We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of The Restoration

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Restoration
Ranked #10 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Have stayed at Restoration several times and. The property is immaculate and very comfortable. Rooms are apartment style and have more than enough room. Staff is friendly and helpful. Location is in the heart of downtown and convenient to College of Charleston.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank CAH20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Have stayed here many times over the past 4 years . I always love staying at the Restoration! I feel like I have my own apartment in downtown Charleston. The space is wonderful- all completely restored and so comfortable. The staff is always attentive to any needs. The rooftop is wonderful to have a cocktail and a view of the city before or after dinner. Close to so many wonderful sights and restaurants. You can walk everywhere or take a pedicab. I never even bother renting a car, although they do have valet parking. They also have complimentary bikes, cocktails, appetizers etc!

Every room has a full kitchen, living room and is equipped with a washer and dryer. The apartments are big enough that you can even pick up food from a favorite spot and eat there if you want. It really feels like a home more than a hotel!

Room Tip: Every room is wonderful because it is really like an apartment. Full kitchen, bedroom and living ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Donna537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I love this hotel, we have stayed here about six times. Our son is a student at College of Charleston and we visit Charleston a few times a year. The rooms are always clean and are very stylish. One of the best things about the rooms is that they are large enough to entertain a small group and are very well stocked with nice glassware and anything else you may need. The staff is extremely gracious, attentive and always make us feel welcome. The location of the Hotel is totally ideal. You can easily walk anywhere in Charleston from here. The College is just a couple blocks away. The Restoration also has a couple bikes that they loan guests for free. Charleston is very flat and riding around the Battery is a wonderful experience. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for a convenient, upscale, southern experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are decorated in a similar way, the rooms facing King Street are great for people watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank beckywLagunaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I've stayed here several times. The last time prior to this was over 2 years ago. I was surprised to see that the property was sill just as clean and fresh as it was the first time I stayed, I had expected it to be a little worn as most hotels are after a couple years. The employees are very helpful and friendly. The breakfast is even better
than before. It is always thr first hotel I try to book when staying in Charleston, but often I'm disappointed because it is sold out.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bvm1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I travel quite a bit in a year: Singapore, Hong Kong, Bucharest, London, Istanbul, Dublin, Zurich, Melbourne, Sydney, Prague, Perth and on and on,,,,, but at the top of my list is Charleston, S.C. and on the top of that List of places to stay there is: The Restoration on King. Wow. Do I feel at home, but better when I'm there. A flat, an apartment, a great big open space to dream in as I relax and ponder my next move. Restoration sits atop the mountain as one of the finest places to stay anywhere in the world. And while I encourage you to get out and enjoy Charleston, which is more than amazing....but a divine source of intrigue and imagination.... you will long to get back to Restoration just to enjoy its cool and relaxing ambiance. Nothing better and I've tried everything over the years... THIS IS THE BEST place to stay. PERIOD.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roberta d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Restoration on King last week while in Charleston for my wedding. Everything about this hotel is fantastic... the location, the staff, the rooms, the decor... everything!! I seriously wanted to move in! I booked our rooms months and months ago and called the hotel on a regular basis to ask questions and they were always so accommodating and pleasant, I even called to request a room with good natural lighting for my bridal make up (crazy bride, I know!) and they made a note of it and made sure my room had plenty of windows. Between my guests and myself we had 3 separate rooms (202, 205, 207) and they were all beautiful! two of the rooms were 1 bedrooms, and the third was a 2 bedroom. Each room had different features but all were amazing! The 2 bedroom was ideal for larger groups, it is where I got ready for my wedding at and we had plenty of room with the photographers, videographers, make up artist and family all in the same space. The staff was so helpful with making arrangements, they even had a bottle of Champagne waiting for us when we arrived and gladly delivered our welcome bags to our guests rooms. I can not wait to come back to Charleston and stay at the Restoration on King again, it is truly a one of a kind. I could go on and on about how great this hotel is, if you go to Charleston and don't stay at the restoration on king you are doing yourself a disservice.

Room Tip: take your glass of wine from the wine and cheese reception up to the rooftop! being surround by all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Arrived in stunning Chaleston looki forward to some southern hospitality and were not disappointed. Although not looking good from outside, the hotel was a revelation, converted from threefold homes dating back to pre civil war into 16 suites. Our room 208, was wonderful. A big suite of rooms in aloft style conversion. Great high ceilings and spacious lounge/diner/kitchen with top quality equipment and furnishings. The king bed was really comfortable and the shower great although the bathroom not large. The breakfast was a picnic basket of fruit, eggs, cereal, pastries and drinks. The staff were really welcoming and the general manager made an appearance at the complimentary daily wine and cheese at 5pm. He was really pleased to give us the history of the building. There is no parking but valeted parking provided. A special hotel experience in a very special city.

Room Tip: Can only say 208 was great, early risers so the light traffic from 6.30 didn't bother us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandCBridgend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
3,030 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zero George Street
#3 of 62 in Charleston
521 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,337 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 62 in Charleston
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restoration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration

Address: 75 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#3 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £201 - £543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Opened & Re-Created The Restoration welcomes you to be our guest at our newly expanded location on Charleston's iconic King Street. From food and drinks to culture and boutique shopping, we have recreated history for your enjoyment. Come get inspired and experience what the New South is all about firsthand. See below for more details. A world class hotel isn't just a place to get a good night's rest (or a refreshing afternoon tipple,) it's a meeting ground, a place where unexpected elements come together to delight, inspire and entertain. Uniting classic elegance with a natural and easy going Southern touch, The Restoration translates its hometown's vibrant local history and culture into a casually chic, luxurious hospitality experience. It's relaxed and refined and just a little bit left of center-a world where high meets low meets Low Country. The Restoration is all about community. From locals to international travelers, we provide an immersive, beautifully designed environment for guests to connect and relax. It is this civic-minded, progressive mindset that powers the Restoration brand- from our jewel box inspired spa and farm to table restaurant, to the motorcycles we custom design for guests to ride away on. This is classic Southern Hospitality, modernized with a few twists and expanded to meet and exceed the highest standards of today's luxury traveler. We welcome you to experience The Restoration first hand to see what the New South is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Restoration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing