We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this funky hotel!”
Review of The Restoration

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Restoration
Ranked #7 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved this funky hotel!”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We had a fabulous getaway weekend at this hotel to celebrate our 12th anniversary. The rooms were very urban/trendy with exposed brick, stainless appliances in the full kitchen, and the homey touches--almost like you own your own weekend condo. The bed was super comfy, and the kitchen/bar area was perfect for the picnic basket breakfasts they brought each morning (cheese danish was dangerously yummy but HUGE; yogurt parfaits equally as good but less naughty). We also loved the sectional couch in the living room area-- ideal for reading as both my husband and I were racing through the Hunger Games series and finally had time, without kids, to just enjoy the silence and read with a cup of coffee--ultimate relaxation!

The wine and cheese in the early evening was a thoughtful touch, as were the cookies and milk later in the evening. When we mentioned upon going out that we would be missing milk and cookies, the staff offered to take some up to the room for us for when we returned.

Staff recommended Leaf, around the corner, for lunch one day and it was just great. Also had a fabulous dinner at S.N.O.B. Staff also took the time to help us map out a run saturday a.m. and identified areas in town with concentrations of art galleries.

If this is the newest trend in B&B's, count me in. Restoration on King is hip, tasteful, helpful, and met every need my husband and I had. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    87
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
215
544
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scituate MA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

After a little difficulty finding this hotel, the outside sign is very small, we were very pleased to be there. From the outside, the hotel doesn't look like much, but once inside, it is beautiful. The rooms are amazing, huge, well designed. The full kitchen is well stocked, stainless steel appliances, everything you could possibly need. The separate bedroom is cozy and comfortable The staff was friendly and helpful. I loved every minute we were there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DesiScituateMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marshall, michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

My wife and I couldn't be more impressed...beautiful rooms, great staff, wonderful location and all the amenities of a luxury condo. Restoration on King simply is one of the best hotels we've stayed at in the U.S.
....I could go on and on but here's a little story about the staff...we stayed for 5 days and when we left we traveled on to Asheville, N.C. and from there to Cincinnati,Ohio....and finally home to Michigan. We we got home I realized that I left a favorite shirt at Restoration on King. I called them and within 3 days the shirt and two other articles of clothing I left appeared at my door. No charge!!! Fantastic place...loved every minute we stayed there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tyronepowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

All the pictures online are exactly what you get however as previously mentioned the walls are paper thin ... Like it is ridiculous ... The hotel is super luxerious but when you hear ever word of the conversation of the person on the floor above you this is problematic ... Especially given the price. Needless to say not a good nights sleep. Our room lacked a full length mirror which was a bit annoying.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank girlwithcurlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I loved this place. Went for a girls' weekend. It was very clean, had a great location, and was gorgeously decorated. It was SO nice to have 2 bedrooms and 2 baths for the 3 of us. We loved lounging in the den, just talking and catching up and having the space to do so was wonderful. Great idea for a hotel to have apartment-like spaces. The concierge was great, free Wifi, comfy beds, and free breakfast every morning. I deducted one star because the one drawback is that soundproofing is horrible. We could hear people, talking, phones ringing, people walking, etc. Normally this would bother me greatly, but I just discovered a white noise app that is a life-saver when traveling, so it didn't really affect me. But they definitely need to do something to improve upon this- at times it sounded like people were IN the apartment with us, it was so loud. Other than that, a completely wonderful stay and if I return to Charleston again, I will be staying here- with my white noise app!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbuie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Simply put - we loved this place! It easy to miss from the street but when you find it, it's a little gem. The rooms (apartments) are big, the hallways inside the room are long, the kitchen is top of the line, the linens are comfy and the bathrooms are modern. It has a loft feel, exposed brick and silver duct work -- all very cool. The staff is friendly. They don't have room service but bring a complimentary breakfast in the cutest big basket each morning. In the evening they have wine and cheese and at night offer cookies and milk. Just nice touches to make you feel welcome. The only negative was the carpeting in the bedroom was badly stained and needs to be replaced! Big thank you to Virgina and Giovanna for all your help and attention. We'll definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Came4theweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siler city, nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

My husband and I went for a long weekend with our 2 year old toddler. We were concerned about taking a small child to such a fancy hotel, but we shouldn't have worried. The staff was great and very accomodating to us. The rooms are very large and have a kitchen (which is why we booked here due to taking our child with us.) The location is perfect. We walked everywhere. I cannot say enough how the staff went out of their way to help us with anything we needed. One night we were simply exhausted (I was pregnant with our second child) and they offered to go pick up our dinner anywhere we wanted. We loved the basket of food in the morning they delivered. It was wonderful to choose what we wanted and then have it delivered to eat at our leisure.

My husband and I are planning on going back and staying there again for our anniversary. You will not be disappointed in this hotel nor the staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bloome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,823 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,134 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 62 in Charleston
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 62 in Charleston
2,015 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#9 of 62 in Charleston
438 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restoration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration

Property: The Restoration
Address: 75 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Opened & Re-Created The Restoration welcomes you to be our guest at our newly expanded location on Charleston's iconic King Street. From food and drinks to culture and boutique shopping, we have recreated history for your enjoyment. Come get inspired and experience what the New South is all about firsthand. See below for more details. A world class hotel isn't just a place to get a good night's rest (or a refreshing afternoon tipple,) it's a meeting ground, a place where unexpected elements come together to delight, inspire and entertain. Uniting classic elegance with a natural and easy going Southern touch, The Restoration translates its hometown's vibrant local history and culture into a casually chic, luxurious hospitality experience. It's relaxed and refined and just a little bit left of center-a world where high meets low meets Low Country. The Restoration is all about community. From locals to international travelers, we provide an immersive, beautifully designed environment for guests to connect and relax. It is this civic-minded, progressive mindset that powers the Restoration brand- from our jewel box inspired spa and farm to table restaurant, to the motorcycles we custom design for guests to ride away on. This is classic Southern Hospitality, modernized with a few twists and expanded to meet and exceed the highest standards of today's luxury traveler. We welcome you to experience The Restoration first hand to see what the New South is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Restoration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing