We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day with kids!”

South Carolina Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$24.95*
and up
South Carolina Aquarium Admission
Ranked #27 of 235 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun, wonder and education come together at the South Carolina Aquarium. An intimate family-fun adventure, see a rare albino American alligator; get hands-on at the Touch Tank, marvel at the sharks in the Great Ocean Tank, come face-to-face with rays in the Stingray Encounter, or take a behind-the-scenes tour of the Sea Turtle Hospital. Don’t miss our interactive dive shows and animal programs offered daily!
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great day with kids!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Going to the aquarium was a great day spend with kids and grandma. It's so much more than an aquarium though. There are different areas and within each area, different animals. They have a bald eagle, lemurs, reptiles, and of course, amazing fish. There's a hands-on area where you can "pet" sting rays and hold sea urchins and starfish. There's a sea turtle hospital area too where you can see x-rays and tools that are used to care for the animals. They're also showing a 4D movie (3D with actions like seat rumbling, water spraying, etc.) that was an additional charge but well worth it. This was a fun family adventure!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    563
    292
    79
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Manageable size for one day visit - beautiful aquarium”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Let's start with 4D Sea Monsters, the entertaining, educational film playing during our visit. The jaws would snap while the seat would poke and soap bubbles floated up as creatures churned water in deep dives. Good childish fun. Right way to start the visit.

The aquarium does a very good job with a wide variety of exhibits, but it is not so big that one feels rushed or overwhelmed during visits. We leisurely visited, stopping to watch educational presentations along the way. Educators aim for the younger generation, involving them and building positive conservation experiences - a good thing.

No dolphins or whales legally allowed in captivity in SC. See dolphins, if interested, by walkng along the beach.

We never lose interest in watching flounders move around and camouflage from dark rocks to light sand. Hey, that is what we like. However the aquarium has several large mixed species tanks that bring the visitor up close and personal to the wonders of underwater life. Without any effort, the exhibits inform about ecology and conservation.

The aquarium is a relaxing, beautiful place to visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Eacoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanesville,OH
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An OK aquarium”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We visited this aquarium because we got some free passes. It is an OK aquarium, but certainly not the best. There were a number of school kids and they all seemed to be enjoying themselves. I was glad we did not pay for this and we stayed under an hour. It might be a good spot for a rainy day trip, but there are so many other great attractions in Charleston that I would put this toward the bottom of your to do list.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lledford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nc
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Oh dear...”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very small and limited displays. We went through in a very short time. Expected more from an aquarium on the coast.Certainly far below the level of Altanta & Baltimore.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jakek_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Paid too much money to see too little! We were done in about 30 minutes. The gift shop was more interesting than the entire aquarium!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth27523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Carolina Aquarium also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to South Carolina Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing