We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't Get The Discount”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Ranked #33 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Couldn't Get The Discount”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

When I checked in the desk clerk charged me $119 per night for 2 nights and $169 for the weekend night on Memorial Day. I told her there was a coupon on the internet for $99 for the first two nights. She told me to have it printed as she needed the coupon in hand. When I tried 3 different times to have it printed in the unmanned business center there were always problems with the printers. So in the ned I didn't get the discount. My other complaint was a very slow WiFi service. Other than that it was a good hotel only 15 minutes from downtown and they have a very good hot breakfast included with the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjgiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
I am so sorry about the problems you had with our printers in the business center. We have addressed that situation. Please call me if you are in the area next time so I can work with you on a discounted rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    257
    60
    20
    13
See reviews for
329
328
33
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This was our first time at this particular hotel while visiting Charleston. We were there for Memorial weekend which was very busy and our stay here could not have been better. The room was very nice, clean and comfortable the person at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. She really went the extra mile. The hotel was quite full so they had an extra breakfast room to accommodate the guests. My husband and I were pleased with our stay and will return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Checked in 05/24, front desk lady was very nice and helpful. Check in was speedy. Room was clean with no odors or stains anywhere. Beds were comfortable. There were no issues of any kind. We didnt try the breakfast though so i cannot comment much there. I did try to get a yogurt from the small fridge that was sitting on the counter, but it was locked.....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemmons, NC
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed overnite for the first time here. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was fresh and adequate for a self-serve. Front desk called a cab for us and the cost was $25 to and from Magnolias Restaurant downtown Charleston. Unfortunately, the cab driver thought we were going to Magnolia Plantation. When we turned through the gates, I immedately said "Oh, no! This is not the restaurant!" Poor fella turned the cab around and said he would have to bite the bullet on that one and not charge us for it. He looked up the rate for Magnolia's restaurant and only charged us the $25. The rate to the plantation would have been $25 if that's where you want to go. :) He was such a nice guy. I felt bad for him. SO...if you want to go to Magnolia's restaurant be sure you make that clear.

Overall, our stay here was pleasant and we were completely satisfied with the accommodations.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I am like the Princess and the Pea, these beds were very very soft. Nice microwave and frig extra pull out couch room darkening curtains it's very centrally located loved it! There was an indoor pool and free breakfast, friendly staff as well.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room away from busy road outside, street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The staff Laura, Charlene, and head of house keeping Angela made our stay excellent. We were caught in a rain storm on the Harley and check in was not until three or four, got there at twelve. Laura accommodated us right away from parking my bike under the canopy to preparing the room. The room was clean and felt like home. They do everything to make your stay enjoyable. I can't say enough about the staff. I would definitely stay here again for the value and staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Long Island, NY
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Thank Goodness for this hotel! My wife & I were planning our 1st trip to Charleston & really wanted the 'Old City', 'Historic District' experience. Hotels down in the District were very pricy, so we shopped around, checked other Trip Advisor reviews, & decided on the West of Ashley. Turned out to be a real gem! True, you are NOT waking up in downtown Charleston proper, however the very easy, short drive there is not worth the expense difference. The Comfort Suite is immaculate, someone is definately 'steering the ship'! Wonderful staff did everything they could to welcome & take care of our needs. This was while the hotel was fully booked every night we were there. Charlene treated us like family, a high point of the day was seeing her behind the front desk; where we'd exchange "Good Mornings". She managed that smile & pleasant attitude EVERY time & usually while checking someone in or out, answering the phones, and giving directions to town simultaneously! The rooms are recently updated & attractive, well appointed, & roomy. Our King bed was very, very comfortable. Climate control worked efficiently & quietly; we needed heat & A/C during the same stay. We were on the Rt. 17 side of the building & traffic was barely noticeable even during weekday "rush hour". Swimming pool is clean, well maintained, & surrounded by windows, giving it a well lit; outdoorsy feel. The included breakfast is better than most at this level of hotel. Eggs, fresh waffles made by you, yogurt, good coffee, tea, & juice choices, and several types of bread to toast. Breakfast cereals, danish, donuts, & other pastries round out the menu. It can be crowded in the main area where breakfast is served, but the hotel opens one of their conference rooms to accommodate the overflow. Not a problem. If I had to sum it all up in 2 words, I'd say: Staff & Cleanliness. Stay there & spend the $$$ you'll save on Shrimp & Grits ... you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveGK54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#37 of 62 in Charleston
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 62 in Charleston
1,174 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites West of the Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Property: Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Address: 2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-6287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#13 Family Hotel in Charleston
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites West of the Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites West of the Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites West Of The Ashley Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing