We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fabulous Week in Charleston!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charlotte Street Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Charlotte Street Cottage
Ranked #21 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Week in Charleston!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

One week at the Charlotte Street Cottage and we were officially puddles of relaxation! We chose the cottage for its close proximity to all the things we wanted to see in Charleston, but the charm of the home, your lovely gardens and your hospitality made it hard to leave for more than a few hours at a time! Your restaurant recommendations were spot on – I don’t remember when we’ve eaten so well! – and your suggestions for navigating the tourist spots were so helpful. Thank you for having us, we can’t wait to visit again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa3, Owner at Charlotte Street Cottage, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you! We try to make sure you eat well while here and find the things that will make the visit special. Hope you can come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We had a wonderful time at this quiet pretty cottage in Charleston. We never needed a car as we could walk to all the restaurants and sights. Lisa left us absolutely everything we could need in terms of supplies for breakfast (so nice when flying in from overseas not to have to rush out to buy groceries) . She even left us a bottle of chilled white wine in the fridge! Because the house is tucked away off a residential street it is peaceful and yet 15 minutes will bring you to restaurants shops etc. The beds and sofa and chairs were all very comfy too. We certainly will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneW1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We turned onto Charlotte Street, pulled our car through the gates at #32, parked at the end of the cobblestone drive - and never needed to use it again! This is such a perfectly located garden cottage in the city, meticulously cared for by Lisa and Geoff. The cottage itself is a true home away from home with all that we needed and more. The privacy is wonderful, the outside garden and patio are a sensory delight. Geoff and Lisa are friendly hosts who pointed us in the right direction whenever we needed suggestions (make sure you make a morning trip to the Macaroons Bakery on John St. just a few blocks away) Thank you - we hope to return!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimoonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa3, Owner at Charlotte Street Cottage, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear "Jimoonan"

It was such a pleasure to meet you and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Charlotte Street Cottage. We thank you for your your wonderful review. We always strive to treat our guests as we would like to be treated when traveling.Also, as owners of a small individually owned property, we depend on reviews like yours to help us get the word out to other travelers.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review...and for taking such good care of the property during your stay.
We would be delighted to see you back... and if we can be of any assistance in the future, feel free to contact us at anytime!

Warm regards,
Lisa Flaggman
Geoff Renk
Owners
Charlotte Street Cottage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We found a gem when we rented this cottage. The location is walking distance to all the historic areas and to the wonderful restaurants. The kitchen was fully loaded, if you decide to stay put a few nights. The beds were very comfortable; the bathroom/shower never ran out of hot water. The goodies we found on arrival were very thoughtful. We went just after Christmas and the week after New Year's. It's a great time to go because we had the whole city to ourselves after the 1st. The nations first history museum is right down the street. The garden was in it's sleepy mode for winter but it was still very well kept. And for you musicians, Geoff is a mean guitarist. We had a great time playing! If you are looking for an historical place to stay this is it. I highly recommend the Gullah Tour.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laytonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

My husband, two terriers and I just returned from the ideal vacation retreat in historic Charleston. This is a hidden gem sitting in a private gated garden and just two or three blocks from the visitor center, the free trolley and great restaurants. The cottage was fully equipped, immaculate and comfortable. Lisa and Geoff, the owners, were warm and welcoming but unobtrusive. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We highly recommend this lovely property. Location is great for walking tours, restaurants and groceries. Decor is very charming and owner provided us access and recommendations for really special things to eat and do.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandywoodlbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn, ny
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Our recent stay at the Charlotte Street Cottage was perfect--everything we hoped for and more. As the photos illustrate, this is a historic property with beautiful, private gardens. The cottage is cozy and immaculate, and well equipped with everything a visitor could need. Lisa and Geoff, the gracious and helpful owners, stocked the kitchen with fresh fruit and snacks and a lovely bottle of wine. (Thank you!) There are books, maps, and restaurant menus to help plan your stay in Charleston. The location is quiet and private, but within walking distance of shops, restaurants, and historic attractions. Our only disappointment was that the days flew by so quickly that we ran out of time. Delightful--hope to be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Barksdale House Inn
#11 of 40 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
86 Cannon
#16 of 40 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Jasmine House Inn
#10 of 40 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
27 State Street Bed and Breakfast
Charlestowne
21 East Battery Bed and Breakfast
The Governor's House Inn
#6 of 40 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Street Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Street Cottage

Property: Charlotte Street Cottage
Address: 32 Charlotte St, Charleston, SC 29403-6330
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and private 1820's 2 bedroom kitchen house on an acre of gardens in historic downtown. Like a french country cottage. Amenities include full kitchen, living room, washer/dryer, private garden, cable T.V., WiFi. Walk to all. Just bring your toothbrush! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Charlotte Street Cottage Hotel Charleston
Charlotte South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing