We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect Stay in Charleston” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of King George IV Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
King George IV Inn
Ranked #5 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, La
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay in Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

King George is in a wonderful location for dining and shopping. Our suite was roomy, comfortable, and well maintained by the staff. We cannot praise our hostess, Charlene, enough. From the delicious breakfast, the dining suggestions, and the warm greeting, she made the stay perfect. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyRetiree023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    117
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
78
295
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My daughter (a College of Charleston alum) and I recently returned to Charleston for a brief visit just ahead of graduation on Mothers Day. We stayed in the King George IV because of its excellent value, location and helpful staff. The B & B is on George St, close to the College and King St shopping area and down the street from Bananas and Caviar deli.
We were given the famous Charleston gracious service, starting with leaving our bags in the room prior to normal check-in time, so that we could go walking in the city the afternoon we arrived. It was no problem, and that tone prevailed throughout our 2-night stay.
wish I'd known a bit sooner that they sell (as a courtesy to guests) the large bags of Benne Seed Wafers at a much better price than they can be bought in the Market or in other shops throughout Charleston.
Breakfast was quite enjoyable, and offered a good variety of items, with some ability to get one's individual taste accommodated. There was a British couple and several other couples, groups of friends and families. It made for a variety of breakfast chats. All seemed in agreement as to the love of Charleston!
Our room, which was on the ground floor in the back, opening onto the courtyard, is the only one (I believe) with 2 rooms/2 beds. One room had a single, the other had a queen size bed. We shared a private bath.
All in all, we had a great experience at this B & B, and will likely come back in the future.
It may not be the fanciest of Charleston's many B & B's, but it is the best in so many ways, and the prices are a real advantage.

Room Tip: If you want relative quiet, and/or need a 2-person room, choose C-1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Statesville NC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have stayed at the King George many times, and have always really enjoyed it. The hosts and staff are all wonderful. The rooms are all very comfortable, and the location could not be better. An easy and lovely walk to all the historic sights in old Charleston. Plenty of great dining and shopping nearby too. A plentiful breakfast and coffee and cookies available any time. We highly recommend this inn!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonawanda, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were very impressed with the King George. We should have stayed 3 nights but travel problems only could stay 2. The management was very accommodating not charging for first night. The room(#5) Was great, probably the best and biggest B & B room we ever stayed in. The food was good served in a very small eating space. Buffet style similar to hotels. Charlene was so nice and made the stay even better. We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackson919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a "girl" weekend with my daughter and niece and the King George was the perfect place. It is within walking distance to everything in historic Charleston. We stayed on the fourth floor with two rooms and a shared bathroom. It worked out great for us. The rooms are spacious and well furnished. The prices, in my opinion, are very fair. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: There are stairs, so if climbing stairs is an issue, you would want a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Four nights of real pleasure! Large comfy bedroom with small sitting room and private porch (and several other nice porches and outdoor sitting areas) to enjoy the nice weather, pretty city landscaping, attractive interiors. Unbeatable location, able to walk to downtown attractions and restaurants. Daily consultation with Charlene about agenda, directions, practical details. She provided us with a map on our arrival on which she had marked our restaurant for the first night and several other places of interest. Breakfast (hearty and available from 8:30 - 10:30) was a serious social time -- nice to hear where other people were going that day, where they had been, what they thought, etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Inn for two nights. Great service - Charlene was very, very helpful. The location a superb as it is in the Historic District and easy walk to places. On the edge of local college so many things accessible like shops, etc. Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank srodday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,595 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,619 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#11 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George IV Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George IV Inn

Property: King George IV Inn
Address: 32 George St, Charleston, SC 29401-1434
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Step into the past and feel the history of Charleston around you." King George IV Inn is a 200-year old (c.1790)historic home. The House is named The "Peter Freneau House", after a prominent Charleston journalist, and Co-owner of the Charleston City Gazette. The Inn is a four-story Federal style house, with Charleston porches over-looking a lovely courtyard. All rooms are furnished with a nice combination of antiques and reproductions. King George IV Inn is located in the heart of the historic district. One minute walk to King Street shopping and dining and only a five minute walk to the historic market. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King George Iv Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing