We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel.”
Review of The Restoration

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Restoration
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel.”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Great place to stay in Charleston. It's unique and a welcomed change from the average hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    863
    85
    26
    10
    3
See reviews for
214
531
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed five nights and absolutely enjoyed every minute. The rooms are very clean, the staff is very friendly and the service is excellent. My wife has a gluten allergy and the manager provided a menue of gluten free items each morning for breakfast-the gluten free blueberry muffins were the best. Breakfast is served to your room each morning in a basket, with hot coffee and tea if requested. The staff provided beach chairs and towels for a day at the beach and bicycles for a ride around the town-no extra charge. Wifi is also available in the room for those with a laptop or ipad, which we used without issue.

We will definitely stay at Restoration on King again when our travels take us back to Charleston.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loudoun1765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

The hotel was wonderful! Things I loved: the staff amazing and so helpful with whatever we needed, the washer and dryer (great), great central location, loved the bikes they we could check out! I cruised all over and loved it! Great restaurant recommendations, Wonderful complimentary breakfast! Would recommend highly! Oh and I almost forgot- they work with two gyms right nearby that are wonderful they even have classes that I took. The most amazing part was the hotel wrote us passes to go at no charge!! unheard of! Again the service was fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttj1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2011

This hotel is amazing. The people who work there are even better. They are all about service. The location is perfect for anyone wanting to be in downtown Charleston area. It's walking distance to the battery, all the restaurants, and night life. The perfect location, the perfect customer service...all around perfect hotel. Howard, the GM, will do everything he can to make sure it's the best visit. Cannot wait for the next trip to Charleston to return to RoK!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Traveled to Charleston for a tennis tournament. Couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Absolutely beautiful! Was like having a brand new apartment right in the heart of downtown. Close to shopping and restaurants. Would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennismom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snellville, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

What a great place to stay in a great city. The facility and the amenities were without a doubt superb. This is not a hotel, rather your own private condo in the heart of Charleston. Perfect for that romatic weekend or intimate family gathering. We will be back.

Room Tip: No need for tips, every room is a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walters1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natsfandc
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

This is a beautiful property with nice appointments. However, this in no way compensates for poor sound buffering in the rooms.

We were on the second floor and as soon as we walked in the room heard the base music from the shops below. This music continued until about 8 pm and restarted the next morning at 9:30.

The people in the room above us came home at 11 PM and were up walking around on the hardwood floors until 2 am. So I agree with the other posters that the hardwood floors are beautiful but do little to muffle the sounds.

Breakfast was average. Nothing special to report-- and the staff forgot a few things in our order.

Finally, the staff seemed unconcerned when we raised the noise issues. Only after I pushed did they agree to move us to another room (we ultimately cut our losses after one night and checked out).

Would recommend French Quarter Inn as nice/quiet alternative with friendly staff.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Natsfandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLetts, General Manager at The Restoration, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at The Restoration on King. I am saddened to read some of your comments and wish this had been brought to our attention so that we could have further addressed it to your satisfaction. The Staff and Management of the Restoration on King take Great Pride in serving our guests and the quality of our accommodations and all of our amenities.

I would like to apologize for any exterior noise which may have affected your stay. The Restoration on King is Charleston’s Newest Luxury Boutique Hotel and was originally designed to be sold as Luxury Downtown Condominiums. During our first year we have developed good relations with all of our neighbors and continue to work with them to insure nothing less than 100% satisfaction for all of our guests. I am also very proud that with the help of our interior designer who was so instrumental in design the interiors of the entire hotel; we have installed the first phase of runners being added in our guest suites scheduled to be complete by mid September.

The staff at The Restoration on King works diligently to serve all of our guests and to exceed their every expectation. It is with the feedback from our guests that we have added two new bicycles, two IPads and are presently testing new Apple TV’s all of which are complementary to our guests. Again, I would like to extend my sincerest apologies and wish that your concerns had been brought to my attention so that we could have addressed these items as they arouse in order to insure your 100% satisfaction. I hope you will give us another chance when you next return to Charleston so that we can regain your trust and confidence in The Restoration on King.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,795 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,094 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,995 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
415 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restoration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration

Property: The Restoration
Address: 75 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Opened & Re-Created The Restoration welcomes you to be our guest at our newly expanded location on Charleston's iconic King Street. From food and drinks to culture and boutique shopping, we have recreated history for your enjoyment. Come get inspired and experience what the New South is all about firsthand. See below for more details. A world class hotel isn't just a place to get a good night's rest (or a refreshing afternoon tipple,) it's a meeting ground, a place where unexpected elements come together to delight, inspire and entertain. Uniting classic elegance with a natural and easy going Southern touch, The Restoration translates its hometown's vibrant local history and culture into a casually chic, luxurious hospitality experience. It's relaxed and refined and just a little bit left of center-a world where high meets low meets Low Country. The Restoration is all about community. From locals to international travelers, we provide an immersive, beautifully designed environment for guests to connect and relax. It is this civic-minded, progressive mindset that powers the Restoration brand- from our jewel box inspired spa and farm to table restaurant, to the motorcycles we custom design for guests to ride away on. This is classic Southern Hospitality, modernized with a few twists and expanded to meet and exceed the highest standards of today's luxury traveler. We welcome you to experience The Restoration first hand to see what the New South is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Restoration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing