We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful hotel with lovely and spacious rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A delightful hotel with lovely and spacious rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

We stayed here while in town for our wedding and were certainly glad that we did. The wedding reception was at the Francis Marion, and many of our friends who stayed there complained about the very small bathrooms and outdated rooms. At the Planters Inn, everything was wonderful, and we were very happy with our room and the service we received.

We stayed in a Grand King (the standard room) which was clean and well-appointed. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was spacious, and we enjoyed small touches like a flower in the bathroom. Each night, we received a couple treats with our turn-down service. The housekeeping staff was very attentive, replacing towels in the morning and evening when needed. We found the Grand King to be plenty big for the two of us and appreciated that there was a writing desk and two chairs in the room.

The bellmen and doorman were all very helpful. Alan, the doorman, was extremely helpful in calling cabs for us. He even had a cab waiting for us when we came back from the wedding and wanted a ride to the reception. He was friendly and pleasant every time we saw him. We valet parked our car and were able to get it any time we needed it with no extra charge.

This is a small hotel with only a few common areas for gathering (save the restaurant and the outdoor patio which was too hot to enjoy during our visit). But the main areas are lovely and inviting. Throughout the day, drinks and snacks are put out for guests to enjoy, which was a nice treat. We did not eat at the Peninsula Grill at all, but hope to next time we return.

All in all, we loved the Planters Inn and hope to stay here again when we visit Charleston!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2010
Thank you for your review, we are thrilled to have been able to be part of this unique moment in your life, and we would like to extend our congratulations.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,249
    209
    84
    28
    8
See reviews for
210
1,016
37
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

This is by far the best hotel we have ever stayed at.We drove from Wash DC onJune 12,2010 and had four days of honeymoon bliss! From the first step into the hotel we knew we made the right decision.Staff was very helpful on all aspects,especially Bo and Bready! Anything we needed help with they were always there. The room was spotless and huge. The soaking tub was wonderful and the morning coffee on the piazza from our hotel room was peaceful! They pay attention to the fine details which is nice,we did not feel like we were lost in a big hotel. Also we walked to everything that we did. We did not need to drive as the location of the hotel is well situated.Thank you once again and we will be back I did not want to leave! Sincerely, Susan and Anthony Maturo

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clkdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2010
It was an honor to have been able to host you for such a wonderful occasion, the whole team wishes you the best, and we will always be at your service. Congratulations.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

Absolutely wonderful inn - delightful experience. lovely facilities, excellent service, good value given quality and location.

below is an excerpt from the email that I sent to the Inn following our stay which highlights the many positive elements.

"This email is directed to Planters Inn management and staff, as well as the Peninsula Grill management, chef and staff.

My husband and I recently purchased a gift certificate for our daughter to Planters Inn and we also visited Charleston ourselves over the Memorial Day weekend, staying at Planters Inn. We have visited Charleston once before and had stayed at Charleston Place; we were looking for a more personal and historical experience but with comparable location and a higher quality level of service.

Our whole experience was exceptional. We travel quite a bit, and it is so seldom that we see such a high level of personal attention to detail and service across the board. Being delighted is a rare thing.

I will highlight just a few examples so as to express our appreciation and reinforce the high perceived value-add -

The individuals helping me with the reservation and the gift certificate (Carter and Tony Cunningham) were extremely helpful, working to get me in the room type of my choice (even though it was a very busy weekend), provided great options for the gift certificate, very good information, and very timely follow-up on my requests and questions. Just excellent.

The arrival and check in process was smooth and prompt; the front desk personnel were very helpful with questions I had regarding tours and dinner reservations. The doormen welcome at the entrance, smoothly orchestrated valet parking and welcome card in room all made us feel like we were "home". Simple, smooth, and calm.

Our room was just lovely (grand king in original building); tasteful furnishings/decor/appointments, clean, well-maintained, and quiet.

The common areas and parlor were just perfect - again, lovely and a welcome oasis from the hustle outdoors. the ongoing complimentary refreshments in the parlor were certainly welcome after hours of touring and shopping. the courtyard area also a plus - another escape from the hustle and bustle outside.

and of course, the Peninsula Grill - absolutely a gem. we enjoyed the wonderful breakfast several mornings - superb service in a lovely setting, wonderful high quality items - from the coffee and juice, to the pastries, the fantastic granola, delightful biscuits, freshest fruit and cheese assortments. we were not able to extract the recipe for the biscuits from anyone (though we tried!), but did take home a pound bag of the granola. we dined twice at the grill, in both cases exceptional. the wait-staff were absolutely top-notch, our meals just wonderful.

We cannot wait to return for another stay at Planters Inn in the future, and are already thinking about this fall and later this year for our anniversary. We are singing your praises wide and far. Being our first visit, I do not know if the level of quality and service has always been this good, is a reflection of Relais & Chateaux designation, a result of ongoing initiatives, etc. Whatever you are doing, pls. keep it up."

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2010
On behalf of all the associates of the Planters Inn and the Peninsula Grill, we thank you for your kind comments, and we hope to be able to host you again soon.


Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

First time visit to Charleston and enjoyed it. The Planters Inn was absolutely perfect and location fantastic, a special thanks to Chris and Bertha for making our 2 night stay wonderful, Penisula Grill exceptional and the coconut cake lived up to its press. Thanks again Planters.,

Scott

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diordior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2010
It was a pleasure to have hosted you, and we all hope to welcome you back to our wonderful city very soon.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

Enjoyed another wonderful Spoleto weekend at Planters Inn. Large comfy room with plush towels, robes, comfy & substantial bed linens, pleasant turn down offerings, delicious orange spice tea in the lobby, gracious staff, perfect location -- absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chapinite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

From the moment we arrived staff at Planters Inn made us feel welcome. Valet parking with easy check in - we were sipping bubbly in our garden view room within minutes. Conveniently located just off of Meeting St in the heart of the historic district and within walking distance to the best cuisine that Charleston has to offer I can not think of a better place to stay to rediscover this timeless city.

Each staff person, from bellman to the front desk agent, were informed and helpful when recommending things to do in our free time or directions when needed - considering I had to ask directions more on more than one occasion. The lemonade was a refreshing touch in the lobby.

Our room and bath were spacious and elegant. The four poster bed, working gas fire place and turn down service with a variety of complimentary house made chocolates made for a romantic end of each evening.

On a personal note: I had a major calamity with my wardrobe when I was meant to be at an event within an hour. I called Dustin, Evening Manager on duty, and no questions asked he ran into town to fix the garment and kept me from being late. Above and beyond the call of duty.

The Planters Inn came recommended from a friend and I would definitely do the same.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WMorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2010
It was a pleasure to have you with, Dustin sends his regards.
We all hope to be able to welcome you back shortly.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

The hotel was excellent in all aspects. Location is central right across from the market and in the center of the historic district. The service was extremely pleasant & competent. The room was slightly small, but nicely furnished. The bed is quite high, tough for a very short person. The breakfast was very good, but a lttle pricey, ( $16 for the full breakfast and $10 for the continental breakfast)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfnut15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2010
It was a pleasure to have been able to host you and we hope to see you soon back in our city.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,694 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Property: Planters Inn
Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding court in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, the 64-room Planters Inn Relais & Châteaux is the city's iconic grande dame hotel. Uniformed doormen welcome every arrival, ushering guests inside the gloriously restored circa 1844 building to a sanctuary of elegant style and genteel service. Voted #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel by readers of Travel + Leisure magazine, Planters Inn is a world of civility, sumptuous cuisine, and cultural pursuits. Soaring ten-foot ceilings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a stunning collection of antiques and Baker Historic Charleston décor, including a sumptuous four poster bed in every guest room, create a luxurious ambiance described by Travel + Leisure as "akin to an overnight with well-to-do friends in their old Charleston mansion." Hushed tones of buttercream, Lowcountry greens, and pale powder blue paint the walls, while raw silk fabrics frame the windows. There's also more to Planters Inn than meets the eye: A hidden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides a beguiling entry to Peninsula Grill, the city's foremost dining experience. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are longstanding members of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of luxury boutique hotels and gourmet restaurants located in the world's most romantic, most cultured, and most memorable destinations. Are you excited for your getaway to Charleston? We are excited to welcome you to Planters Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing