We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary Gem in Classic Charleston”
Review of The Restoration

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Restoration
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Contemporary Gem in Classic Charleston”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I hit Restoration on King on a business trip through the Carolinas. After 6 cities, it was so refreshing to stay in a relaxing, comfortable setting. The staff were amazing, and incredibly accommodating. I'm a traveller, and this is one of the best stays I've ever had. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    87
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
215
544
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at the Restoration for our 15th wedding anniversary. We stayed for three nights and were treated like royals!. Our loft suite which had a charming view of King Street was breathe taking. Upon entering our room we treated with wonderful bottle of champagne and a beautiful handwritten note with best wishes on our wedding anniversary. The staff were so knowledgeable on points of interest and restaurants. A special thanks to Nathaniel who helped us with an itinerary. He was attentive to every detail and made our stay very enjoyable! Our favorite touch was the bicycles. We felt like kids again riding among those majestic homes.

The hotel is perfect for a romantic getaway, family extended say with all the comforts of home right down to the kitchen sink. (literarily) ;-) The room was ultra chic and very clean! The pictures of these rooms are spot on!

The next time we are in Charleston we will be staying at The Restoration!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed at the Restoration this summer for a weekend getaway and loved it so much I sent my parents back for a birthday present for the two of them. Convenient to the best shopping on King and the best restaurants as well. Can't beat a hotel set up as more of a condo, with breakfast in a picnic basket to boot! Didn't take advantage of the bikes or beach chairs while we were there, but plan to on future stays. The only negative I can think of would be the doors(walls) are a bit thin if you are a light sleeper, but is to be expected in an older structure. Worth it for the convenience and charm, not to mention most of the comparable options are outdated.

Room Tip: Higher room if you are a light sleeper - away from street noise and eliminates upstairs neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsg0letsg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My sister and I stayed at the ROK for 3 nights in December and really enjoyed our stay. Because of the suite style of the units, we really felt like it was our home away from home, which we really appreciated after each day spent out walking and exploring Charleston. The unit was beautifully furnished, and the beds were comfy. We loved the exposed brick throughout! as well as the beautiful gourmet kitchen, comfortable living room area, and high ceilings.

The staff were friendly and helpful. And we especially loved having breakfast delivered to our room each morning in the cute picnic basket. We actually looked forward to this each morning! What a great touch! We also appreciated the complimentary drinks left for us in our fridge. There were lots of other extras that we didn’t indulge in – complimentary iPads and bikes, wine hour each evening, milk and cookies each night. But it was nice to know they were available. Plus, it’s those little details that really elevate your stay.

The location can’t be beat. We were right on King Street and within easy walking distance to everything that we wanted to see and do while in Charleston. My only complaint was that the walls were relatively thin. We could hear others talking and moving about in their rooms rather easily. This didn’t affect us, but it might be somewhat problematic for others.

All in all, we loved our stay at the ROK. We look forward to coming back and can’t imagine staying anywhere else the next time we visit Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson. az
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in late Oct. We thought everything was fantastic. We had to move the third night as the wonderful room with the patio which we were enjoying had been previously booked.

The management moved us while we were out enjoying the city.....whoops they forgot to move our bottle of champagne oh no ......when asked , the champagne was retrieved and sent ASAP. This room was also quite nice but missed those French doors to our balcony.

The beds and linens were wonderful in both rooms, and everything was super clean.
There was even a washer and dryer which allowed us to catch up from the previous week of travel. This would be a great place for a month stay.

Everyone including management was so attentive and accommodating.....I would stay here again and again and have told friends what a great stay we had. Can not wait to return.

Room Tip: The balcony room......yes All rooms are large with kitchens and all a bit different as this buildi...
See more room tips
Green Features: Prefect "".""".......................""Energy star appliances. Sliver level. Recycle. . Energy windows
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TucsonAmigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We just returned from a long weekend in Charleston and stayed at the Restoration on King. We had originally planned on staying elsewhere, but decided to try this after reading about it online. We are thrilled that we ended up here! Everything was fantastic from the staff to the comfortable bed and pillows, the location, and the breakfast picnic basket. All the little details are taken care of. We have traveled quite extensively and I am pretty sure that this is the first place I’ve ever stayed in that offers black washcloths for wiping away your makeup (they are actually embroidered with the work “Makeup” on them. Cute and practical! Honestly, we felt so at home. The kitchen and living area are magnificent. If I enjoyed cooking, I would have made a gourmet meal for my husband in that amazing kitchen. However, since I don’t cook, the staff was more than happy to recommend places to eat and make reservations for us. They sent us to Halls Chophouse for dinner on our last night and it was unbelievably delicious!! The cookies in the lobby at night and the happy hour in the lobby each afternoon were just more niceties that take this hotel to another level. They are on point when it comes to the details and that, in my opinion, is where a lot of other places lack. Kudos, Restoration on King and thank you for a spectacular visit!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Restoration on King is a unique property in that is is secluede yet right in the heart of downtown Charleston!
Impeccable service, beautiful decor and amenities like breakfast that you eagerly await each morning.
Just don't let them install a wedding party in the suite across from you!
Questionable management decision but this was early-on. I'm regaining my comfidence to give The Restoration a try at redemption!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckclowdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 62 in Charleston
2,825 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,141 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 62 in Charleston
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 62 in Charleston
2,017 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
439 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restoration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration

Property: The Restoration
Address: 75 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Opened & Re-Created The Restoration welcomes you to be our guest at our newly expanded location on Charleston's iconic King Street. From food and drinks to culture and boutique shopping, we have recreated history for your enjoyment. Come get inspired and experience what the New South is all about firsthand. See below for more details. A world class hotel isn't just a place to get a good night's rest (or a refreshing afternoon tipple,) it's a meeting ground, a place where unexpected elements come together to delight, inspire and entertain. Uniting classic elegance with a natural and easy going Southern touch, The Restoration translates its hometown's vibrant local history and culture into a casually chic, luxurious hospitality experience. It's relaxed and refined and just a little bit left of center-a world where high meets low meets Low Country. The Restoration is all about community. From locals to international travelers, we provide an immersive, beautifully designed environment for guests to connect and relax. It is this civic-minded, progressive mindset that powers the Restoration brand- from our jewel box inspired spa and farm to table restaurant, to the motorcycles we custom design for guests to ride away on. This is classic Southern Hospitality, modernized with a few twists and expanded to meet and exceed the highest standards of today's luxury traveler. We welcome you to experience The Restoration first hand to see what the New South is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Restoration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing