We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and hidden gem”
Review of The Restoration

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Restoration
Ranked #10 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel had the most amazing, friendly, and helpful staff. I stayed the night before my wedding so the bridal party would have a place big enough to get ready in. The room was plenty big, and it was a beautiful spot for pictures. The staff was amazingly accommodating..extension cords, scissors, champagne glasses and other items were brought up as needed and they seemed happy to do it. We also had catering so the full kitchen was perfect for coffee, mimosas and snacks.
They even helped my sister with decorating the room the night of the wedding. They lit candles and put out champagne for the groom and I.
They also have complimentary breakfast that is delivered in a picnic basket each morning. The wine and cheese hours were also an added bonus. The price of the room is comparable to suites in other hotels downtown, but you get way more for your money at this hotel. I had an amazing stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheridennm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

760 - 766 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

I have had the luxury of staying here a couple times and this hotel is top notch. The service is beyond words. The rooms are amazing and the breakfast basket is awesome. I even asked for more than a couple milks and juices for my 3 year old daughter and it wasn't a problem. We hardly have lunch because of the amount of food we get in the basket. Oh and the wine and cheese reception every night! and not to mention the milk and cookies every night also! Our daughter loved that! I really can't say enough about this "home away from home" when we are in Charleston. Howard, Sally, and Nathan are 3 of the reasons the establishment is as great as it is.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed at restoration on king during 2012 Christmas Holiday and fell in love with it ...Guess what my partner decides to get married in Charelston,June 2013 ...
Call book they are full and place name on waiting list and guess what call back we can accomodate you .
The only request was with a balcony...Arrive and wife is blown away as great room and balcony.
We meet the GM again howard and he says welcome back ...Customer service is second to known and Darren the concerige is first class beyone belief.
Looking forward not only to our next RESTORATION but more important one of the best boutique hotlels in the US....

K&T SCOTLAND

Room Tip: room 301 has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNAIRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is the perfect hotel if you want to feel like you actually live in the city. It is in the heart of the historic district in the middle of all the restaurants, bars, shops and historic homes.
Everything about this hotel is first class. The linens are delightful and the bed very comfortable. They even provide a top of the line sound machine by the bed. The decor is both stylish and comfortable. The staff will set up an Apple TV or provide you with an iPad for use during your stay. Bottled water and sodas are included in your refrigerator and they have wine and cheese as well as milk and cookies in the evening. I would highly recommend this lovely hotel for a great Charleston experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parksRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I took my wife to Charleston for her Birthday and after reading several reviews on Trip Advisor decided to stay at the "Restoration on King". I feel that my title says it all. What a great place. From the time we walked into the lobby to the time we departed it was a very pleasurable experience. The entire staff was extremely helpful in giving us recommendations for dining and sightseeing and they were eager to assist in anyway possible to take the burden off of us. The property is small and quaint, and that's a good thing. There is not a lot of hustle & bustle there. Our three days were very quiet, peaceful, and relaxing. It is in a wonderful location and centrally located in the historic district. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Our room was outstanding. We loved the exposed brick wall and wood floors (some complained that they were creaky--hey, that's part of the charm). The bedding was very comfortable, the kitchen and living areas were perfect. We never heard any annoying sounds during the night and definitely did not find the walls to be paper thin. Our room as well as the rest of the property was spotless. The delivered continental breakfast was perfect and a very nice touch. It comes in a large basket and you have the option of accepting it or having it left by the front door. The wine & cheese in the afternoon was delightful and it is a good opportunity to sit and talk with the hotel staff on duty. There is also cookies and milk later on in the evening. We cannot say enough good things about the ROK. We sincerely appreciate all of the efforts by it's staff and without a doubt, will stay there in our future visits to Charleston.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayner305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here for the Memorial Day holiday and this boutique hotel is terrific! Staff is super friendly and we can't thank them enough for their wonderful hospitality. We got the two bedroom suite and it was perfect for a couples weekend away. The common area is perfect for a lazy morning hangout as well as after a full day out and about in the city. I would definitely recommend this hotel and we will stay here again next time we are back to Charleston. Love this hotel!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSwallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My highest recommendation mainly due to the manager Howard Letts....he gets it.

We were staying at another recommended hotel that was terrible and while exploring the city on foot we stumbled upon this place.

Room, staff, cleanliness and attentiveness are first rate.

Note: The view from room 301 does look upon some power wires but one only has to embrace that for its chic.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,989 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,310 reviews
Zero George Street
#3 of 62 in Charleston
515 reviews
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restoration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration

Address: 75 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#3 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £200 - £520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Opened & Re-Created The Restoration welcomes you to be our guest at our newly expanded location on Charleston's iconic King Street. From food and drinks to culture and boutique shopping, we have recreated history for your enjoyment. Come get inspired and experience what the New South is all about firsthand. See below for more details. A world class hotel isn't just a place to get a good night's rest (or a refreshing afternoon tipple,) it's a meeting ground, a place where unexpected elements come together to delight, inspire and entertain. Uniting classic elegance with a natural and easy going Southern touch, The Restoration translates its hometown's vibrant local history and culture into a casually chic, luxurious hospitality experience. It's relaxed and refined and just a little bit left of center-a world where high meets low meets Low Country. The Restoration is all about community. From locals to international travelers, we provide an immersive, beautifully designed environment for guests to connect and relax. It is this civic-minded, progressive mindset that powers the Restoration brand- from our jewel box inspired spa and farm to table restaurant, to the motorcycles we custom design for guests to ride away on. This is classic Southern Hospitality, modernized with a few twists and expanded to meet and exceed the highest standards of today's luxury traveler. We welcome you to experience The Restoration first hand to see what the New South is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Restoration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing