We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic everything!”
Review of The Restoration

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Restoration
Ranked #7 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic everything!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We just returned from a long weekend in Charleston and stayed at the Restoration on King. We had originally planned on staying elsewhere, but decided to try this after reading about it online. We are thrilled that we ended up here! Everything was fantastic from the staff to the comfortable bed and pillows, the location, and the breakfast picnic basket. All the little details are taken care of. We have traveled quite extensively and I am pretty sure that this is the first place I’ve ever stayed in that offers black washcloths for wiping away your makeup (they are actually embroidered with the work “Makeup” on them. Cute and practical! Honestly, we felt so at home. The kitchen and living area are magnificent. If I enjoyed cooking, I would have made a gourmet meal for my husband in that amazing kitchen. However, since I don’t cook, the staff was more than happy to recommend places to eat and make reservations for us. They sent us to Halls Chophouse for dinner on our last night and it was unbelievably delicious!! The cookies in the lobby at night and the happy hour in the lobby each afternoon were just more niceties that take this hotel to another level. They are on point when it comes to the details and that, in my opinion, is where a lot of other places lack. Kudos, Restoration on King and thank you for a spectacular visit!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    88
    30
    11
    3
See reviews for
219
556
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Restoration on King is a unique property in that is is secluede yet right in the heart of downtown Charleston!
Impeccable service, beautiful decor and amenities like breakfast that you eagerly await each morning.
Just don't let them install a wedding party in the suite across from you!
Questionable management decision but this was early-on. I'm regaining my comfidence to give The Restoration a try at redemption!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckclowdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, MD
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed her for four nights over a weekend in a two bedroom suite. The room itself was amazing with two bedrooms, two bath and a large kitchen and living room. The bed and pillows are first rate and the decor is modern woven into raw brick walls. The continental breakfast is brought to your room in a picnic basket and is fresh and plenty to eat. The staff was very helpful and friendly in helping plan your day or just getting around. I would give 5 stars but the place in very loud. We stayed on the second floor and it sounded like the people above were having a race back and forth most of the time, you can hear conversations in the next room over and king street is very loud from car alarms to traffic to people on the street. Everything is audible. If you don't mind some noise this hotel is great. If you are looking for peace and quiet you may want to stay elsewhere.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationisfun_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

So spent three nights at ROK. Great place. More of a condo than a hotel. You have a kitchen, laundry, etc. lucky enough to have stayed in a room with a private patio/balcony. Perfect location. Right on King Street. Shops outside your door. Walk or take bike taxis to all the great restaurants. Have stayed at a few other hotels in Charleston. This one is definitely special.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Glider17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The ROK was so refreshingly raw, exposed brick in the room, floor to ceiling windows, separate living areas and bedroom. Free muffins in the morning and cookies at night. Fully-stocked kitchen in the room and all the modern amenities of a large, modern hotel. The location is right in the heart of historic downtown right on King Street surrounded by great restaurants and boutiques. ROK was great at connecting us to cool local vendors and events. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Don't let maps deceive you. This hotel might look is though it's far from the action, but it's just the perfect distance. Everything is relatively new, in great working order, and was the perfect backdrop for a girls getaway weekend. Four of us shared a two bedroom without a balcony, and it was perfect. The weather had gotten cooler and so we wouldn't have used the balcony anyway. Many hotels in Charleston have rooftop bar areas or lounge areas and the Restoration is no exception. There's a beautiful area on top of the building that was empty each time that we went up there. The hotel provided happy hour every night at five, with bottles of wine appearing in the lobby. We were able to carry our drinks up to the top, and we had a fabulous time. Four of us shared three bathrooms so the suite.

Don't kid yourself: it's not cheap. But the price was totally worth it for what we got. They don't have a concierge, but Sally in the main office was a big help to us. If you stay in historic area there's no need for a car. In fact the car would probably be a little bit of a problem.

Charleston is such a perfect mix of great nature, great architecture, great culture and history, and really top-notch restaurants. I would go back in a minute. And I would choose to stay at the Restoration on King once again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank VickiBorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We just got back from our third trip to Charleston. Gosh, I love that city.

We stayed with my parents in a 2-bedroom suite at Restoration on King. Of all the places we've stayed in Charleston, this was easily our favorite.

The hotel is in a great location, as many have said. You are literally RIGHT on King St., the higher-end commercial center of the city. We were never more than a 10-15 minute walk away from any of the places we visited or ate at. The location also feels very safe.

Even though you are in the middle of it all, RoK feels very private and exclusive. It is a small boutique hotel, and we really enjoyed feeling like we had the place to ourselves. We only ever saw other guests a few times.

As for the decor, the rooms are beautifully furnished. They are modern but comfortable, new but charming. You really feel like you are staying in someone's personal condo and not in a hotel. The kitchen had everything you could possibly need, the beds were extremely comfortable, and the bathrooms are modern and clean.

The amenities the hotel offers really are what puts it a league above the rest, though. First, there are multiple snacks offered to guests throughout the day: coffee in the morning, wine and cheese in the early evening, and warm cookies and milk at night. Our favorite thing, though, was that they delivered breakfast in a picnic basket each morning. The menu for breakfast offers a good bit of variety, the quality is just fine, and they bring it right to your room at whatever time you specify. It was so nice to sit around the living room in the morning, drinking coffee and eating our pastries.

There's also an iPhone app, iPads for guests to use, umbrellas available, etc. It's obvious that the hotel has the guests' happiness and comfort in mind, and it was nice to be pampered.

Our only complaint was that the walls are pretty thin. We stayed in a suite on the 2nd floor, and we could hear loud walking/cleaning early each morning. Also, we could easily make out every word on our neighbor's TV.

That said, without hesitation, we would stay at RoK again. It's a special hotel in a very special city, and we much enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emiliewasmyeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,854 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,182 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,045 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restoration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration

Property: The Restoration
Address: 75 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Opened & Re-Created The Restoration welcomes you to be our guest at our newly expanded location on Charleston's iconic King Street. From food and drinks to culture and boutique shopping, we have recreated history for your enjoyment. Come get inspired and experience what the New South is all about firsthand. See below for more details. A world class hotel isn't just a place to get a good night's rest (or a refreshing afternoon tipple,) it's a meeting ground, a place where unexpected elements come together to delight, inspire and entertain. Uniting classic elegance with a natural and easy going Southern touch, The Restoration translates its hometown's vibrant local history and culture into a casually chic, luxurious hospitality experience. It's relaxed and refined and just a little bit left of center-a world where high meets low meets Low Country. The Restoration is all about community. From locals to international travelers, we provide an immersive, beautifully designed environment for guests to connect and relax. It is this civic-minded, progressive mindset that powers the Restoration brand- from our jewel box inspired spa and farm to table restaurant, to the motorcycles we custom design for guests to ride away on. This is classic Southern Hospitality, modernized with a few twists and expanded to meet and exceed the highest standards of today's luxury traveler. We welcome you to experience The Restoration first hand to see what the New South is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Restoration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing