxurious Italian linens in every room. Thanks to the best location in the very heart of the Historic District, guests do not need a car while at Planters Inn. Complimentary amenities include refreshments in the parlor throughout the day and evening, macarons delivered with turndown, Gilchrist & Soames spa-quality bath products, Pivotal Fitness Club access, and wifi. What’s more, a hidden garden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides an enchanting sense of arrival to Charleston's most romantic restaurant: Peninsula Grill, home of the famous 12-layer Ultimate Coconut Cake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing