We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Researched hotels for over 2months...”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Researched hotels for over 2months...”
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Yes I know, a little "o c d" for just a weekend getaway... but hey, it was worth it! After going back and forth with the top hotels of this site, I chose the Planters Inn mainly because of the great reviews it already had, also because it was in the Conde Nast Traveler Mag.

We chose the Land and Sea package (fantastic price) It was the best package of all the hotels/inns I researched.

I booked online (very skeptical about things like that) they had everything in order when we arrived at the inn. I should mention we arrived 3 1/2 hours earlier then checkin time....they had no problem getting us into our room early. Great Service.

Very clean, felt right at home. (I am a clean freak) I actually got in the jetted tub, and felt comfortable. (A big no no for me in public bathrooms like that)

The bed, linens, and pillows were fantastic. (We stayed in the kings deluxe)

The only down-side I can think of, was that you could hear a certain amount of noise from the outside. Although taking into consideration we checked in early Fri (thats when it was the most noticable) that may have been why (cleaning and what not)

All in all it was beautiful and relaxing. I would highly recommend Mercado, and Charleston Grill, for a fantasic culinary experience and buba gumps for lunch. Hope your stay (wherever it may be) be as great as ours!

PS. If you want to see a beautiful plantation home Boone Hall Plantation blew me away. (They filmed "The Patriot", as well as "North&South" there...)

  • Liked — The comfort
  • Disliked — Small noise factor in room 228
  • Stayed March 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Amithyst12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,299
    218
    91
    31
    11
See reviews for
225
1,061
38
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
colo.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2008

My wife and I stayed there on two different occasions and were treated like we were very special guests. When we checked in, the outside patio table in front of our room seemed sterile and Bo went and got a nice white tablecloth to put on it as well as fresh flowers. He also saw to dinner reservations for that night at a special table we requested. The girls at the front desk were always smiling and anxious to help with our requests. Great hotel and great city. Thank you, and we will be back. Jerry & Connie Wrench Denver

  • Liked — staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toolingat1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Pleasant, SC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2008

What a wonderful visit to the Planters Inn! With the children visiting grandparents, I decided to surprise my husband with a weekend away from home. We happen to live in the Lowcountry, and have always wanted to be a "tourist in our own town." Although we had visited the Planters Inn years ago before we moved to Charleston, it was obviously before the hotel renovations. I must say that now the hotel is spectacular!

Although I booked our visit through the Planters Inn website and had a very good idea of our room selection, words cannot describe how everything looks first hand. Our accomodations were unbelievable! The room itself and including the amenities were beyond my expecations.

The entire staff from the valet/bellman service, to the Concierge check in staff, to the housekeeping staff were all extremely professional, welcoming, and very friendly throughout our stay. I could go on and on, but take it from me, if you are looking for a wonderful, romantic getaway to downtown Charleston, stay at the Planters Inn. You will not be disappointed. I can assure you that my husband and I will be back!

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms, Courteous Staff, Excellent Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a17707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2008

Visited to see the COC and my wife and two teenagers were very happy. The hotel is excellent, quite, well kept. Great showers and linen and staff. Dinner at the Pennisula Grill was excellent. Love to visit again, location and stay were first rate.

  • Liked — quality
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank owlnickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2008

My wife and I booked a two night stay at the Planters Inn based on their website and the Charleston Convention and Visitors Bureau website. Charleston was only intended to be a stop over between North Carolina and Savannah. However, everything about our experience at the Planters Inn and Charleston made us fall in love with the city and the fantastic property. Everyone we came in contact with from the bellman to the concierge and front desk to the manager of the Peninsula Grill were gracious, helpful, courteous and welcoming. Our 2nd floor room opened onto a veranda that overlooked a beautiful courtyard with a fountain pool and some of the largest and most beautiful crape myrtles we have ever seen. We ate dinner at the Peninsual Grill and were treated to a taste treat that was topped off by a coconut cake that should be illegal. The guidance we received from the concierge of places to visit took us to some of the most historically impressive locations and fit our goals perfectly. The location places you in the heart of the historical district and there is plenty to keep you occupied just steps from the hotel whatever your tastes. We can't say enough about our experience at the Planters Inn and would highly recommend it to anyone considering a stay in Charleston.

  • Liked — People and location
  • Disliked — We couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lutely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2008

First of all, don't listen to any of the negative reviews about this hotel. There is absolutely no reason to question the luxury or service you will receive during your stay. This hotel is extremely nice and the service was very attentive during our stay. Pretty much every time we walked into the hotel from an outing we were greeted by multiple staff members asking about our day and if there was anything they could get for us. We stayed in a Plantation King room which was quite spacious and eloquently decorated. The bathroom was fairly large compared to some of the other upscale hotels we have stayed in. The location of the hotel is fantastic as it is on the corner of Meeting and Market streets, essentially the apex of action in downtown Charleston. We ate at the Peninsula Grill one night which was a very good meal. But, be aware that they seem to get behind in scheduled reservations almost every night. So, if you want to eat at 8:30pm, I would make your reservation for 7:45 - 8:00pm assuming you will not be seated at your scheduled time. Recommendations for places to eat... Cypress and / or Carolinas for dinner, Magnolia's and / or Hyman's for lunch, and Sweet Water cafe for breakfast.

  • Liked — Location and large room / bathroom...
  • Disliked — Nothing to speak of...
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank w1b1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2008

Charleston is a great place and the hotel is well located. The public areas (small lounge, entrance hall, bar and courtyard ) are characterful and well maintained. Some staff are excellent and some indifferent so service is inconsistent.

However, our deluxe king room was extremely disapointing and lacked any interior design to make it feel special - the rooms are described in the text as having 'peaceful yet luxurious decor' ; our room was indeed quiet (a good thing) but not luxurious and infact quite motel basic. The a/c had an unpleasant stale and damp smell. The CD/clock radio didnt work properly either and kept stopping.

There are no mini bars in the room which I dont mind - but there was no water provided either; and when we came back after a meal out and asked for a bottle of water we were informed we had to buy it from a vending machine! on another floor in another building. The room rate in a 5star hotel usually stretches to cover a bottle of water...

(The owner also runs a couple of other restaurants in town and there were marketing leaflets/fliers put out at every opportunity which looked/felt a bit tacky and not very subtle.)

Our experience was not one of a Relais & Chateaux hotel - maybe others will be different. (we had also stayed at Woodlands Inn in Summerville the week before and that was superb ! )

Overall there were no special touches, the hotel lacks attention to detail and it was an expensive functional rather than a special stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Musty smell of a/c
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fbusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,768 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Property: Planters Inn
Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding court in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, the 64-room Planters Inn Relais & Châteaux is the city's iconic grande dame hotel. Uniformed doormen welcome every arrival, ushering guests inside the gloriously restored circa 1844 building to a sanctuary of elegant style and genteel service. Voted #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel by readers of Travel + Leisure magazine, Planters Inn is a world of civility, sumptuous cuisine, and cultural pursuits. Soaring ten-foot ceilings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a stunning collection of antiques and Baker Historic Charleston décor, including a sumptuous four poster bed in every guest room, create a luxurious ambiance described by Travel + Leisure as "akin to an overnight with well-to-do friends in their old Charleston mansion." Hushed tones of buttercream, Lowcountry greens, and pale powder blue paint the walls, while raw silk fabrics frame the windows. There's also more to Planters Inn than meets the eye: A hidden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides a beguiling entry to Peninsula Grill, the city's foremost dining experience. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are longstanding members of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of luxury boutique hotels and gourmet restaurants located in the world's most romantic, most cultured, and most memorable destinations. Are you excited for your getaway to Charleston? We are excited to welcome you to Planters Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing