We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Ranked #33 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

If it was closer to downtown, there would be 5 stars across the board. Great staff and spotless throughout. Will stay there again. They also have a very good breakfast, that when you book you room directly through them, they give you $15 towards it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnBC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    255
    59
    19
    13
See reviews for
322
326
33
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennett, Missouri
Level Contributor
335 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We did not like this hotel, but the staff is exceptional with their friendliness and service. The hotel is dated and needs to be refurbished. The breakfast choices are minimal with no meat for the hot breakfast items. In our room there was quite a bit of road noise so we had to keep the fan going at all times so we would not hear it. The coffee that they serve is better than what you get at most hotels. We spent one night at this hotel after flying into Charleston on our way to Savannah. We would not stay here again. It is in the same category as a Drury Inn but way down the list from Drury on quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway in order to get a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMTurnbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations but hope you will give us another try when in the area. Again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the size and comfort of my room, however, one night when returning to the hotel -I witnessed a man running out of the hotel, with a woman chasing him.
Long story short, apparently the woman was robbed by this guy. It was a truly weird scene and I didn't stick around to hear more.

Not only that, but I believe one of the staff may of pocketed my iPod Touch, which I accidentally left in my room at check out. Its my fault for being so careless, however, when I called the desk clerk said nothing was turned in. Thus, leading me to that conclusion.

In closing, I would say -worst hotel ever. Especially at its price. I stayed at a ran down hostel in Key West and a roach motel in downtown New Orleans and neither had anything like what I saw. Still the beds were comfortable, which was good for me and the random slam I had one night -and the room was spacious enough. So it evened out.

Room Tip: Lock your doors, because anything goes there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L.b. E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. This is a rare situation because we have never had anything happen like this before at the Comfort Suites. We have found Comfort Suites to be a very safe place to be and hope this won't affect any future stays..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Arkansas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed here over the Thanksgiving Holiday - it about 10 minutes from everything you'd want to visit and about half the price of a downtown or waterfront hotel. Nice, new, and clean. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was decent - 2 waffle irons and scrambled eggs in addition to the cold options. 24hr coffee is also a bonus. Everything works in the fitness room. Pool is indoor - nice but small. Rooms are modern and clean, beds were very comfortable. Full selection of cable channels - no pay per view options; wifi is free and had good signal in our room. Only two minor complaints 1) our room was right above the main entrance where they have outdoor speakers playing some kind of "cool jazz" it wasn't loud or anything but in the middle of the night you could hear and if you're a light sleeper it might be a bit annoying. 2) and really the worst problem was traffic. The hotel is at the end of I526 freeway so it gets really congested and there is only one easy to miss entrance to the hotel's parking lot. Because there is a median that prevent you from turning into the parking lot from the southbound lane; if you're not in the right hand, northbound lane of Savannah Highway you're toast. It's either go around the block and fight the traffic and stop lights make a two U-turns (but the stop lights don't have protected left green arrows). To make matters worse my Garmin GPS thought the hotel was a block further down the road so it helped us get more lost in a car dealership parking lot. So other than the frustration of getting into the parking lot, everything was great.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side - opposite the lobby/entrance are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The staff was very helpful and the Roxena in the breakfast area worked faster and more efficient than I have ever seen in any hotel. As food, utensils and drinks were depleted she made sure nothing was ever empty for the next guest. She also managed to work around all of the guests trying to gather their breakfast. I hope that her efforts are recognized by management in this hotel because she was wonderful. Her efforts can make or break the opinion of guests because when people are hungry they have high expectations.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here one night due to a change in work plans that would have provided a hotel, and thus losing the opportunity to stay with family. However, we ended up staying at this hotel between recommendations from our family and friends in the area and reviews on TripAdvisor. The hotel was nice- clean, friendly staff, and comfortable and spacious rooms. The breakfast was better than expected: eggs weren't too terrible, plenty of yogurt and other options since the waffle iron was busy. However, the night we stayed, there was an out-of-town soccer team, with siblings and parents, that took over the lobby area. So, there wasn't any place to sit, stand or find your food due to the overflow of kids. Although I fully recognize this isn't the hotel's fault, it still put a damper on our experience. But, something they can control is their coffee, which was awful. I choked down a cup and ended up going to a coffee shop for a second cup.to cancel out the nasty taste and my dissatisfaction from a disappointing cup of Joe. Having a good cup would have made the over capacity breakfast area more tolerable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Great place to stay, reasonable rates, not far from downtown. Rooms were large and clean. Excellent breakfast. Although a little tricky to locate at first, the location is really pretty good.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope that when you are back in the area you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#38 of 61 in Charleston
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
1.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Charleston
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites West of the Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Property: Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Address: 2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-6287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#13 Family Hotel in Charleston
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites West of the Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites West of the Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites West Of The Ashley Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing