We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiant”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiant”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My first impression of this hotel was picturesque, charming, sweet and old fashioned. The staff at the front desk was very polite and helpful. The manager was nice enough to show us our room since the bell boy was not available at that moment. The room was rather large with a foyer leading to the bedroom. Bathroom was a little tired but the charm of the hotel more than made up for it. They had an amazing restaurant called Hanks. We had the best seafood dinner with 30 of our family members. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInn_Manager, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Tanya T,
Our charming property mirrors our charming staff --and this is Not Unintentional. We provide service that is warm,friendly, and genuine and this is all accomplished while being professional and accommodating. However, it is the combination of stellar service and superb appointments that allow the Planters Inn make the lasting impression of a
Great small hotel!
We thank you for your comments and allowing us help you enjoy our amazing city. Please join us again soon!

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,370
    227
    94
    34
    11
See reviews for
244
1,108
39
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Charleston had been on my bucket list for years so it was a trip I planned for many months and Planters Inn was at the top of my list. That being said the only thing one can not plan for is the weather needless to say it was monsoon raining during my stay.
To say that put a damper on things is putting it mildly. Did I mention cold it was rainy and cold. That ended the walking part of Charleston for us however we were able to take a horse carriage and had a delightful tour in the rain of this beautiful city with a very experienced tour guide who made our stay very lovely. Since most of the streets were flooded from the constant rain our choices of dining were limited to where we could walk with an umbrella. Fortunately for us the Peninsula Grill was a great choice. Everything about this restaurant is top-notch from the service the food to the presentation. The only negative for me was the coconut cake which I was drooling over and dreaming of having however when it arrived it tasted stale.
Our other meals at Brassiere Gigi were unbelievably delicious and that turned out to be my favorite place to go to.
The hotel itself is very charming very elegant very perfectly situated. The rooms are well appointed however I would agree that a refrigerator would be a nice touch.
It has one of the friendliest staff of employees I've ever met in my travels and I would like to add that they were very accommodating when we decided to cut our trip short two days due to the bad weather.I would return again in the sunshine to really experience this beautiful city

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInn_Manager, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear JudyG,
We are happy to read our service and excellent restaurants were just the right touch to keep you occupied and enjoying your visit during a less than desirable weather forecast. Thank you for your review and we would more than happy to help plan your return trip as Charleston has far too much to offer for a return visit where we average over 300 days of sunshine per year! Call us when you are ready!

Best wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
691 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

There is a reason this place just received its T & L award. It is a great small city hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, security is a priority, and the location, near both the water and the shops and restaurants of King Street, is near perfect. They also have a great restaurant and bar with the Peninsula in-house. But it is the service that stands above. Every request was quickly handled, with ease and charm. There are a lot of good hotels in Charleston, but none better than this in our experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jays911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInn_Manager, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Jays911,
With 241 reviews we take your kind words with a humble thank you and a great appreciation. You point our many attributes and signature positives, however, single out our staff as the core of our success.
You are absolutely correct! No hotel can presume to live up to an accolade such as our recent Travel and Leisure award without the dedication of our amazing team!!
On behalf of all of us,
we Thank you.

Best Wishes,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have been to this hotel numerous times. Have travelled to Charleston multiple times a year for the past 20 years. It is a very nice hotel and a good choice but it is not in a class by itself. There are four other hotels in Charleston that are equally as nice- some with pools. I have stayed in the suites and the standard rooms in both of the buildings. Be warned if you make a reservation and cancel, prior to 7 days they charge $20 and within 7 days they keep the entire payment and no credit. Also be warned there is no self parking so unless you pay for valet be prepared to park and retrieve your car from the city lot across the street.

Pros:
good location
beds comfortable
rooms with fireplaces are very nice
standard rooms are well acquainted
breakfasts in room are very good

Cons:
parking is a pain
hotel reservation/cancelation policy
room facing market street are very noisy you will hear noise all night long
rooms in the newer building are not as nice but you do not get the noise

I think I preferred Charleston a few years ago when things were leaner and the hotels wanted you business. It is getting snobby again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruce066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInn_Manager, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Bruce66,
We are happy you found more Pros than Cons to share following your recent return trip to Planters Inn. Our small boutique hotel offers a supberb location, award winning dining at Peninsula Grill, and some of the cities finest and most luxurious guests rooms. It is the little things and attention to details; from our decor to our service, that we offers an experience that is a step above most all in a city full of options. If you seek a perfect location with attentive service and beautifully appointed rooms and charming guest spaces... We are sure the Planters Inn is the perfect location to enjoy Charleston.

Kindest regards,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I don’t want to understate how excellent this hotel is. Yes, its physical attributes are impressive; it is a truly lovely Relais and Chateaux property throughout. But it is the staff at the Planters Inn that distinguishes it from many other similarly excellent hotels in Charleston. We stayed three nights, greeted by the helpful and capable front desk staff of Patrick, William and Jack, bellman Josh and several others we were unable to get to know better. True hospitality is genuine, and these gentlemen were, indeed, quite the real deal. They are obviously trained well, yes, but if there is such a thing as talent in hospitality, this hotel is rife with it. The Planters Inn management would appear to have a keen eye in hiring practices and the rare ability to motivate their staff to exceed expectations without strain or artifice. Housekeeping staff members were unflaggingly cheerful in all our encounters with them, and the restaurant staff as well, uniformly, though standouts were certainly Latrice and Chris. Do not hesitate to dine here. There are many excellent restaurants in Charleston, but I would strongly encourage you to sample the many delights of this beautiful dining room and its exterior purlieus. Planters Inn is certainly in the not-to-be-missed category, which from this jaded traveler should be taken as rare praise, as there is only one other hotel in the world I have encountered where we have been made to feel so genuinely welcome. A rare and delightful stay, this superb property is simply in a class by itself.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInn_Manager, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear MikeyBrooklyn,
Your compliments to our team and specific staff members is both heart warming and very much appreciated. True hospitality is alive and thriving at the Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill. A sense of pride embodies our team and they offer a service that is both genuine and professional. We appreciate all your comments and we are pleased to have had the opportunity to serve you on you R & R in Charleston. Your comments and views are a terrific reinforcement to our testament to provide our guest with a personalized service and exceptional experience that embodies our Relais and Chateaux philosophy of being a unique destination in Charleston.
Thank you! Thank you!

Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

An absolutely great hotel to stay in. Location could not better and the staff was as friendly and helpful as you could want. No complaint at all. And they do not charge for wifi! Big kudos for that. Only negative is that they do not have coffee in the room. But to make up for it, they had a nice set up in the lobby.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upgraded deluxe room. It came with the larger tub. Not sure it was worth it as we di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drlee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInn_Manager, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Drlee5,
"Wonderful visit" is a great summation for a little getaway from Hilton Head. Charleston offers a perfect little retreat that abounds with culinary delights,
Historic charm and excellent shopping just beyond our doors. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill offer a luxurious and superb location to call home during a visit. Thank you for acknowledging our staff, as they truly make the difference when selecting a place to enjoy our amazing city.
We look forward to helping you again soon!

Best wishes until then,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Shore
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here for two midweek nights and splurged on a Plantation King. The room was large and very nicely decorated with a pretty four-poster bed and a comfy couch and chair with an ottoman. The bathroom is well-appointed and spacious. The location is very convenient. We walked out right into the center of downtown, just a few minutes in any direction to all of the sights. Really enjoyed the Market across the street with it's many locally-made crafts.

It is a busy, noisy area and guests should be prepared to hear street noise or talking in the courtyard. We were near a side entrance (where people would congregate and talk) but that turned out to be better because it was louder on the street and in the back near the restaurant than in this location. Our biggest complaint is that there is no refrigerator. Maybe it doesn't fit in with the decor but put it in a cabinet or something - for $319 (plus tax and parking!) a night I should get an amenity that any $120 a night hotel provides. I have medication that has to be refrigerated once opened and I had to keep it in the ice bucket. And it is hot in Charleston - I would like to be able to return to the room and have a cold beverage waiting. Second biggest complaint - shortage of hot water! One night there was NONE when I was getting ready for bed. And I don't understand why the perfectly good bar of hand soap resting in the provided soap dish was discarded and replaced with a new, wrapped one when the room was made up after our first night.

If you plan to valet park, have your belongings in order before you arrive. There is a tiny parking lane in front and your car will be quickly moved away. We received a little push-back about wanting to access the car ("the bellman will get you anything you need from your car"). While walking around the property we found that the car was parked in the back just beyond the courtyard and so we went to the desk and requested the key so we could reorganize for our trip home. The front desk staff was more professional than friendly (with a couple of exceptions).

If I was in Charleston again I'd consider other properties.

Room Tip: Rooms over the center alleyway are probably quieter as they are not over the street, the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlantersInn_Manager, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Travel girl88,
Thank you for your positive comments and your suggestions. As you point out, our nicely appointed rooms, ideal location and charming property are distinctly Charleston and unlike most properties that simply fall short to ours in both character and charm. Refrigerators are located in some of our rooms and surely available upon request. Our vast variety of room accommodations offer a excellent selection price points to appeal to all and our valet parking fee is appropriately priced and a value compared to most area garages.
We appreciate your suggestions and thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Bradley Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,854 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,181 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,421 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,045 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Property: Planters Inn
Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding court in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, the 64-room Planters Inn Relais & Châteaux is the city's iconic grande dame hotel. Uniformed doormen welcome every arrival, ushering guests inside the gloriously restored circa 1844 building to a sanctuary of elegant style and genteel service. Voted #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel by readers of Travel + Leisure magazine, Planters Inn is a world of civility, sumptuous cuisine, and cultural pursuits. Soaring ten-foot ceilings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a stunning collection of antiques and Baker Historic Charleston décor, including a sumptuous four poster bed in every guest room, create a luxurious ambiance described by Travel + Leisure as "akin to an overnight with well-to-do friends in their old Charleston mansion." Hushed tones of buttercream, Lowcountry greens, and pale powder blue paint the walls, while raw silk fabrics frame the windows. There's also more to Planters Inn than meets the eye: A hidden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides a beguiling entry to Peninsula Grill, the city's foremost dining experience. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are longstanding members of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of luxury boutique hotels and gourmet restaurants located in the world's most romantic, most cultured, and most memorable destinations. Are you excited for your getaway to Charleston? We are excited to welcome you to Planters Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing