We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Ranked #31 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

What a pleasure to find this hotel. We normally stay at Kiawah Island, but due to last minute planning on a busy weekend, it was great! Clean with extremely comfortable beds. However, it was the staff that impressed me most. Friendly and helpful, especially when my daughter left her mobile phone, somewhere on property and dead. The staff member who found it charged it and found my contact to get it back to us. I think most places would have stuck it in a drawer and forgotten about it. Thank you, Thank you! A teenager traveling with her mom, without her phone, is a pitiful sight.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. Our staff member Christyan found the phone and I will certainly let her know how appreciated it was. I am so glad it was found and all turned out well. Again thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (901)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 901 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

I stayed a couple nights at this hotel in Charleston after carefully researching all options. While the hotel was nothing special, it was clean and very well priced considering its only a few miles to downtown Charleston!
The parking lot was a bit tricky to get into and if there is any event in the banquet room the parking lot becomes a zoo, and parking in their backup area across the multilane highway is a tricky adventure.
Breakfast was good but seating is limited.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

All in all my stay here was spectular. Everyone here is so nice and friendly. They make it seem like home; kind of my home away from home. Christyan was very efficient and a fast talker. She helped me out a lot with directions to the beaches and restuarants in the area. She is a plus at the front desk. The breakfast was awesome so much to choose from. I would recommend this hotel to EVERYONE.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terrance D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Thank you for your wonderful compliment on our front desk representative Christyan. She is quite an asset to our hotel and am glad she made your stay an enjoyable one. I will see to it that your compliment is passed on to her. Thanks again for a wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

In town for long weekend wedding anniversary trip with the trophy wife. First off, exterior and the grounds were in great shape! Upon entering the lobby we were greeted! I know that sounds lame, but it is a rarity these days to be welcomed at any establishment. The front desk was top notch head and shoulders above those guys downtown. Always greeted with a smile. Housekeeping staff was super nice. Very nice lady working the desk was always complimenting my wife's hair, which she ate up. Continental breakfast hours seemed to be extended which was great! Most places similar only go from around 6am to 6:15 am. Lot of dorky white people around during breakfast behaving like they didn't know how to make a bowl of cereal without someone holding their hands..it was almost like they were disoriented. Was a little distracting when I was trying to scarf my biscuits and gravy. Then there was this nice young lady with her two kids the one young lad was all like "ma...I wanna be Lady Gaga!!!" over and over...was somewhat disturbing but hey it's 2013... Do You. Can't recommend this hotel enough if you are wanting to enjoy yourself in Charleston and not break the bank. The location is perfect! Easy commute to Folly Beach, Historic District, etc. Thanks to all the staff for a great weekend. Looks like I will be making the trip for business purposes once a month to the Chuck so I'll be certain to book here again. Thanks Again guys!!! Great job! Oh 4 out of five stars due only no hot tub/spa in the pool area totally out of you're control, no biggie.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brentmab2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We arrived late at night to find no parking in the small parking lot. Upon check in we inquired about additional parking. We were told that we could park across the street because the hotel owns the lot (across a busy 4 lane intersection) or park "on the curbs". There were several cars already parked on the curbs making it hard to find a space. We found one under the awning at the front of the hotel but felt weird about parking there. Once we entered our hotel we found that we did not have toiletries and towels. We called the front desk and they upgraded our room instead of bringing us towels. The lady on duty that night (after Charlene) was very helpful telling us the places to visit, eat, etc. The breakfast is mostly continental with eggs and sausage. A variety of breads and sweets, yogurt, cereal and fruits await you. There is additional seating to the side if there are no open seats in the breakfast area. This hotel is just down the road from a mall and about 10-15 minutes from down town. All in all I would visit again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redhll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We wanted to tour historic Charleston but did not wish to pay "an arm and a leg", so we stayed a this convenient hotel. It's right off the highway and a short drive to historic Charleston. We loved our accommodations since we were traveling with food (perishables), there was a frig and micro in our suite. Also, a half wall separating the sleeping area from the bed, so it was quite roomy. I used the indoor pool and sat outside for a while. There are chairs to sit on. Not much to see, only the highways, but didn't have to be inside all the time. The hotel seems to be brand new so it had a fresh feel. The breakfast was more than adequate. Staff was helpful, asked where we would like to face, I said away from the highway, so we faced the front of the hotel. The other reviewer was right that the entrance is a bit tricky, but once you get in, easy to get out. We only stayed one night and the price was right with the coupon that we had from the visitor;s center. Would highly recommend this to anyone needing a stay in this location.

Room Tip: I chose top floor so no one would be above us to disturb us.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachloverNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Charlene was one of the most nicest and most helpful and respectful front desk attendant I have ever had the pleasure of meeting, she was very helpful when asking if there was a taxi service that was reliable in town and she quickly gave us exactly what we needed, she has made the experience so much more enjoyable and most definitely will return and will recommend to all my friends and family to stay at comfort suites.

Room Tip: Getting the two bed room suite is the ideal for any couple on a romantic getaway or even a family va...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review on Charlene our front desk representative. She is definitely an asset to Comfort Suites.I will see to it your compliment is passed along to her. Thanks again for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#38 of 61 in Charleston
250 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites West of the Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Address: 2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-6287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#13 Family Hotel in Charleston
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £79 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites West of the Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites West of the Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites West Of The Ashley Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing