We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing!!!!!!”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2010

This is the only hotel to stay at in Charleston. The Staff is incredible, professional, and helpful. We vacation to Charleston about every three months and stay at this hotel every time It's location is perfect and service cannot be beat. Thanks Alan, Tony, Amy, Chris, Eric, and Richard...you guys are top notch and always make Sandi and I feel at home.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scc8541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2010

Thank you so much, it was a pleasure to have you with us.


Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,773)
There are newer reviews for Planters Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,614 - 1,620 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2010

This was a mother and college student daughter short summer trip. We were so fortunate to be able to stay at Planters Inn. The hotel is in the best location-right in the middle of the market area and close to all of the great restaurants and shopping. The staff was wonderful! The room was beautiful. Breakfast in the courtyard was delicious (shrimp and grits, of course). And, a teddy bear was left for sleeping comfort! I called home to tell my husband and friends that we must return to Charleston and stay at the Planters Inn!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TNVOL37363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2010

Charlie our Teddy Bear already misses you, come back soon, and thank you for the kind comments

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend at the Planters Inn in Charleston SC. From the moment we drove up to check in, the friendly professional staff meet our every need and want. The rooms are well appointed with King size beds and a marble bathroom with jetted tub. The continental breakfast was delivered by a wonderful staff member with the brightest smile. If you are looking for a romantic weekend or a get away with the girls look no further- we have stayed in several hotels in Charleston and this is the only place we will consider going forward.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eberry512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2010

It was a pleasure to have met you, and an honor to have hosted such a charming couple.
We all hope to have you back with us soon, and thank you for your very nice review

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We spent a very pleasant three days at the Planters Inn and we would recommend it highly. Even though the hotel is located in what seems to be the ultimate tourist area in Charleston, the surroundings are quiet and peaceful. The hotel is relatively easy to reach by car and the doorman, Alan, was prompt, courteous, and welcoming. Our room was perfect in all respects and contained many extras, including umbrellas for use while walking around town. By far, this hotel's strongest characteristic seems to be highly professional service without seeming "stuffy". Housekeeping, the bell staff (particularly Chris), and desk personnel seemed totally focused on doing their jobs in the best way possible, and in anticipating guests' needs. This performance is also reflective of outstanding management, which seems to distinguish this hotel from similar properties. We will remember our experience at the Planters Inn and we will visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveyy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2010

Thank you so much for your review, your comments goes to our heart and we hope to have you soon back with us. Alan, Chris and the whole team are thrilled by your review.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

My husband and I just left this beautiful hotel after a four night stay. We were very happy with its central location to the historic sites. The rooms are tastefully decorated. Water decanters , with floating fresh fruit, was a welcome treat after touring in the hot weather. The staff was very friendly. I found this hotel by reading the comments of other Traveladvisor users. I will always check Traveladvisor before booking any hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bristleconeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2010

It was a pleasure to have you with us and we wish to have you back in our wonderful city very soon. Thank you for your review.


Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

I searched travel books and trip advisor for a special place in historic Charleston and a local friend recommended this beautiful Inn. I was totally satisfied. The location could not be better, next to the market and within easy walking distance of everything that we wanted to see. The staff was helpful and polite and very professional. The parlor with lemonade was comfortable. But the room was divine! Ours was a standard with 2 queens, and it was really spacious, beautifully appointed, with extremely comfortable beds. Not much of a view out our window, but I didn't care a bit; the room and the entire hotel offered so much beauty. The bathroom was luxurious with a bud vase with fresh roses! When my friend and I returned after an evening about town, there was a little dish with the most heavenly dessert of pralines. Very sweet.
We loved our stay and would recommend it highly to anyone. A bit expensive, but worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sontjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2010

Thank you so much for your comments, we pride ourselves in having the most authentic local style rooms with Baker Charleston collection furniture and four poster beds, as well as antic furniture in our common areas. Thank you again for your kind words.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Pros: Hotel is right in the heart of the Charleston market. You can't get any closer to the shops and fun in the area. The hotel has a great decor and really has captured the Charleston atmosphere. The room we stayed in was very spacious, I believe it was called a Plantation King. The bedding, furniture and tv were extremely nice. We were upgraded to this room as we were having a wedding during our stay. We asked for the upgrade, I think it was granted partially due to the fact that we pre-paid for all but the beverages consumed at our reception. Overall the wedding went very well. Everyone enjoyed the setup in the courtyard and the dinner we held in one of there small banquet rooms.

Cons: Parking must be a problem. I had my car valeted and it took about 30 minutes once to retrieve it. Apparently some other vehicle had blocked mine in and it had to be towed. The restaurant attached to the hotel catered our wedding reception. They did a pretty good job with the meal. Everyone liked their meal. I did not care for my steak, but maybe I am too picky as I seem to only like the steaks I get at Capital Grill and Sullivan's.

Overall I would recommend the hotel over any other in the area for the same price. Little things are going to happen at any place, so the pros definitely out weigh the cons.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank litterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2010

We are honored to have been chosen to host you for such a wonderful occasion, on behalf of all the associates, we would like to extend our thanks for your very nice comments and our congratulation for your wedding.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,877 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,212 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,066 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Address: 112 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £214 - £457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding court in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, the 64-room Planters Inn Relais & Châteaux is the city's iconic grande dame hotel. Uniformed doormen welcome every arrival, ushering guests inside the gloriously restored circa 1844 building to a sanctuary of elegant style and genteel service. Voted #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel by readers of Travel + Leisure magazine, Planters Inn is a world of civility, sumptuous cuisine, and cultural pursuits. Soaring ten-foot ceilings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a stunning collection of antiques and Baker Historic Charleston décor, including a sumptuous four poster bed in every guest room, create a luxurious ambiance described by Travel + Leisure as "akin to an overnight with well-to-do friends in their old Charleston mansion." Hushed tones of buttercream, Lowcountry greens, and pale powder blue paint the walls, while raw silk fabrics frame the windows. There's also more to Planters Inn than meets the eye: A hidden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides a beguiling entry to Peninsula Grill, the city's foremost dining experience. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are longstanding members of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of luxury boutique hotels and gourmet restaurants located in the world's most romantic, most cultured, and most memorable destinations. Are you excited for your getaway to Charleston? We are excited to welcome you to Planters Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing