We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“condo living in a hotel”
Review of The Restoration

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Restoration
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“condo living in a hotel”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

tight bedroom and bathroom, but living room and kitchen were wonderful. great if you are staying for more than a few nights. great location. bed was a bit too soft for me, but felt plush. kitchen has dishwasher, oven, stove, cutlery, etc. nice to have breakfast basket brought into kitchen by staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 32travelcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    84
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
214
521
27
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Restoration on King is an absolutely incredible experience. It's definitely anything but "just a hotel". The rooms are more like apartments and incredibly beautiful. The exposed brick was stunning and you couldn't ask for more out of your experience. But I think the thing that made our stay flawless was the General Manager and staff. They were so helpful, pleasant, and went out of their way to make sure all of our needs were met. I would recommend The Restoration on King to anyone visiting Charleston.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaraLee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here for our 1 year wedding anniversary and we enjoyed the romance package. The concierge staff was really good about keeping everything a secret from my wife because I wanted everything to be a surprise. She loved every bit of our time there, and so did I. I frequent Charleston a lot and I must say this is the best hotel I've stayed at. And I use the term hotel loosely because it felt like home away from home. We'll definitely be returning soon. You guys ROK!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tristan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed the night here on our recent vacation. I am so thankful we did because the weather didn't cooperate with what we had planned. That just gave us more time to enjoy our room which is more like a studio apartment. The rooms are simply gorgeous. Full kitchen, spacious living area, and a very comfortable bed in a loft setting makes this a home away from home. The rooftop patio and outstanding customer service just add to your enjoyment here. There is no place else in Charleston I would consider staying.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tracytaylortx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blair, Nebraska
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed on the third floor in a room with a huge private balcony. This Hotel is so nice you just want to move in, and with the generous Wine and Cheese social each evening , the cookies later, and the free waters and pop in the refrigerator , you have to skip some of the niceties just to have an appetite to eat at all the fabulous restaurants nearby. We could have had a party with 20 couples in this room and not felt crowded, what a spectacular home to come to after a busy day sightseeing. It does feel like home, and you can tell the condo beginnings of the Restoration. You will be restored for sure and can't think of a better place to stay in scenic Charleston

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a balcony ---- one is hidden where we stayed and the other is facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viper51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We live just 2 hours away and are no strangers to Charleston both for business and personal travel.

This is a great hotel if you like combination of historic and contemporary. It's a boutique hotel so no room service but rooms are large with lots of amenities. Close to shopping and dining.

Great for couples or business if you want a place to settle in for comfort and then get out and explore the city. If you want full service pampering, probably not your place. However, if the room and location most important great choice.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ericsvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutherville Timonium, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Anyone traveling to Charleston needs to seriously consider a stay at the Restoration. The customer service is the best I have ever experienced. We happened to have a late-night arrival (10 pm), and the General Manager, Howard Letts, was right at the door to greet us. We were offered some wonderful treats before bedtime and then taken on a quick tour of the site. Mr. Letts also gave us a thorough tour of the suite and explanation of the amenities. Ours was a fantastic one-bedroom suite with a beautiful balcony and sizable living dining area. The Restoration even has a Pillow Bar, which guarantees that you will have a best night sleep given your preference of pillow. The stay includes breakfast, which is delivered to your door in an elegant picnic basket. The property itself is gorgeous and in keeping with the beautiful architecture of the city. Hats off to the Restoration. They sure know how to make a guest feel extra special.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,768 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restoration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration

Property: The Restoration
Address: 75 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Opened & Re-Created The Restoration welcomes you to be our guest at our newly expanded location on Charleston's iconic King Street. From food and drinks to culture and boutique shopping, we have recreated history for your enjoyment. Come get inspired and experience what the New South is all about firsthand. See below for more details. A world class hotel isn't just a place to get a good night's rest (or a refreshing afternoon tipple,) it's a meeting ground, a place where unexpected elements come together to delight, inspire and entertain. Uniting classic elegance with a natural and easy going Southern touch, The Restoration translates its hometown's vibrant local history and culture into a casually chic, luxurious hospitality experience. It's relaxed and refined and just a little bit left of center-a world where high meets low meets Low Country. The Restoration is all about community. From locals to international travelers, we provide an immersive, beautifully designed environment for guests to connect and relax. It is this civic-minded, progressive mindset that powers the Restoration brand- from our jewel box inspired spa and farm to table restaurant, to the motorcycles we custom design for guests to ride away on. This is classic Southern Hospitality, modernized with a few twists and expanded to meet and exceed the highest standards of today's luxury traveler. We welcome you to experience The Restoration first hand to see what the New South is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Restoration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing