We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, wonderful staff!”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, wonderful staff!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at the Planters Inn for two nights in a Governor's Suite. The suite was beautiful - two bathrooms and a fireplace with beautifully appointed furnishings. The common areas of the hotel we also lovely - very fitting. The location of this hotel to all things Charleston is great - near the market, fantastic restaurants and attractions. The staff at Planters Inn was wonderful - they genuinely care about their work and making your stay as pleasant as possible. We felt pampered! Will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear LilCricket,
“We felt pampered! We will definitely return!” What more could we ask for?!! This is a true testament to a great hotel. A beautiful, well appointed suite and a thoughtful and caring staff to help guide you to enjoy all that Charleston has to offer. This is what we do best.
On behalf of all of us, we thank you for your kind words and we look forward to assisting you on many, many return visit to Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill
All the Best,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,323
    221
    92
    32
    11
See reviews for
230
1,080
38
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
new york, new york
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff. It is located right across the street from the city market and within walking distance of most of what Charleston has to offer. The room was very comfortable but not without its flaws, e.g., inadequate outlets, poor lighting in the bathroom, a toilet which kept flushing and a bedside lamp which didn't work. At these prices you don't expect to have any complaints.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TuttyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
DearTuffyNYC,
Thank you for sharing your views and suggestions to improve upon our “Wonderful Hotel”. We appreciate your posting and will continue to upgrade and fine tune our property with the assistance and feedback from our guests. Logical placement of additional outlets and USB ports throughout our guest rooms is actually one way in which we continue to enhance our guest rooms. Incorporating the necessary modern comforts for our guests to “stay connected” while enjoying the charm and character of our 1844 property is an integral part of our success.
On behalf of the entire team, we thank you acknowledging our “friendly and helpful staff”.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Planters Inn for a three night getaway in Charleston. From the momen we checked in we were greeted with that "southern hospitality" that they rave about. Extremely polite and well versed on Charleston. The hotel is very clean. The rooms were great, the bed was amazingly comfortable! It was serviced a few times per day, and the turndown service was great to come back to after a night out. It is also the best location for exploring Charleston. The city market is literally right as you walk out the door, and shopping on King Street is a few steps away. Restaurants are all nearby as well. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We are pleased you were able to experience first-hand the “Southern Hospitality” we are famous for providing our guests. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our service professionals, our “clean and comfortable rooms” as well as our premier location in Charleston’s historic district. Our goal is to provide a relaxing and comfortable home away from home while guests experience the area’s best attractions, dining, and the finest shopping just beyond our steps. We are especially pleased to read you will “DEFINITELY BE BACK”
Until then, Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the Planters inn during the Spoleto festival this year the hotel is a haven in the of the heart of the city and festival who's venues are within easy walking distance. All elements of the accommodation are perfect while the service is attentive and unobtrusive. The 3 associated restaurants are a delight! I could not recommend it more highly!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adolphe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Adolphe S.
…. “A Haven in the heart of the city...” is a wonderful description of the feeling and ambiance our intimate little hotel offers guests that arrive to the center of Charleston’s bustling historic district and discover one area’s finest properties in the middle of everything. We are thrilled you were able to experience each of our three restaurants; Peninsula Grill, Hank’s Seafood, and our newest addition- Brasserie GiGi! Spoleto Festival is the superb time to enjoy the arts in Charleston and we are proud to offer the best location, superior accommodations, and excellent dining options for our guests.
See you next year for the Festival!
Best,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We loved the Planters Inn in Charleston so much that we stayed an extra night. The staff is super friendly, the rooms quiet and lovely, beds comfortable and food out of this world. Be sure to eat at the Peninsula Grill on the main floor. We thought it was the best meal we had in Charleston. Oh, and did I mention the hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the tourist district? I'd go back every year if there wasn't so much else to see in the world.

It's not cheap though. If you're on a tight budget you best stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: We stayed in a front corner room which was large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnluv2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear mnlu2trvl,
“Didn’t want to go Home” is the ultimate compliment! Thank you for spending your time in Charleston with us at the Planter Inn and Peninsula Grill. On behalf of the “super friendly staff”, we appreciate your comments and look forward to assisting you in the future. We are proud to represent the finest collection of small hotels in the world as Charleston’s only member of the esteemed Relais & Chateaux. Our collection of charming and unique properties with superb dining rooms around the world always make for an unforgettable experience.

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful stay at the Planter's Inn. The rooms were beautiful, spacious, and very well-kept. The best was the staff. Each made a point to introduce themselves and learned our names.They gave excellent advice on restaurants, tours, and sites to see.The premises were gorgeous but the staff made the trip! Thank you very much!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Adam M,
The Staff! Our #1 asset and the secret to our success…..is no real secret. Thank you for taking time to share your views and we look forward to hosting you again on our next visit to Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill. We await your return!
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We were not happy with our first room as the shared balcony did not make for an open airy experience. My husband paid extra to upgrade to a wonderful room. Because they were so busy we moved to yet another room for our last two nights (this one nicer than the first and not as good as the more expensive one). If money is no object opt for one with a private balcony, separate shower and more space. Even though there is coffee service in the parlor downstairs we found it surprising there is none in the rooms. The rooms were dark and thankfully there was a lighted magnifying mirror for putting on makeup. The staff was very very helpful, and charming. If it weren't for them would rate the property itself lower but hospitality is the key and these folks do it well.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Georgi,
It was a pleasure meeting you during your visit and I am pleased we were able to accommodate you in our Penthouse King for a portion of our Birthday celebratory visit to Charleston. Our Deluxe King rooms that you also experienced, offer the benefits of an exterior shared piazza that is both classic in Charleston character and intended design. On behalf of the entire staff, a heartfelt thank you for allowing us to share in your special occasion. Our “charming” team truly make the experience on a visit to the Planters Inn and our hospitality is always at your service!
Sincerely,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,795 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,094 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,995 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
The Restoration
#6 of 61 in Charleston
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Property: Planters Inn
Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding court in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, the 64-room Planters Inn Relais & Châteaux is the city's iconic grande dame hotel. Uniformed doormen welcome every arrival, ushering guests inside the gloriously restored circa 1844 building to a sanctuary of elegant style and genteel service. Voted #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel by readers of Travel + Leisure magazine, Planters Inn is a world of civility, sumptuous cuisine, and cultural pursuits. Soaring ten-foot ceilings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a stunning collection of antiques and Baker Historic Charleston décor, including a sumptuous four poster bed in every guest room, create a luxurious ambiance described by Travel + Leisure as "akin to an overnight with well-to-do friends in their old Charleston mansion." Hushed tones of buttercream, Lowcountry greens, and pale powder blue paint the walls, while raw silk fabrics frame the windows. There's also more to Planters Inn than meets the eye: A hidden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides a beguiling entry to Peninsula Grill, the city's foremost dining experience. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are longstanding members of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of luxury boutique hotels and gourmet restaurants located in the world's most romantic, most cultured, and most memorable destinations. Are you excited for your getaway to Charleston? We are excited to welcome you to Planters Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing