We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun!”
Review of The Schooner Pride

The Schooner Pride
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.12*
and up
Charleston Schooner Sunset Sail
More Info
US$42.40*
and up
Schooner Sailing Dolphin Tour in Charleston Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Schooner Pride is an authentic replica of the 18th century tall ships that once dotted the Charleston Harbor carrying supplies and passengers to and from the plantations. She is USCG certified for up to 49 passengers and is the only 3 mast tall ship that offers public sails in Charleston Harbor. You can sit back and enjoy the the views and gentle ocean breeze or get involved with trimming the sails. We are not a narrated tour, but are happy to answer questions and point out interesting landmarks! Daily afternoon and sunset sails are available March - Early November. Special group sails and private charters available year round!
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The Schooner Pride was a little more expensive, but somuch fun! It didn't hold as many people as some of the other tour type boats (nice!), and they allowed some people to participate in raising and lowering the sails (optional). Would do it again in a heartbeat!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    75
    28
    12
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not the best day to sail”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We did not choose a good day to sail and in hind sight would not have gone on the day we did. We have done schooner sails in Newport and Annapolis and had terrific times and we were really looking forward to another exciting afternoon on the water. It was not an exciting time. The motor was used to power the boat out of the harbor which was fine, but once we got out of the area the captain turned it off and we sat perfectly still in awkward silence for what seemed like a very long time. The crew had told us upon boarding that this would not be a guided sail per se in that they would not chat us up with facts, but would be happy to answer questions. On one hand, it was so peaceful, but the prolonged silence was very uncomfortable. After awhile, one of the crew members started to share info about the area and that helped a little. The captain mentioned a couple times that they don't usually turn on the motor until heading back to port but finally said he would put it to a vote to see if that's what we wanted so we could ride by the shoreline. I think the experience would have been better if it was openly acknowledged that there was no wind and it was necessary to use the motors in order to move about. Rather than being a true sail, it would have been a been a pleasant boat ride which would have been fine on a windless day. It was still nice to be on the water for a couple hours, but the awkward time in the middle of the trip is what we remember most.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank brady7946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to watch the sunset”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked the sunset cruise a couple of hours before setting sail. What a wonderful way to spend the evening! The ship is beautiful, and the crew sails her with obvious practiced ease. It was especially fun when they called on volunteers to help hoist the sails!

Snacks and drinks are available on board, and again, the crew is efficient and at the same time never felt overbearing. When snacks were served and the sails in place, the mates were very helpful offering to take photos, chat about sailing, or just allow quiet contemplation of the beautiful sunset.

Well worth it if you want to spend a memorable few hours on the water.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scarletleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful sunset sail”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have done the Schooner Pride's sunset sail twice now and both times were so enjoyable. Sailing out on the harbor with the sun setting behind Charleston's skyline of church steeples is truly an amazing experience. Both times we went were in October and the weather was perfection, it is a great way to wind down after a day of walking around the city. My husband and I both said that if we lived in Charleston the Sunset sail would be a weekly occurrence.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AWM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Weather was perfect”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We did not want another "talking head" history tour. We love the history and enjoyed it but we wanted to experience the harbor, weather and discuss sailing. This was perfect. The captain and ship mates were willing to discuss not only the history but many of their experiences. The wind was not good for sailing but still enjoyed the evening. Called that morning and made the reservation.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ssccmccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Schooner Pride also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Schooner Pride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing