We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Ranked #33 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel room is very spacious & clean. The staff from the front desk, breakfast servers & housekeepers were very friendly. The area for the breakfast was a small, but the ladies who were keeping it stocked were very nice & friendly & did not get frustrated. There are many restaurants near the hotel which is very convenient & also the Citadel Mall is close by. We will be going back soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alvin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    258
    60
    20
    14
See reviews for
333
332
33
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Could be located closer but fair value for a comfortable stay. The room was well equipped and quiet. The reception was good and the breakfast was standard but well presented. Would stay again. Booked through Otel who were unresponsive to a follow up query, will deal with hotel direct in future.

Room Tip: rear room are quieter with sylvan outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mjpa38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is rather poorly located (not completely their fault) and even more poorly run/maintained. You cannot make a left turn (toward downtown) out of this hotel. You can only turn right, then make a U-turn to head the other direction. They also regularly run out of parking, forcing people to "invent" parking spots in the small parking lot. There is no overflow lot. The facility was clean and nothing in the room seemed to be broken or dirty - however, our room was directly above the pool and noise from the pool was very audible. This could be excused as we were A. granted a VERY early check-in (much appreciated) and B. the pool did not have late hours, so once it closed, the noise was at a minimum. The pool is really just an afterthought -- it looks like they "forgot" to put a pool in, emptied out one of the first floor rooms, and started digging a pool. The room (not the pool, the actual room itself) was not all that much bigger than our double queen + sofa room.

We requested a wake-up call (7am) the night before and we never received it. Good thing we set back-up alarms. VERY poor.

Otherwise, service and amenities were as expected. Nothing fancy, but perfectly respectable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for letting me know about the pool noise and parking. I am very sorry this occurred. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The room was spacious and well kept. The beds were comfortable with down comforter and they also had 2 different choices of pillows on the bed with a note explaining about them which I thought was unique.The shower head is a rain shower which is fabulous with a curved shower curtain. The breakfast was hot and well stocked. They had eggs, sausage and cereals, pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit. The ladies that took care of the breakfast were always polite and worked quickly. The only drawback is that it does get crowded and seating can be an issue. They can open the conference room if needed. The staff were great from housekeeping to front desk! They were very welcoming and conversational. It is convenient to food and downtown is about 15 minutes away. This is one of the best Comfort Suites I have stayed at and look forward to another trip!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room on upper floor and not on highway side for quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelers292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husand and I spent last night at this hotel. I had found it on trip advisor so I felt comfortable staying there. The hotel is clean, quiet (even though it was next to a busy highway) and breakfast was a pleasant surprise. I would highly recommend it. We had a room with a king size bed and a sofa which was very nice. The staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Arrived in room to find significant mold in shower. When I went to front desk to request another room due to mold, I was rudely told that she ( the front desk attendant) would need to look at it herself and also made me wait while she called another crew member to also look. After acknowledging the mold we all went back downstairs and I was the then given another room-with no apologies for the inconvenience. In addition, the new room that I was given had hair on the sheets when I pulled them back. It was very late, and I was was exhausted after a long trip and was too tired to go through the ordeal with the front desk that I had earlier. Disgusting rooms, even more disgusting service. WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taylor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for speaking with me the other day. Again I apologize for the treatment and the problems in your bathroom. This is a rare situation with the bathtub and hope that you will give us another chance to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have stayed at the Comfort Suites West of Ashley in the past. This is a very clean hotel which offers plenty. The staff are always pleasant and friendly. It's like home away from home. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 61 in Charleston
244 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites West of the Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Property: Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Address: 2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-6287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#13 Family Hotel in Charleston
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites West of the Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites West of the Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites West Of The Ashley Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing