We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Korean Food”
Review of Mama Kim's

Mama Kim's
Ranked #255 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Norristown, PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Korean Food”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

While walking on King Street we came across Mama Kim's and decided to drop in. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a good variety of both Korean and Japanese food. Serving portions were large. Try the Beef Bulgogi or one of the Express bowls. Very good value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank louvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    20
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Korean food for a change of pace”
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

Try the dinner for two--big meal-/chicken, beef, and spicy pork. It is an awesome platter, my wife eating Korean for the first time, loved it. And "Kimchi" is on the health food list for one of the top ten best foods for you. Great place, Mama Kim is a beautiful person. George and Suzanne Dillman from Penna

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeNSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent food but expensive!”
Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

The food here is decent and the workers are very nice. However, the food prices are high and the quantity that you get is small. They used to have better prices and better proportions of food. Overrated!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,004 reviews
766 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
“Mama's.... #1 Korean Restaurant in C-town”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Read about Mama Kim's in Charleston City Paper (She was featured on the cover of a November 2012 issue). Intrigued we canceled out dinner reservation at a more upscale and expensive downtown restaurant to take a chance at this Korean establishment (I have missed my regular Korean binges since I left Hinesville, GA (which boasts at least three places)).

Well, was a bit dismayed when I realized upon entering that you had to place your order at the kitchen (no sit-down waitstaff to take your order here). However, it actually made things go faster.... the folks at the kitchen window were pleasant and helpful with the menu. Ordering took only a second or two and my wife and I made our way to the rear of the restaurant which offered more comfortable seating. We helped ourselves to the ''sauce table'' which had help-your-self containers of the ''mayo-based" yellow Komezu sauce, a ginger sauce, some Teriyaki sauces and some hotter than bejesus red sauces too.

Korean spicy beef bul-go-gee and Galbi (Kal-Bi) short ribs, and eight types of kimchi were brought to the table. Liked the variety of Kimchi offered. The Korean short ribs were excellent and full of meat (have had others that have been trimmed down to almost nothing at other establishments).

Have to give Ol' Mama a two thumbs up and a Saleeby Score of 8.5/10 for this type of establishment. So better than just Very Good but not quite Excellent on the TA score.

Bill came to just over $40 for two folks but we did order two of the more expensive entrees offered. You can eat for much less. We did walk away after stuffing ourselves with a to-go clamshell that afforded another small meal. So we did get our money's worth.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPSaleebyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food Was Just OK”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We love Korean food, but this was just fair. The pork bulgogie was ok, but a bit dry. At least it was tender. The Stone Bowl was tasteless as were most of the Korean salads (Banchon). I was very disappointed and the meal was farily expensive for what we got. Mama Kim was very nice and friendy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sallie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama Kim's also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Mama Kim's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing