We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Museum”

Gibbes Museum of Art
Ranked #58 of 233 things to do in Charleston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Gibbes Museum enhances lives through art by engaging people of every background and experience with art and artists of enduring quality, by collecting and preserving art that touches Charleston, and by providing opportunities to learn, to discover, to enjoy, and to be inspired by the creative process. Recognized among the oldest arts organizations in the United States, the Gibbes has played a significant role in shaping the careers of American artists for over a century. The Museum connects the city and region's artistic past to a vibrant contemporary art scene.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
444 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Very Nice Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I have been trying to go to art museums in the various towns we visit. We are sometimes pleased and sometimes disappointed. At the Gibbes, we were certainly pleased. This is a small museum with mainly local historical art of various types. We think the building is very nice and the art is very unique and well organized. There is a discount for seniors, so the fee was very reasonable. The art is high quality and makes for a couple of hours of pleasant viewing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IverJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    53
    12
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique and wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Our tour guide Lisa recommended we check out the collection of miniatures here and we decided to give it a shot. It's a small museum, but worth the time and cost. Wide variety of art and history. Would do it again if we bring others with us on our next visit. Perhaps needs some restoration in some areas, but overall a nice way to spend an hour or 90 minutes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place to Enjoy Local Fine Art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

There were many great works of local and historically significant art to the Charleston area history. We were lucky to catch a show of museum collection works that were voted favorites of local art aficionados. There were some gilded age marbles that were breathtaking!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patti-P-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small but wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed the Gibbes. It's a small museum, easily done in a few hours depending on how much time you spend looking at the pieces on display. I loved the combination of the historical pieces and the art.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MBailey0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Gibbes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is our living room. Everyone goes to the Gibbes. And though the collection is small it is important. Never go to a city and not see its collection of art. I read that Christies is stalking Detroit. I hope that they know that if they help to destroy Detroit, we will make certain to eventually destroy them.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank randolph m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gibbes Museum of Art also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Gibbes Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing