We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Unwind and Relax”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Charlotte Street Cottage
Ranked #18 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 June 2010

An amazing place to stay! As soon as we arrived at 32 Charlotte Street, we felt right at home. The cottage is charming and the owners treat you like family. Each of our questions (and we had many) were answered and the owners never made us feel as if we were interrupting their day. It was nice to walk the busy streets of Charleston knowing that you had your quiet peaceful cottage waiting for you at the end of each day.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2010

What a blessing it was to have discovered Charlotte Street Cottage online before visiting Charleston, S.C. It was a gracious, warm, and inviting home away from home during our stay there. Beautifully and comfortably furnished, filled with light from the many windows that overlooked the glorious gardens, Charlotte street Cottage filled my heart with joy every time I stepped through its doors. After long days of exploring the streets of Charleston, it was such an absolute pleasure to return to this inviting sanctuary. its proprietors, Lisa and Geoff, could not have been more friendly or helpful with their inviting greetings or generous advice on everything from the best restaurants to dine in to the local haunts not to be missed. I can honestly say it was one of my all-time favorite vacation accommodations.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidhughes595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I cannot overstate the comfort and quiet gentility of Charlotte Street Cottage. Every detail was attended to in the cleanliness, decor and amenities. Lisa and Geoff were the perfect combination of present and available. Such lovely people. The cottage itself made me imagine myself a resident at home in Charleston and the location was perfect for sightseeing with many fine dining establishments within easy walking distance. There is parking inside the gate right next to the cottage, another luxury! I cannot imagine ever staying anyplace else when I return to beautiful Charleston!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We stayed in a hotel in Charleston once, and while it was very convenient, this cottage offered much more. We loved eating out, but appreciated having the kitchen and the freedom to make our own food. The spaciousness allowed us to relax right there in our cottage in-between activities. It was very peaceful and comfortable. A great place to stay in Charleston!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeline77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Charlotte cottage provided us with a beautiful oasis during our unforgettable stay in Charleston. The cottage is so comfortable. I slept better than I do at home. It's historic charm and integrity are perfect. Access to the historic city is easy by foot, yet it is in a very quiet neighborhood. The garden and patio are very inviting, and a great place to read.
Finally Lisa and Geoff are generous hosts and very knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farmersteveAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

We spent three nights at the cottage .Its in a quiet location but very convenient for walking around Charleston. The fridge was well stocked for breakfasts and Lisa the owner was friendly and very helpful. Lots of information about restaurants and things to do in the area were found in the cottage. Also the wi-fi reception was good .

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2008

My daughter surprised me with a four day visit to Charleston, South Carolina and Charlotte Street Cottage was the best part of our visit. We were delighted with the close proximity to downtown and walked everywhere. The neighborhood was a photographer's delight.

The cottage is a charming two story brick tucked in the backyard of a beautiful historic mansion. The hosts were wonderful to us, even presenting my daughter with a beautiful birthday cake.

My daughter's dog, Belah, loved the yard and even found a couple of bones left by the house dogs, Lola, Stymie and Luna. We loved that the yard and cottage were pet friendly and we enjoyed being around a family that loves animals. Rufus the family cat observed
coming and going from afar.

The cottage is immaculate with lots of amenities such as cable t.v., dishwasher, washing machine, internet connection, luxury linens and towels. The living room is well appointed with comfortable couch and easy chair. The open beam ceiling and huge fireplace adds to the charm.

We were greeted with a huge fruit basket and wine with lots of choices for breakfast. The hosts Lisa and Geoff were wonderful to us and made us feel welcomed and safe.

Above all we loved the experience of just being in Charlotte Street Cottage and would highly recommend it to everyone wanting to experience the real Charleston, South Carolina.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JudeLaVeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,240 reviews
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,827 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,077 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Street Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Street Cottage

Address: 32 Charlotte St, Charleston, SC 29403-6330
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and private 1820's 2 bedroom kitchen house on an acre of gardens in historic downtown. Like a french country cottage. Amenities include full kitchen, living room, washer/dryer, private garden, cable T.V., WiFi. Walk to all. Just bring your toothbrush! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Charlotte Street Cottage Hotel Charleston
Charlotte South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing