We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We were not happy with our first room as the shared balcony did not make for an open airy experience. My husband paid extra to upgrade to a wonderful room. Because they were so busy we moved to yet another room for our last two nights (this one nicer than the first and not as good as the more expensive one). If money is no object opt for one with a private balcony, separate shower and more space. Even though there is coffee service in the parlor downstairs we found it surprising there is none in the rooms. The rooms were dark and thankfully there was a lighted magnifying mirror for putting on makeup. The staff was very very helpful, and charming. If it weren't for them would rate the property itself lower but hospitality is the key and these folks do it well.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Georgi,
It was a pleasure meeting you during your visit and I am pleased we were able to accommodate you in our Penthouse King for a portion of our Birthday celebratory visit to Charleston. Our Deluxe King rooms that you also experienced, offer the benefits of an exterior shared piazza that is both classic in Charleston character and intended design. On behalf of the entire staff, a heartfelt thank you for allowing us to share in your special occasion. Our “charming” team truly make the experience on a visit to the Planters Inn and our hospitality is always at your service!
Sincerely,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,370
    227
    94
    34
    11
See reviews for
244
1,108
39
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
hoboken, nj
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Really lovely hotel right in the center of downtown Charleston. PI is in walking distance to almost every where you want to be. The hotel was lovely, the staff was superb. The lobby always had either coffee or iced tea and lemonade with some adorable snacks. The front desk was exceptionally helpful in making reservations and other suggestions. I have to say though, that it is over priced.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are almost like garden apartments- if you open the window you will see people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ek l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear ek179,
Thank you for your comments and appreciation of our “superb and exceptionally friendly staff” and “excellent location and Charming facility”. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill offer guests the best hotel and restaurant in the area and we are pleased you were able to enjoy your time in the heart of Charleston’s famed historic district. Please allow us to assist you on your next visit to the city.

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Another weekend getaway at staying at the Planters Inn and dining the Peninsula Grill. Rooms at the Inn are very comfortable and a nice respite from the heat. The Inn is centrally located and an easy walk to other great restaurants and the South of Broad neighborhood.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Keith L,

On behalf of the entire team, we offer a heartfelt Thank You! A “Pleasant Stay” is music to our ears and we are happy to be your home away from home during your trips to this terrific city. There is something to be said for a great hotel that offers guests the relaxing comforts of home with the service and hospitality that comes with a with this expectation! We appreciate your time and your business and look forward to assisting you on your next visit to Planters Inn.

From all of us,
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The staff at the front desk, the entire wait staff in the Peninsula Grille, and the housekeeping staff were not only excellent, but truly caring and helpful. The accommodations were elegant. The location is the best in Charleston. This was our third stay and we cannot wait to return (but next time we will take a train to Charleston: the most beautiful city in the whole country).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger G. H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Roger GH,
“FANTASTIC AS ALWAYS”! Our expectation and yours. We are so pleased to read you enjoyed yet another visit to Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill. Thank you for taking time to share your views via Trip Advisor. Until next time, we offer a sincere THANK YOU!

Best,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My wife and I came for a weekend getaway in Charleston. We were really pleased with Planters Inn, and would recommend it to others. Really, if it weren't for the cost, I would probably considered giving it a 5 star rating. Some pros and cons:

Pros:
- Location. Definitely the best part about this hotel. You can walk to most anything you would want to in Charleston and could probably get away without renting a car.
Service. All of the staff were very nice and helpful. They would always go out of their way to help you. The turn down service with different little treats each night and ambient music is a nice thing to come back to in the evening.
- Lobby/Courtyard. Really neat. You really get a sense of the history here, and they have kept it up so nice.
- Bathroom. The rooms and lobby have nice bathrooms.

Cons:
- Room size. A little too small. I realize the historic building (this has been a functioning hotel for over 100+ years I think) probably limits their ability to do anything about this though.
- Room decor. The decor walks a fine line between being fitting for the historic atmosphere and just feeling a little dated. Overall it worked though.
- Price. In the end I feel like the cost was a little high.

One thing that we didn't get to check out while we were there was the restaurant, which everybody says is amazing. In summary, Planters Inn gave us everything that we were looking for but didn't transcend necessarily. We would recommend it to others, and are glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear rwjacobs,

We appreciate your breakdown and follow up comments from your recent visit and are pleased you enjoyed your experiences both at the Planters Inn and to our beautiful city. To speak to your suggested Cons-We offer seven different room categories with 64 different rooms; many of which are unique in design, square footage and layout with an ongoing interior design renovation. Many return guest enjoy the discovery of finding the subtle nuances within the individual room categories; a prime example of the character of our historic property. We are hopeful the “PRO’s" of our location, staff, service, and charming property will find you returning for to try one of the numerous options for the next trip to Planters Inn,

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I so wanted to rate this hotel as a Five, because in truth it's in the top ten or fifteen of hotels in which we've stayed.
The building is beautiful, the room sumptuous and comfortable. The Peninsula Grill is outstanding for dinner, (see separate review) and the continental breakfast is excellent. The staff is top notch, most everything about this hotel is first rate.
So why only four stars?
Because, as a Relais & Chateaux property, I just expect more. I expect to be blown away by every aspect of the property, like we have been at le Chateau de Mirambeau near Cognac or at the Post Hotel in Lake Louise.
I expect something extra like the cognatheque or the wine cellar.
The Planters Inn, in my opinion, falls just short of that type of standard.

Nits: The shower is a normal bathtub type shower with a flimsy shower curtain and a standard shower head that you'd find in a Holiday Inn. The air conditioning has two settings. Noisy, and off. There is no spa, no pool, no babbling brook, pastoral meadow, or mountain view. The location, while central to all the fine restaurants, is also right next to some of the top tourists "traps" of Charleston, including the market, which, while indeed an icon of this fine city, is very busy and noisy. Souvenir and t shirt shops are literally right next door.

Did I mention this is an excellent hotel?
It is. The room is wonderful. The furnishings beautiful. The common room on the main floor is warm and inviting. We would stay here again, and happily recommend it. I just think it falls a bit short of what is expected of the exceptional standard of a Relais & Chateaux property. And I just can't in fairness give it the same rating as le Chateau de Mirambeau.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear GoodChip,
We thank your for your review and the positive comments you shared regarding our “Excellent Hotel, beautiful building and sumptuous rooms”. The unique character of each and every property found in the Relais & Chateaux collection is one of the biggest draws to our fine group of the world’s finest small Inns and Castles. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill embody the 5 C’s and our superior location in the heart of the #1 city in the U.S. allows us to share our charming circa 1844 property our guests in the nation’s premier history district. Thank you for your suggestions and we are pleased you found time to share your views and hope you will join us again.

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very nice place to stay. They overbooked and then upgraded me to a Premium room that was not on the internet. I was told it was a bigger room w/o the terrace but this one had a fireplace ! I was excited. Get there and guess what? The fireplace gas had been turned off till October !! Why use that as a selling point was my question. That did not matter because the location was perfect !! Right beside the open air market !!

Room Tip: Stay in the historic building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Cindy S,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the upgrade to our Premier room; one of our prime locations here at the Planters Inn,. These rooms offer a superior location on the courtyard path or garden and happen to include a fireplace that is seasonally functional. We appreciate your time and comments following your stay and are pleased you found our location to be finest to enjoy the beautiful attractions and famed City Market. Thank you on behalf of the entire team and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,854 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,182 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,420 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,046 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Property: Planters Inn
Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding court in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, the 64-room Planters Inn Relais & Châteaux is the city's iconic grande dame hotel. Uniformed doormen welcome every arrival, ushering guests inside the gloriously restored circa 1844 building to a sanctuary of elegant style and genteel service. Voted #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel by readers of Travel + Leisure magazine, Planters Inn is a world of civility, sumptuous cuisine, and cultural pursuits. Soaring ten-foot ceilings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a stunning collection of antiques and Baker Historic Charleston décor, including a sumptuous four poster bed in every guest room, create a luxurious ambiance described by Travel + Leisure as "akin to an overnight with well-to-do friends in their old Charleston mansion." Hushed tones of buttercream, Lowcountry greens, and pale powder blue paint the walls, while raw silk fabrics frame the windows. There's also more to Planters Inn than meets the eye: A hidden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides a beguiling entry to Peninsula Grill, the city's foremost dining experience. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are longstanding members of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of luxury boutique hotels and gourmet restaurants located in the world's most romantic, most cultured, and most memorable destinations. Are you excited for your getaway to Charleston? We are excited to welcome you to Planters Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing