We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and location”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Beautiful, intimate hotel with great service and perfect location. We stayed in a Grand King room and it was large and historically decorated (four-poster bed, chandelier, etc.). As others have said, the location couldn't be better. There's a 2-block-long market just outside (local grass baskets, souvenirs). Two blocks east is East Bay Street, filled with nice bars and restaurants, some with live music. And the entire area is filled with art shops (mostly south and SW of the hotel) and fashion boutiques (mostly west and NW of the hotel).

Room Tip: First floor rooms on the South and West side of the hotel face directly onto the sidewalk so privacy...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PowerLounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInn_Manager, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear PowerLounger,
“Wonderful hotel and location….with great service”; this is exactly what we are known to provide our guests and are pleased to read you were able to enjoy your visit to Charleston and the Planters Inn. Our spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms are coveted by many and offer a relaxing retreat from the touring, shopping and exploring that abounds just outside our doors. The Grand King room you mention as “Large and historically decorated” includes some of the finest interior design in the city and are merely one of the numerous rooms options we offer. We are pleased you enjoyed our property and the area and look forward to assisting you on your next visit to Planters Inn.
Until then, Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,773)
There are newer reviews for Planters Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,117 - 1,123 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Such a pretty Hotel. Great location right in the heart of Charleston and directly across from the market. Desk staff was friendly and helpful. The room was really nice. Very "Charleston Colonial". Big room, beautifully decorated. I would highly recommend a stay here if you are in Charleston.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beetle04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInn_Manager, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Beelle04,
We are pleased to read you enjoyed a recent visit to the Planters Inn. Thank you for taking time to share your views following your “Excellent Stay in Charleston”. Our prime location is second to none in the city and the service and accommodations make for a perfect location to enjoy the #1 City in the U.S. On behalf of our entire team, we thank you for your comments and look forward to assisting you on many future visits to the Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill.

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband & I have stayed at the Planters Inn several times and have always been welcomed back with open arms and an upgrade to a better room. The service is exceptional and the food at the Peninsula Grille Restaurant in the hotel is fabulous in a city full of fabulous restaurants. The location could not be better because we could always walk to anything and everything no matter what hour of the day or night and feel safe which is one of the best things about Charleston. The historic area around the Battery and the beautiful homes are a sight to see and the whole city is very romantic for couples in love.

Room Tip: Corner suites are sunnier, but balcony suites are expensive and are well worth it!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Linda S,
Thank you for your continued patronage as we always look forward to welcoming you back to Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill! You mention our “corner rooms"; these spacious and very popular Plantation King rooms are favorites to many return guests like yourselves. With various views and subtle configuration layout differences, one can enjoy the character and charm of our property on each and every visit. Some of these Plantation King rooms include Market Street locations that truly capture the unique representation of a visit to the Planters Inn with views of the historic City Market Hall just beyond your windows.
On behalf the “Excellent Service” team….we look forward to seeing you again soon and often!
All the Best,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My Husband and I spent four nights at the Planter's Inn and booked one of their "best rooms", which was quite expensive. I wanted a terrace, and, the website said "overlooking the market". The only view we had was of rooftops--and not charming ones at all. Although the terrace was nice, the view was much less than charming and the terrace itself could have used a bit of sprucing up. It easily could have reflected the courtyards of Charleston with iron or lattice-work to make up for the non-existent view. The other two windows in the room was also lacking in view. The room itself was spacious and well-appointed, with lovely linens, etc. and a comfortable bath. However, I suspect each of the less-expensive rooms are also well-appointed. Do not book room 402 expecting to have a room like the one pictured on the website. The staff was professional and went out of their way to help me solve a problem that I was presented with. I was disappointed in the hotel and do not believe that I would stay here a second time.

Room Tip: Avoid 402 if you want any type of view at all--windows are for light only.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank des12404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear des 12404,
Our Penthouse King rooms offer some of the finest accommodations in the city. These two beautifully appointed rooms offer the top floor of our charming 1844 building that include the only option of a private terrace on property. Seasonally operational gas fireplaces, wet bar and stemware to accompany, and an exquisite bathroom that includes a spacious soaking tub and separate shower. Being located in a historic property in the heart of the Charleston; it is understandable that these rooms may differ slightly from a photograph of one particular room. With 64 rooms and 8 room categories, it is to be expected that such a historic property would include various views of the historic skyline; however, the Penthouse King’s with private terraces are unlike most any accommodations in the city. Thank you for taking time to share your views as we appreciate your feedback.
Best,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had been looking forward to staying at this hotel due to the great location & the great restaurant on the property, which we previously had a great experience at.

The property is really nice, staff is friendly & our room was clean and comfortable, albeit a little small. Our complaints were a lack of amenities on the property - no pool, spa or exercise room & no room service. If these things aren't important to you, this is a good spot to stay because the location is incredible - easy walking distance to restaurants & shopping - just outside your door, to be honest. Wifi was good.

Overall, for the money & lack of amenities, though, I would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremiah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Jermiah L,
Thank you for acknowledging our service staff and allowing us to assist you during your recent visit to Charleston and your return trip to Peninsula Grill. Our small, boutique hotel is a perfect location to enjoy Charleston and our guest rooms accommodations are beautifully appointed and offer some of the finest quality in the city. Unlike most properties found in the heart of the historic district; we have reciprocal arrangements with a variety of spas, exercise facilities, spinning classes, and yoga, and of course jogging routes to enjoy the historic district that surrounds our charming property. We are confident our guest rooms, superb service, and exquisite cuisine at Peninsula Grill make the Planters Inn a perfect location to enjoy the history, shopping and attractions that abound in this terrific city. Should you elect to consider us for another visit; we are sure to find a room that best suits your preference from our many options.
Kind Regards,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I just got back from spending 4 days in Charleston. From what I've seen, the Planters Inn is definitely one of the top hotels in the city. The location could not be better, the rooms are charming and the staff impeccable. You can walk from the hotel to just about anywhere of interest. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms are very quiet despite being across teh street from the market. Breakfast was not included but was surprisingly reasonable for a hotel. Would highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay in the Historic District and enjoy some of the old world glamour.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jnyc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Jnyc1,
“Perfect location and Excellent Service” – By far, our two most noteworthy and routinely recognized attributes. With the variety of lodging options in the Holy City, it is worth remembering and appreciating the value of excellent service and prime location that comes with a reservation at the Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill. Our spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms and parlor are unique and a perfect location to enjoy all the Charleston has to offer.
We are pleased to read you enjoyed your visit and cannot wait to assist you with securing your return plans to Planters Inn.
Kind Regards,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My girlfriends and I just spent four wonderful nights at this delightful boutique hotel. It is conveniently located in the heart of the shopping & restaurant district and walking distance to a great many mansions. The trolley is one block away.
More importantly, the staff at this delightful hotel went out of their way to address our every need. They suggested tours, made dinner reservations for us and made sure we were happy. The rooms are lovely & clean. Breakfast in the courtyard was like being in Europe. The bar is cozy with a very nice selection of wines. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Carol B,
“…. Breakfast in the Courtyard was like being in Europe….” This phrase captures the essence of one of Charleston’s best kept secrets for a beautiful start to any morning. Breakfast served at Peninsula Grill on the courtyard patio is second to none in the city. We appreciate all your kind words and thank you for selecting the Planters Inn to share your “girls’ getaway”
On behalf of the entire team, we thank you and look forward to assisting you on your next visit to Charleston and the Planters Inn.
All the Best,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,877 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,212 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,066 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Address: 112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £214 - £457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding court in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, the 64-room Planters Inn Relais & Châteaux is the city's iconic grande dame hotel. Uniformed doormen welcome every arrival, ushering guests inside the gloriously restored circa 1844 building to a sanctuary of elegant style and genteel service. Voted #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel by readers of Travel + Leisure magazine, Planters Inn is a world of civility, sumptuous cuisine, and cultural pursuits. Soaring ten-foot ceilings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a stunning collection of antiques and Baker Historic Charleston décor, including a sumptuous four poster bed in every guest room, create a luxurious ambiance described by Travel + Leisure as "akin to an overnight with well-to-do friends in their old Charleston mansion." Hushed tones of buttercream, Lowcountry greens, and pale powder blue paint the walls, while raw silk fabrics frame the windows. There's also more to Planters Inn than meets the eye: A hidden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides a beguiling entry to Peninsula Grill, the city's foremost dining experience. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are longstanding members of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of luxury boutique hotels and gourmet restaurants located in the world's most romantic, most cultured, and most memorable destinations. Are you excited for your getaway to Charleston? We are excited to welcome you to Planters Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing