We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Phoebe Pember House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phoebe Pember House
Ranked #32 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We were in town to run the Cooper Bridge run. I attempted to find accommodations months out, but everything was booked. I was able to finally get a room here and was a little hesitant since it was so centrally located, but still had a room available. Well, from the minute we stepped on the grounds I felt pure relaxation! We didn't get a place that wasn't up to par, we were the lucky ones to get one of there last rooms =) It's in the center of everything, corner of Society and East Bay, yet if felt so secluded. We parked our car and never drove it again, we were minutes from everything! Beth, the grounds keeper, greeted us upon arrival and showed us to our room. She was absolutely gracious in ever regard. We would most certainly stay again. The room and grounds reminded you of earlier years, so relaxing and homely. I adored everything about it. We didn't eat breakfast or anything, but Beth made sure to ask if we would be attending, or if we'd like it delivered to our room. If you find charm is historic buildings, this is certainly for you! I am a hotel snob and adored this place! Very clean and beautiful! I would stay again!

Room Tip: Book a year in advance if arriving in April
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank RunnerMoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2010

Thank you Carolyn and Henk, for having contributed so much to our first experience with Charleston. Your gracious hospitality made our anniversary one we will certainly remember.

And thank you, Tamika and Julie, for your sunshine dispositions and many kindness.

We'll be back, for Charleston is too lovely a city to only see once. Much luck, and we hope to see you again.

Sue and David

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueBird789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

The location of this b&b was pretty good for people who want to walk around the historic district and access restaurants and cultural events on foot. The history of this place is also enjoyable. But the current owners don't take being a b&b very seriously as the service, housekeeping, and certainly the breakfast needed improvement. We were two couples who stayed there four nights and both of us had to ask for assistance with our rooms - lights that didn't work, bugs in the room, and in general the housekeeping wasn't up to par. The continental breakfast was exactly the same for all four days, and with just a little bit of effort, could have been wonderful as the patio location was very nice, but no attempt at making the food a quality experience was taken. For the price, we didn't get our money's worth and probably wouldn't recommend it to others. There are better ones out there for the same price.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dreamtraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

The Phoebe Pember House and carriage house is the treasure I have been searching for for over three years in my visits to Charleston. It is a wonderful place to stay—the privacy, the sitting room, the galley kitchen, and above all else the owner Carolyn and her staff. I have so enjoyed my stay here. I am able to visit with my children and seek solitude in the garden. I missed yoga this time, but will look forward to it on my next visit. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iloveband923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

I had a wonderful opportunity to see many of the rooms. They are each unique with a calm and comfortable atmosphere. The B&B is well-located - just a few minutes from shops, restaurants, the weekend market, and many historic mansions. There's a grocery store right across the street (but no need for breakfast at a B&B!). Staff were knowledgeable and imbued with the calmness that pervades Phoebe Pember House. The Sophia Institute, where you can attend seminars and do yoga, is a great and uncommon addition to this B&B. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueSky34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We so appreciated the warmth and welcome of the Phoebe Pember House. Thank you for your tea making, reservation/taxi assistance and recommendations for all the things that make Charleston worth the trip!! We especially are grateful for the Friday evening we spent listening to the three men reading poetry in your studio. That was a totally unexpected delight. We so enjoyed it all and loved feeling like we had a comfy and peaceful spot to retreat to when we wanted.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fran1033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Terrible stay. Room was nothing like the photos on the website. King bed was two doubles pushed together. Ceiling cracked and needed repair. Bathroom very small (6 x 10 if that). Make sure you see the room before you make any reservations.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kdmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoebePemberInn, Manager at Phoebe Pember House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2009

Dear Future Guests,

It is with sadness that I have read this review of Phoebe Pember House, our beautiful and historic oasis in the heart of Charleston. Our guest books for each room are filled with many happy notes from our guests. Phoebe Pember House is a 200 year old historic property which earns the highest ratings from the Preservation Society of Charleston. We are yearly featured on the Preservation Society’s Fall Candlelight Tour of Historic Homes. This partnership with the Preservation Society of Charleston requires us to maintain compliance with an easement agreement that is inspected yearly by members of the Preservation Society of Charleston.

Our guest rooms, each individually appointed, are mainly in our charming carriage houses, each with lovely walled gardens and off street private parking, a premium here in Charleston. Because of our convenient location, our guests enjoy this free parking privilege and walk to explore the charm and unique offerings of Charleston.

Often our guests join us for personal retreat, to participate in our yoga classes or one of our sponsored retreats. We specialize in this more holistic service.

Our staff works tirelessly to provide our guests with the very best of service and uphold very high expectations for guest service--the upkeep and cleanliness of our beautiful rooms and gardens and the provision of our healthy breakfast (consisting of fresh breads and pastries from a local artisan bakery, fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, coffee, tea, and fruit juice). With confirmation, we send our concierge list of preferred activities as well as an extensive list of restaurants we are happy to recommend so that our guests can plan their stay well in advance, a valuable service we’re happy to offer.

While it is disappointing that a handful of our guests, out of the several thousand that have stayed with us, have found Phoebe Pember House less wonderful than we should hope and have decided to use this venue to give their feedback, it is important to know that we have many guests who choose to pen letters of pleasure and satisfaction in our guest books on a weekly basis, including these:

We so appreciated the warmth and welcome of the Phoebe Pember House- thank you for your tea making, reservation/taxi assistance and recommendations for all the things that make Charleston worth the trip!! We so enjoyed it all, and loved feeling like we had a comfy and peaceful spot to retreat to when we wanted.

Our stay here was perfect! The room was comfortable and quiet. The location was just the right distance from all of the attractions, restaurants, ET. Yet, when you return to the gated hideaway you feel the serenity of the retreat center. Yoga was just the right blend of aromas and meditation. The Heart Callings workshop was soulful and created a soft space to explore personal dreams. Carolyn Rivers was an excellent facilitator, knowing just the right questions to challenge all of us. Thank all of you for making this a meaningful time in my personal journeys.

Sincerely,

Anne Nelson & Julie Miller
Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 62 in Charleston
2,884 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,955 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,281 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoebe Pember House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoebe Pember House

Address: 26 Society St, Charleston, SC 29401-2629
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: £75 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing