We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value for Family on Budget” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Ranked #21 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrenceville
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Value for Family on Budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel for the price. We have a family of 5 and got one of the deluxe 1 BR suites. First, the room was huge. There were two queen beds and enough space in bedroom left to put a full air mattress for our little guy. The sofa bed was fine and better than the average sofa bed. The housekeeping staff was very attentive and even indulged our kids by setting up their dolls and blankets for them each morning. The room also had a decent mini fridge and microwave. The free breakfast was great and the woman who managed it did a great job on the hot food. There was an incident where someone left an unwanted souvenir (if you get my drift) in the pool. It was seen and they had people out that night who immediately scrubbed the entire pool area and everywhere else to get it back in order. They can only control how they respond, and I thought they responded very well. As for location, we were right by Citadel Mall which has a Target and just outside downtown Charleston. It seemed like it might be a long drive, but we got downtown very easily (even during rush hour times during the week). It was about ten minutes to get wherever. The only real annoyance is that it is located in a spot where you have to do some u-turns and drive around the block to get to the entrance to the parking lot because it is literally at the intersection of hwy 17 and I- 526. Overall, it was a great stay and as I mention, it was fantastic on our budget. We got a AAA rate and it couldn't be beat.

Room Tip: I really recommend the 1BR suites. For the price, you can't beat it. 1st floor can be loud, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikefulford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    248
    56
    17
    10
See reviews for
312
312
32
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kannapolis, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My Husband and I decided to travel to Charleston on a whim. We never really know which hotel to choose. After looking through several, we decided on this hotel because of its rating and the fact that my husband had traveled recently for work and stayed at a Comfort. We called the night before our arrival to book and ask a few questions. We were told the room we booked had a whirpool tub. The room we get to, did not. My husband went to the desk and she gave us keys to the last suite with a whirpool tub, no questions asked. We later found out the staff member who misinformed us about the tub in the room, was new. We thought that was great customer service and will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White House, Tennessee
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed our five night stay here. The staff was very attentive and professional. The room was well appointed and clean. Breakfast bar was well stocked and tasty. We recommend this Comfort Suite.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RKHardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for the great review. Your comments are greatly appreciated. Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I want to recommend this hotel for a few reasons. The room we had was beautiful and spacious and the beds were extremely comfortable. Also, the breakfast provided was ample and a decent variety and I was always full(love the coffee). One especially special part though, was the desk clerk, Charlene. She was wonderful at greeting and helping people and just made us feel so at home. We never saw her without a smile and happy words for anyone-love her. Our long weekend was very nice there.

Room Tip: There is a video that shows the various rooms for you to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Loved our stay here. We came for a romantic getaway and it was perfect.The rooms were modern, the bathrooms spacious. We were 15 minutes or less away from everything. The breakfast was standard. But it did the job.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabrielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Fun getaway with the kids, I would stay here again. The only complaint I had was that housekeeping knocked on the door as we were preparing to leave for a day out (11am). We asked her if she could come back in 15 mins, since we were dressing. When we came back that evening, the room had never been cleaned. Even though housekeeping was gone for the day, someone in management resolved it by cleaning the room and leaving clean towels. Also, the pool was closed for maintenance while we were there, but noticed it was open the morning we checked out.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r28eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
char)
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is convenient to historic Charleston and the beaches. When leaving the hotel you must go south on Hwy 17 (Savannah Hwy) then turn around if you want to go north, so that is confusing until you figure it out. But the hotel is very clean and the beds are comfortable. The bed linens feel to be a very good quality. The service is professional and friendly. The lobby is attractive and has fresh baked cookies every afternoon. The pool is inside with some outside seating and the exercise room is well equipped. The only less than 5 rating are the walls are somewhat thin and there is some noise from the next room, also some highway noise and our pillows were small and not very comfortable. But overall, I highly recommend, my husband and I stayed for 4 days and were very pleased with the location, the quality, the service and the rate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#26 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn Charleston
#37 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites West of the Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Property: Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Address: 2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-6287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#13 Family Hotel in Charleston
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites West of the Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Suites West of the Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites West Of The Ashley Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing