We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As If You Looked up Irish Dive Bar in the Dictionary”
Review of The Griffin

The Griffin
Ranked #8 of 55 Nightlife in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 25 April 2018

Crazy atmosphere of thousands of dollar bills stapled to every conceivable wall and ceiling space.

Good drinks, good beer variety. Our server looked like he stepped off of a Lord of the Rings movie set. He helpfully pointed out the beer I ordered was served in a can and so I was able to change to a draught pilsner instead.

Our friends were looking for a dark Irish bar, not to be mistaken for Irish pub and we found it. Unlike anywhere we've been in Charleston.

We didn't eat here but I saw some bar food served.

I can't imagine this place on St. Paddy's Day.

And not afraid to be called a dive bar. Bring your dollar bills.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank E1971IStonys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dollar bills"
in 16 reviews
"cole slaw"
in 3 reviews
"waterfront park"
in 7 reviews
"best fish chips"
in 2 reviews
"english style pub"
in 2 reviews
"fried shrimp"
in 2 reviews
"every square inch"
in 2 reviews
"local brews"
in 2 reviews
"sweet tea"
in 2 reviews
"interesting place"
in 2 reviews
"downtown charleston"
in 4 reviews
"dive"
in 3 reviews
"stapled"
in 3 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Stumbled across this bar and liked the atmosphere. First visit wait staff brought us beer menus and then forgot about us so we left (we were seated at a back tablel
Returned the next day and sat at the bar.
Beers were good and we both had the infamous Fish 'n Chips-they lived up to all the hype. Side of cole slaw could have been more than 3 bites. Wait staff, bartender not the most efficient and spent more time chatting with employees than tending to customers.
Good locale for CHS.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank KayJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We tried this place our last night in Charleston and wish we had sooner. The fish and chips are some of the best and the beer selection was great. A must try if your in the area.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

For some crazy reason people have stapled dollar bills all over the inside of this pub, filings and walls are completely covered. Waitress said there's over $35,000 there. If you want to add to the collection, tell the waitress and she will bring over markers and a stapler. Of course we added one, look for a bill with live free or die written on it.
The waitress/bartender was friendly. There was a two page list of craft brews available, many were local brews. Menu had sandwiches salads and some meals all very reasonable. We couldn't resist the blue plate special of the day -- meatloaf, mashed potatoes, green beans and corn bread muffin. Nice southern style green beans, meatloaf very good and homemade potatoes for under $10. A nice cheap meal in a local place to offset all the expensive ones in Charleston; a surprise since this in right in a major tourist spot at waterfront park.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2018

The Griffin English style pub in the French Quarter of Charlestons Historic District is fun, good food and drink in an interesting atmosphere. Wednesday is Fried Chicken day, a Blue Plate kind of place and If 10 is Excellent, well The Griffin's Fried Chicken is a 9+. I always leave room for improvement, but none needed here. Lunch was served with two sides, fried Okra and Mac and Cheese w/cornbread all excellent. Sweet tea was my choice of drink and I enjoyed my lunch with good friends. Not rushed. Beth our waitress was the next item of discussion, (not on the menu) Beth gave us impeccable service with her smile and charming personality. I wish all waitresses could be from her stock. Excellent, thanks Beth and Thank You The Griffin, I can't wait for our next visit.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Slickdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Griffin also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing