We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Not Many Other Amenities”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Location, Not Many Other Amenities”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had been looking forward to staying at this hotel due to the great location & the great restaurant on the property, which we previously had a great experience at.

The property is really nice, staff is friendly & our room was clean and comfortable, albeit a little small. Our complaints were a lack of amenities on the property - no pool, spa or exercise room & no room service. If these things aren't important to you, this is a good spot to stay because the location is incredible - easy walking distance to restaurants & shopping - just outside your door, to be honest. Wifi was good.

Overall, for the money & lack of amenities, though, I would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremiah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Jermiah L,
Thank you for acknowledging our service staff and allowing us to assist you during your recent visit to Charleston and your return trip to Peninsula Grill. Our small, boutique hotel is a perfect location to enjoy Charleston and our guest rooms accommodations are beautifully appointed and offer some of the finest quality in the city. Unlike most properties found in the heart of the historic district; we have reciprocal arrangements with a variety of spas, exercise facilities, spinning classes, and yoga, and of course jogging routes to enjoy the historic district that surrounds our charming property. We are confident our guest rooms, superb service, and exquisite cuisine at Peninsula Grill make the Planters Inn a perfect location to enjoy the history, shopping and attractions that abound in this terrific city. Should you elect to consider us for another visit; we are sure to find a room that best suits your preference from our many options.
Kind Regards,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,370
    227
    94
    34
    11
See reviews for
244
1,108
39
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I just got back from spending 4 days in Charleston. From what I've seen, the Planters Inn is definitely one of the top hotels in the city. The location could not be better, the rooms are charming and the staff impeccable. You can walk from the hotel to just about anywhere of interest. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms are very quiet despite being across teh street from the market. Breakfast was not included but was surprisingly reasonable for a hotel. Would highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay in the Historic District and enjoy some of the old world glamour.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnyc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Jnyc1,
“Perfect location and Excellent Service” – By far, our two most noteworthy and routinely recognized attributes. With the variety of lodging options in the Holy City, it is worth remembering and appreciating the value of excellent service and prime location that comes with a reservation at the Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill. Our spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms and parlor are unique and a perfect location to enjoy all the Charleston has to offer.
We are pleased to read you enjoyed your visit and cannot wait to assist you with securing your return plans to Planters Inn.
Kind Regards,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My girlfriends and I just spent four wonderful nights at this delightful boutique hotel. It is conveniently located in the heart of the shopping & restaurant district and walking distance to a great many mansions. The trolley is one block away.
More importantly, the staff at this delightful hotel went out of their way to address our every need. They suggested tours, made dinner reservations for us and made sure we were happy. The rooms are lovely & clean. Breakfast in the courtyard was like being in Europe. The bar is cozy with a very nice selection of wines. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Carol B,
“…. Breakfast in the Courtyard was like being in Europe….” This phrase captures the essence of one of Charleston’s best kept secrets for a beautiful start to any morning. Breakfast served at Peninsula Grill on the courtyard patio is second to none in the city. We appreciate all your kind words and thank you for selecting the Planters Inn to share your “girls’ getaway”
On behalf of the entire team, we thank you and look forward to assisting you on your next visit to Charleston and the Planters Inn.
All the Best,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gentbrugge
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed for two nights at the hotel. It is conveniently located straight across from the market place and just one block away from the main shopping street. There is also a trolley stop just outside. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are of a good size and very clean.
We also had a wonderful diner at the grill.
The only thing I find a bit over the top is that they charge almost $100 more (for the same room) on a friday and saterday night. We stayed saterday and sunday night and for the saterdaynight we paid $ 100 extra. I find that exagerated.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dd220786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear dd220786,
Thank you for taking time to share your views and appreciation of our property, staff and superb location in the heart of Charleston. It is true, weekends demand a premium as we are continually ranked as one of the top cities in the U.S. and the world for travel. With this in mind, our ratew on weekends do include a premium price which is very normal for a tourist destination such as ours.
We appreciate your business and look forward to assisting you on your return travels to Planters Inn.
Best,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We recently stayed at The planters Inn and we were surprised at how quiet the rooms are considering it is located across from the famous market place. It really is an ideal location for shopping, restaurants and getting a feel for Charleston. Mango tea and lemonade are served all day in the lounge. Loved sitting in the courtyard for breakfast.
The Peninsula Grill adjacent to the hotel is worth a visit, very plush with wonderful service and the menu reflects why the inn is a Relais and Chateau!

Room Tip: Select one on the courtyard although I think most are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Sylvia D,
Your comments are thoughtful ans apprecated. You point out the expectations of the highest caliber of dining that one comes to expect from a great hotel. This expecation embodies the essence of a Relais and Chateaux is a nod to our proud affiliation with some of the world’s best properties. Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill offer visitors to Charleston, South Carolina the unique experience of service provided by a polished team of professionals and a pleasant garden courtyard to enjoy the glorious mornings for breakfast or a serene evening beneath the gas lanterns of our courtyard. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and found time to share your views. Please join us again soon for another visit to one America’s finest cities and Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at the Planters Inn for two nights in a Governor's Suite. The suite was beautiful - two bathrooms and a fireplace with beautifully appointed furnishings. The common areas of the hotel we also lovely - very fitting. The location of this hotel to all things Charleston is great - near the market, fantastic restaurants and attractions. The staff at Planters Inn was wonderful - they genuinely care about their work and making your stay as pleasant as possible. We felt pampered! Will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear LilCricket,
“We felt pampered! We will definitely return!” What more could we ask for?!! This is a true testament to a great hotel. A beautiful, well appointed suite and a thoughtful and caring staff to help guide you to enjoy all that Charleston has to offer. This is what we do best.
On behalf of all of us, we thank you for your kind words and we look forward to assisting you on many, many return visit to Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill
All the Best,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, new york
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff. It is located right across the street from the city market and within walking distance of most of what Charleston has to offer. The room was very comfortable but not without its flaws, e.g., inadequate outlets, poor lighting in the bathroom, a toilet which kept flushing and a bedside lamp which didn't work. At these prices you don't expect to have any complaints.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TuttyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
DearTuffyNYC,
Thank you for sharing your views and suggestions to improve upon our “Wonderful Hotel”. We appreciate your posting and will continue to upgrade and fine tune our property with the assistance and feedback from our guests. Logical placement of additional outlets and USB ports throughout our guest rooms is actually one way in which we continue to enhance our guest rooms. Incorporating the necessary modern comforts for our guests to “stay connected” while enjoying the charm and character of our 1844 property is an integral part of our success.
On behalf of the entire team, we thank you acknowledging our “friendly and helpful staff”.
Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,853 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,181 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,421 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,045 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Property: Planters Inn
Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding court in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, the 64-room Planters Inn Relais & Châteaux is the city's iconic grande dame hotel. Uniformed doormen welcome every arrival, ushering guests inside the gloriously restored circa 1844 building to a sanctuary of elegant style and genteel service. Voted #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel by readers of Travel + Leisure magazine, Planters Inn is a world of civility, sumptuous cuisine, and cultural pursuits. Soaring ten-foot ceilings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a stunning collection of antiques and Baker Historic Charleston décor, including a sumptuous four poster bed in every guest room, create a luxurious ambiance described by Travel + Leisure as "akin to an overnight with well-to-do friends in their old Charleston mansion." Hushed tones of buttercream, Lowcountry greens, and pale powder blue paint the walls, while raw silk fabrics frame the windows. There's also more to Planters Inn than meets the eye: A hidden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides a beguiling entry to Peninsula Grill, the city's foremost dining experience. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are longstanding members of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of luxury boutique hotels and gourmet restaurants located in the world's most romantic, most cultured, and most memorable destinations. Are you excited for your getaway to Charleston? We are excited to welcome you to Planters Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing