We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and that's it.”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Milledgeville, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location and that's it.”
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Our weekend getaway to Charleston was supposed to be romantic and it was going to start with a great hotel. The Planters Inn is quaint and has a great courtyard (half of which is used by the restaurant). The room (a kind deluxe) was however a disappointment. We travel a lot and expect the room to match the price we are paying. However this was not the case at this hotel. The rooms are way over priced. Though the location is great; it doesn't warrant the price of the room. We will visit Charelstion again, but we will not be staying there.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2011
Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations. If you ever find it in your heart to give us another chance, please make sure to contact me directly, I will make you will have a perfect stay.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    218
    91
    31
    11
See reviews for
224
1,060
38
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We visited Charleston for Valentines Day and spent two nights at the Planters Inn. What a wonderful Inn to spend a leisurely visit to this charming and historic town. Our accomodations were fantastic and the service could not be better. A first class inn and well worth the price. Bertha at the front desk was terrific! Thankyou for a wonderful stay. We will see you again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mer4496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2011
Thank you for your kind review, it was a pleasure to have you with us for such a romantic time.
We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

This was our second Valentines Day stay and it was amazing as always. Alan got the door, Bo got the bags, Tony had our room keys on the counter before we even made it there and we were in our room probably 5 min after arriving at the hotel. Dinner at the Peninsula Grill was handled by Steve and his team and I cannot say enough about the service and food. Matt gave us an award winning suggestion for lunch on Sullivans Island and it could not have been better...if you have not eaten at Poe's I would highly suggest it. All in all another wonderful stay at this fine Charleston landmark...it was also nice to see Amy, Bertha, and Mr. Gardner...see everyone next trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scc8541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2011
It was a real treat to have been able to host you for your second Valentine, the whole crew would like to thank you for your review and we all are waiting to see you soon back with us.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2011

During my recent stay at the lovely Planters Inn in Charleston, I got caught up in one of those horrible "weather events" that play havoc with airline schedules. The front desk, in particular and a lovely woman named Bertha, went out of her way to make sure we were comfortably accommodated. Frequent travelers recognize there are many nice properties out there. In my experience, it's the level of service that sets apart the great properties from the nice. The Planters Inn was great for us that weekend in December.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank layish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 20 January 2011
These past weeks where indeed interesting with all the weather events we encountered. Bertha would like to thank you personally for your very kind words, and we all hope to have you soon back with us.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alburnett
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2010

Very nice and highly recommended. The entire staff was fantastic. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. The room had a four poster bed which was comfortable. Surprises were an umbrella and bathrobes in the closet, a fresh rose, a bathroom scale, a teddy bear and a special treat nightly with the turndown service.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieAlburnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 16 December 2010
We are happy that you liked our little details and we all wish you happy holidays

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burns Harbor, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Wonderful facility, great restaurant and special kudos to Bertha, Amy, Bo, Tom and Robert, plus Manager Brad!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2010
Thank you for your review, we all wish to see you back soon in our wonderful city.
Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

The Planter's Inn Hotel was the height of our vacation to the Carolinas this fall. Charleston was a really interesting city to visit, both to explore its rich history and to take advantage of the unique shopping and amazing restaurants, and Planter's Inn was a perfect location as a base. There's lots to see and do within walking distance, and what you can't walk to is an easy drive. Parking was easy, valet with unlimited in/out privileges and very little waiting, so no problem there. The service was impeccable, we felt pampered the whole time. The room, though, was the best part. Pictures do not do it justice! The furnishings are beautiful, bed is comfortable and georgeous, plenty of space, spotlessly clean, beautiful big bathroom, etc, etc. I could say more, but just go experience it yourself. The price is admittedly more than your basic Motel 6, but oh so worth it, and is in line with similar quality urban hotels without the corporate feel. And call room service for a slice of coconut cake as you settle in for the night - it's delicious.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, General Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 21 November 2010
Thank you for your great comments, and the pictures you took are great. We hope to have you soon with us.

Emmanuel Gardinier
Managing Director
Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill
Relais & Chateaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Property: Planters Inn
Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding court in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, the 64-room Planters Inn Relais & Châteaux is the city's iconic grande dame hotel. Uniformed doormen welcome every arrival, ushering guests inside the gloriously restored circa 1844 building to a sanctuary of elegant style and genteel service. Voted #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel by readers of Travel + Leisure magazine, Planters Inn is a world of civility, sumptuous cuisine, and cultural pursuits. Soaring ten-foot ceilings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a stunning collection of antiques and Baker Historic Charleston décor, including a sumptuous four poster bed in every guest room, create a luxurious ambiance described by Travel + Leisure as "akin to an overnight with well-to-do friends in their old Charleston mansion." Hushed tones of buttercream, Lowcountry greens, and pale powder blue paint the walls, while raw silk fabrics frame the windows. There's also more to Planters Inn than meets the eye: A hidden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides a beguiling entry to Peninsula Grill, the city's foremost dining experience. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are longstanding members of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of luxury boutique hotels and gourmet restaurants located in the world's most romantic, most cultured, and most memorable destinations. Are you excited for your getaway to Charleston? We are excited to welcome you to Planters Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing