We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Middleton Family Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
John Rutledge House Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lodge Alley Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
14
2
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
2
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoriginal kitchenchurch sthistoric charlestonliving roomwithin walking distancecottagebrickmiddletowncourtyardproperty
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

What an adorable place! We stayed in the carriage house and it was simply charming. The courtyard and garden is very private and perfect for relaxing after spending the day in Charleston.
One thing you should know before you go is if you stay in the carriage house, you will be making your own breakfast. Everything is provided, you just have to cook it all yourself. It makes sense because it is a private house, however we didn't expect it. Needless to say we were a little disappointed that one of the things we stayed there for, delicious hot breakfast waiting for us, didn't happen.
Other than that, I give it a thumbs up!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

After an exhaustive search to find accommodations for 3 couples (friends) with a kitchen & an outdoor area for cocktails/munchies, we decided on Middleton Family B&B. Note that our stay was in late September with no rain and very low humidity.

Overall Pros:
~ The location is great and the courtyard lovely
~ On-site parking a bonus
~ Both houses are charming and the hosts friendly

The 2 BR house:
Pros:
~ Nice accommodations
~ Central a/c
Cons:
~ Main bathroom quite small

The 1 BR house (where we stayed) & the reason this B&B is rated as it is:
Pros:
~ Great brick work inside
Cons:
~ VERY musty smell and damp
~ No central a/c...just 2 window units - one in the downstairs kitchen and one upstairs in the BR. Both a/c units worked, but the one in the BR poured very damp & musty air to the room, which was absolutely unbearable (we live in Orlando so we're accustomed to humidity, but not this). The a/c intake vents were very dirty and I really didn't want to open up the unit for fear of what I'd find inside. The a/c drain must have been clogged as no water was dripping from the outside of the a/c unit. Turned off the BR a/c, opened the windows and turned on fan - only then was it tolerable. No dehumidifier available.
~ VERY VERY narrow wooden winding staircase to 2nd flr. Easier & safer to use outside staircase to haul in/out luggage.

Room Tip: Stay in the 2 BR kitchen house for a pleasurable stay.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My husband and I have made Charleston a mainstay stop on our way back to Delaware after visiting grandchildren in Florida....it was also our 30th wedding anniversary! This time, our brief stay in Charleston, was a total experience! From a brick driveway on the side of a simple historical front, it opened to a lovely garden with 2 cottages on either side- ours, the original kitchen of a home destroyed by a fire in 1778, the other, it's carriage house. Ours had a small living room with comfortable sofa and cable tv. The room extended to a small kitchen and a dining area. Table was set with English china, a bowl of fruit, and lo! a complementary bottle of wine! The kitchen had a microwave, small fridge, toaster and sufficient kitchen essentials to prepare a meal for two. The fridge was stocked with milk, orange juice, jam, syrup, butter and packages of eggs, sausage, English muffin and waffles to make to make a full satisfying breakfast! The spiral wood staircase to the 2nd floor opened to a bedroom with a king size bed. The bathroom was quite large wiih a granite topped sink.

The 'topper' was a beautiful sitting area in the garden created by the owners and innkeepers , Judy and Philip Mddleton. From an afternoon repast of wine, crusty bread, cheese and wild boar sausage (purchased from a 'boulangerie' down the street) to pre-dinner appetizers, we enjoyed these amidst the pleasant smell of jasmine and the gurgling sounds of a cherub pouring a jar of water into a small pool!

Judy Middleton was there to welcome us on our first day and provided us with ample information on how to enjoy this most wonderful of Southern cities.

Thank You...an experience to relish until we return...already working on the next time.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTBELEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This is a great place to stay when enjoying Charleston. It is walking distance from lots of historic sites, parks, museums, restaurants, the water, and King Street shopping. It was comfortable and clean. The small kitchen was well-stocked so that we could easily cook delicious, leisurely breakfasts and have snacks throughout the day. Loved the gas fireplace. And the garden was the perfect place to relax. Our toddler enjoyed exploring--stress free when you're in an enclosed yard! All in all, we could not have asked for a nicer place to stay on our little family get-away. We will return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the smaller cottage as a couple with a toddler. The larger cottage would be perfect for a couple with older children as it has twin beds in the second bedroom. The Middletons provided a pack-and-play for our toddler and it was perfect in the smaller cottage!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aeppolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Our family of three went to Charleston for our son's wedding. We stayed in the two-bedroom carriage house and our friends stayed across the courtyard in the one-bedroom house. The carriage house was originally constructed as the kitchen building and slave quarters in 1783 by Isaac Mazyck. It had two floors: upstairs two bedrooms, one with a king-size bed and the other with twin beds. A full bath was between the bedrooms. Downstairs was a "powder room" with a washer and dryer. The living room was big enough that we could have put in another bed. The dining room table had been set for our breakfast. The kitchen was well-stocked with coffee, eggs, sausages, English muffins, unsalted butter, jam, sweet rolls, a variety of cereals, milk, orange juice, a bottle of wine - everything we needed for our breakfasts which we had in the courtyard - A door goes directly from the kitchen to the courtyard which has round tables, chairs, umbrellas, a fountain, wonderful flowers and many salamanders that turn from brown to bright green in seconds. Everything was clean and neat and there were separate air conditioning units for upstairs and downstairs plus fans in the bedrooms. The stairs are tight and steep - so it could be a problem for some.
The owners were very nice and forthcoming, providing us with information on Charleston and showing us how to use the courtyard lights. We could walk to all the historic sites including the wedding site at the Old Exchange.
I am so glad we did not stay in a hotel. This place was a quiet oasis for us during a hectic time at the wedding. We finished our days with wine in the courtyard. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EBrinich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews