We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but our room lacked a full kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Ranked #34 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was a good value considering our other options in Charleston. For allergy reasons, however, we needed a full kitchen and through a booking glitch we didn't get one so it was rather cramped in a rather small regular hotel room. It was clean, the staff at the desk cordial but not overly friendly. The location was good for us - not too far from downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 10monthspreggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (901)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 901 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Clean hotel, polite, attentive staff and great beds. Breakfast was continental style, tasty and with plenty of hot food. Manager took the time to ask our opinion of our stay and rarely does management exhibit this much concern. Highly recommend and will return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lap7900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

the room was clean and spacious, bed comfortable. Good breakfast. A bit noisy due to proximity to interstate. I enjoyed breakfast, always nice to drink a cup of hot tea before heading out. Nice enough place to stay but traffic was really bad on Friday afternoon on the way back to the hotel from the beach. We went to the beach on Sullivan's island and it took us about one hour to get there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sylvieFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

we stay here about 1 to 2 times year. we stay at this one because its on the outskirts of charleston, and 5 mins from citidel mall imax movies. also we stay here because it is only 12 mins from folly beach. Hint folly beach is far less crowded than isle of palm.

our day would be tour charleston, come back to hotel change into beach clothes go to folly beach, come back change go to the movies. ending the night with a swim in the indoor pool.
Or it would be hop on 526 tour north charleston or tea farm, come back to hotel go to folly beach, back to the room, go do some night life stuff in charleston. The hotel was just central located.

also there is a cvs pharm next door that stays open 24, and food places within walking distance.

The hotel has a indoor pool that is open to 11pm, free breakfast, and central located. the rooms have a frig, bathtub, microwave so you can heat up some late night food. also a couch and coffee table. house keeping is very nice and courtesy also, if you want to know good places to eat that are not tourist traps ask them. Oh also the king size bed is sooo comfortable, and you never run out of hot water.

now drive to downtown which is about 12 to 15 mins away. your gonna pay $300 plus a night, no breakfast, no indoor pool, and some of the downtown hotels charge you for parking each night. Not to mention some of those hotels downtown don't come with a frig or a microwave.

like i said its a hidden jewel. My tip would be get back to the hotel before 11pm, because the parking lot fills up very quick.

Room Tip: get back to the hotel before 11pm because the parking lot fills up quick, but they will let you park...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JC704NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had planned a weekend getaway and found this hotel. It was was very easy to find and in a convineant spot. The lady working the desk was friendly and polite. She checked us in what seemed record time. We had a King suite on the fifth floor. The room was clean and it didn't have any weird odors from cleaners. The room is far enough away from the elevator so never heard it. The bed was perfect it slept wonderful. The maid was there early Sunday morning but she was nice as we asked her to come back. We did not have the breakfast so we cannot comment on the quality and service. All in all we had a wonderful getaway except for the rain. We will keep this place in mind for urure weekend getaways.

Room Tip: Room 525 is very quiet and cozy.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very pleased with our recent stay at this hotel. Our room looked just like the picture on the website. Very clean. Comfortable bed. Friendly housekeeping ladies. Hotel situated at a strange intersection but once you get it figured out-no biggie. Still better than staying right downtown and paying triple the price. Join the "Choice Privileges" club to get an even better deal. Complimentary breakfast available from 6:30-9:30. Plenty of time for all guests to have time to eat, additional seating available, hotel staff near by for assistance, nice variety of food available. (cereals, boiled eggs, bagels, toast, muffins, waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, bananas, apples, oranges, yogurt, OJ, milk, etc) 2 small complaints; the hotel could use a little more parking and the internet connection was a little slow. Maybe b/c our room was at the end of the hall?? Hotel not necessarily in a fancy part of town but not nasty, either. About 20 minutes from downtown Charleston as well as 20 minutes or so from Folly Beach. Traffic nuts during rush hour. Plan your driving around those times. Also, if headed downtown, take plenty of money for parking. Parking garage prices = $1.00 per half hour.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank LISADOESTAXES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This location was perfect for quick and easy access to any of the downtown areas. It sits right on Route 17 and runs directly to downtown, beaches and anything else you might want to do in Charleston. We had a suite with a kitchen which was very nice for our stay. All of the staff was pleasant and accommodating. There are many places to eat and mall right down the street.

Room Tip: Our room was right next to the elevator shaft which made it slightly noisy during the night. It was...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#38 of 61 in Charleston
250 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites West of the Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Address: 2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-6287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#13 Family Hotel in Charleston
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £79 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites West of the Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Suites West of the Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites West Of The Ashley Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing