We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Restoration
Nearby Hotels
US$358
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$366
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Harbourview Inn(Charleston)
US$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andrew Pinckney Inn(Charleston)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,089)
Filter reviews
1,089 results
Traveller rating
930
103
36
17
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
930
103
36
17
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspicnic basketfull kitchenbreakfast basketking streetwine and cheeseeach morningboutique hotelloft styleexposed brickcookieswasher and dryerstudio suiterooftop restaurantthe general managerbreakfast deliveredliving areahardwood floors
Filter
Updating list...
666 - 671 of 1,089 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I cannot say enough great things about our stay over July 4th at The Restoration on King. Fantastic location to walk to great sites/shopping/restaurants, details and decor so perfect, wonderful staff, breakfast and evening wine and cheese delicious, fully equipped upscale kitchens, the most comfortable beds and soft linens, showers/shower heads top notch. I peeked in many rooms and they are all just magazine worthy. Everything you could need. It was our family's first stay and we will go back!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

ROK is one of our favorite hotels in the US and we have stayed in a ton of first class properties. This is not a full service hotel by any means. The lobby is small and there are only a few employees on duty at any given time. And, the valet and front desk (except for Nicole, who was knowledgeable, professional and very nice to boot) personnel are not Ritz-trained. It really doesn't matter to us, because the wine and cheese at 5 pm is great, the picnic basket breakfast is cool and doesn't require you to spend a couple hours of your morning at an assigned breakfast at a B&B, and the rooms are AMAZING.

We sprung for Room 301 this time, which is a king suite with a massive balcony. We even had an extra half bath/powder room. We love the decor, the large bathroom with superb water pressure, and the amazing full kitchen. We could live here for a month. And the location is the best, whether shopping King Street, eating out, or visiting a kid at College of Charleston. Love ROK and love Charleston. This place ROKs!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WildcatGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I have had many accommodations around the world, but I must say for a small city, the suites(actually complete apartment) with a huge great room,( eat-in kitchen and living room combined), large bedroom down the hall and well- appointed bathroom(fantastic shower) left me feeling like I was living like royalty. Breakfast arrives in a large picnic basket with so many options(bagel, croissant,smoked salmon, prosciutto, fresh orange juice, yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit,tea, coffee, muffin, eggs) delivered to your front door when you would like, make quite an impression. The wine and cheese hour is delightful in the non-obtrusive lobby. For approximately $300 a night, it is worth every penny. Centrally located on King Street(the main thorofare in town). You can even take advantage of the in-room washer/ dryer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markmena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at The Restoration on King for two nights as part of a family vacation with our two twenty-something year old daughters. Two words sum it up - casual elegance. This hotel is absolutely beautiful and well-appointed -- really has to be seen on the inside to be appreciated. In our travels, we have found that having that kind of luxury can also equate to a sense of stuffiness. Not here! It felt easy to kick our shoes off and to sink into the plush chairs in the lobby while enjoying a wine and cheese reception with the other hotel guests. And our room -- no words. We stayed in a two bedroom and two bath two level room with a full Charleston-style side balcony that we thoroughly took advantage of at night to watch the activity on the street below. We wanted for nothing - expect the opportunity to stay in this place for much longer.

The staff could not have been better. Everyone seemed genuinely invested in us having a wonderful stay and had that sense of how to provide friendly, yet discreet service.

The hotel is central to just about everything you would want to see or do in Charleston. If walking is not your thing then there is always a pedi-cab or the DART trolley nearby, but even as a heavy-set middle-aged woman with bad feet, I found it easy to walk to most locations I wanted to go for restaurants, shopping and sight-seeing.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone, even if your budget allows for only a single night stay. The experience is worth it!

Room Tip: Loved our room with the Charleston-style balcony to allow for enjoying the mild nighttime weather and watching the activity on the street below.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momwriterlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed for three nights and really enjoyed the luxury of this hotel. Our suite was enormous and would have been spacious even for a family of four. Much more of an apartment than a suite, it was lovely to have a washing machine and dryer. The welcome with wine and cheese was great and the staff were delightful. What more can I say?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews