We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”

Amen Street Fish & Raw Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Amen Street Fish & Raw Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Cumblerland
Transit: Public Transit (bus) stop is located directly in front of the restaurant.
Description: Amen Street Fish & Raw Bar opened in 2009, reviving the former Amen name of Cumberland Street and restoring this historic corner. The new renovation stays true to the beauty of the original 1800's architecture while creating a comfortable atmosphere for contemporary life. Located at 205 East Bay Street in the heart of the historic district this Charleston seafood restaurant offers both indoor and outdoor dining all within walking distance of the local Market and the Charleston Harbor. The menu includes a variety of seafood dishes such as oysters, clams and shrimp in addition to an ever growing raw bar menu. Amen Street supports Charleston's local fishing industry with market fresh fish. We are open for lunch and dinner. Walk-ins are welcome and reservations are accepted as well.
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Tried several appetisers and all were great. Calamerie was tender and delicious. Would return in a heart beat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor J, General Manager at Amen Street Fish & Raw Bar, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are very proud of Amen Street and look forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,139
    627
    209
    48
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Missed the mark”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We sat at the bar on a Wednesday night. The bartender was standoffish. We ordered two glasses of champagne,Veuve Clicquot, which was served barely chilled. We ordered a sampler raw plate. The bartender came back and asked us three times what we ordered-the plate was unremarkable wt rather plain vinegar,horseradish,and cocktail. Save your money or go to one of the many other restaurant's in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank not2wheezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylor J, General Manager at Amen Street Fish & Raw Bar, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for visiting Amen Street and telling us about your recent experience. We are very sorry that your overall visit did not meet our standards as we do our best to make sure each customer has a great overall experience. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again at Amen Street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
130 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“All Good ”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased with the quality, service, value and ambiance. Crab cakes, steak, shrimp and trigger fish were outstanding. Service was excellent. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank JHHboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
374 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great She crab Soup”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We went there for lunch and had a great meal, great service. This was some of the best she crab soup that I have ever had. I had the hot shrimp and crab sandwich which was pretty good. I think the other shining star was the calamari. I have not seen it prepared this way before and man was it great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelerkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food, good atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Our food was really tasty and very fresh. The hot food was nice and hot, unfortunately something of a rarity these days. The she-crab soup was truly delicious. The roasted beet salad was delicious as was the hot shrimp and crab sandwich, which was a generous helping. It was hot and so were the fries - crispy and light too! Adriana was our very pleasant and helpful server.We found the place by accident as we walked not far from our hotel!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3rdrocktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amen Street Fish & Raw Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Amen Street Fish & Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing