We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Restoration
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We just got back from our third trip to Charleston. Gosh, I love that city.

We stayed with my parents in a 2-bedroom suite at Restoration on King. Of all the places we've stayed in Charleston, this was easily our favorite.

The hotel is in a great location, as many have said. You are literally RIGHT on King St., the higher-end commercial center of the city. We were never more than a 10-15 minute walk away from any of the places we visited or ate at. The location also feels very safe.

Even though you are in the middle of it all, RoK feels very private and exclusive. It is a small boutique hotel, and we really enjoyed feeling like we had the place to ourselves. We only ever saw other guests a few times.

As for the decor, the rooms are beautifully furnished. They are modern but comfortable, new but charming. You really feel like you are staying in someone's personal condo and not in a hotel. The kitchen had everything you could possibly need, the beds were extremely comfortable, and the bathrooms are modern and clean.

The amenities the hotel offers really are what puts it a league above the rest, though. First, there are multiple snacks offered to guests throughout the day: coffee in the morning, wine and cheese in the early evening, and warm cookies and milk at night. Our favorite thing, though, was that they delivered breakfast in a picnic basket each morning. The menu for breakfast offers a good bit of variety, the quality is just fine, and they bring it right to your room at whatever time you specify. It was so nice to sit around the living room in the morning, drinking coffee and eating our pastries.

There's also an iPhone app, iPads for guests to use, umbrellas available, etc. It's obvious that the hotel has the guests' happiness and comfort in mind, and it was nice to be pampered.

Our only complaint was that the walls are pretty thin. We stayed in a suite on the 2nd floor, and we could hear loud walking/cleaning early each morning. Also, we could easily make out every word on our neighbor's TV.

That said, without hesitation, we would stay at RoK again. It's a special hotel in a very special city, and we much enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emiliewasmyeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

My college roommates and I stayed in 2 of the 2 bedroom suites and we loved it. Our suites were like very well-appointed condos and ROK offers lots of amenities, which is appropriate because the rooms are pricey. They do wine and cheese in the afternoon and cookies in the evening. They deliver a free breakfast to your room which was delicious and bountiful. The staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. I would highly recommend ROK. You can walk to everything from here.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank JMargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This hotel is amazing. I loved the rooms with the exposed brick and the amazing decor. The beds were so comfortable and the sound machines in every bedroom was relaxing ! The staff was fantastic. We enjoyed the wine and cheese hour daily. They have a great rooftop to enjoy your wine and appetizers. You can walk everywhere! They have a great breakfast spread that is delivered in a wicker basket and left at your door. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigesh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed in Charleston at the Restoration on King (ROK) for three nights. The attention to detail was evident everywhere from the minute we got there to our departure. Our apartment was large and very comfortable. We enjoyed wonderful breakfasts each morning, wine and cheese each afternoon,fresh baked cookies in the evening and a wonderful night sleep. The staff was welcoming and very helpful with all our request, helping us select great resturants and plan our activities. They also shipped a package for us that we could not take back on the plane.The location is great. We could not have ask for a more perfect trip.

Room Tip: Our room faced Wentworth Street and was very quiet. Ceiling to floor windows admitted lots of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I spent last week here for our yearly getaway and so glad we picked this hotel. This is such a unique place to stay -each room is actually an extremely large loft-like apartment with living room, full kitchen, bed and bath. If you want to get away from the standard hotel room, pick this place. The exposed brick walls with modern, but comfy furniture was just the atmosphere we were looking for. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the linens were very high quality. They offer a pillow menu, but we didn't use it as what was on the bed suited our tastes. Little perks like the breakfast picnic basket (scones and muffins could have been better - perhaps get them from Wildflour?? - a gem of a little spot down the way we discovered) or if Sugar (an amazing cupcake shop down the road we came across made scones or muffins - I would get them from there!). Anyhow, the bagels and smoke salmon that were in the basket were amazing and the coffee is great quality and it appears and smells to be freshly ground. The hotel offers a nightly wine and cheese reception in the lobby every night - please don't miss it! The smoked gouda cheese and the prosciutto paired with the wine is a great app before heading out on the town. Not to mention the company of the staff and the general manager who are very welcoming and are there nightly, which add to the camaraderie of the visitors. Another great perk -late in the evening, they put out cookies and biscotti - now, that is a hotel that recognizes that little luxuries is what life is all about. Valet was super fast and affordable.

Room Tip: We had a view of King street and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellyhNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I only spent one night as the hotel was booked during the rest of our stay in Charleston. We stayed in 202. Swanky, yet homey. Metropolitan, yet comfortable. Much thought was given to every detail, which made it quite amazing. The staff were lovely. We sleep with a fan every night for the white noise. Although the rooms come with a nifty white noise machine, our preference was a fan. They actually went and bought one for us while we were at dinner. We had an early flight and they delivered coffee to our room an hour earlier than the kitchen opened. The location is stellar. Yeah, it's pricey, but worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FROMOMAHANEBRASKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Arrived at cute very contemporary older quaint door front to walk in and find wine and cheese for happy hour in lobby. Concierge waiting at desk Rooms have loft and full kitchen. Breakfast arrives each morning with newspaper in picnic basket. What a gem!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EarleneBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,953 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,475 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,881 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 61 in Charleston
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restoration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration

Address: 75 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £206 - £569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Opened & Re-Created The Restoration welcomes you to be our guest at our newly expanded location on Charleston's iconic King Street. From food and drinks to culture and boutique shopping, we have recreated history for your enjoyment. Come get inspired and experience what the New South is all about firsthand. See below for more details. A world class hotel isn't just a place to get a good night's rest (or a refreshing afternoon tipple,) it's a meeting ground, a place where unexpected elements come together to delight, inspire and entertain. Uniting classic elegance with a natural and easy going Southern touch, The Restoration translates its hometown's vibrant local history and culture into a casually chic, luxurious hospitality experience. It's relaxed and refined and just a little bit left of center-a world where high meets low meets Low Country. The Restoration is all about community. From locals to international travelers, we provide an immersive, beautifully designed environment for guests to connect and relax. It is this civic-minded, progressive mindset that powers the Restoration brand- from our jewel box inspired spa and farm to table restaurant, to the motorcycles we custom design for guests to ride away on. This is classic Southern Hospitality, modernized with a few twists and expanded to meet and exceed the highest standards of today's luxury traveler. We welcome you to experience The Restoration first hand to see what the New South is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Restoration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing