We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot imagine you can have a better experience in Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Restoration

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Restoration
Ranked #7 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
bonita springs
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cannot imagine you can have a better experience in Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

First things first...don't let you first impression of the entrance fool you. Looks are deceiving. There is so much to offer inside. Who needs a big fancy lobby when you can have character, comfort, knowledgable and friendly service, and port wine to boot. Room was very clean with extremely comfortable bed, turndown service, chocolate covered almonds. Not your run of the mill hotel chain. Boutique hotel with fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, washer, and dryer. Furnishings were modern with hardwood floors. Enjoyed visiting with other guests and the staff in the lobby and on the rooftop deck. 206, 207, 208 are overlooking king street and there is a bit of noise from traffic at night. Bedroom away from road and noise makers allowed for great sleeping for us. The only negative was the kids running on the hardwood floors make a loud racket. High ceilings resinate the sounds, but a regular hotel room is not soundproof either. Picnic basket breakfasts were preselected the evening before. Menu selection was limited, danishes not great, bagels fresh, fruit ok, coffee hot. Would maybe like to see some different menu options when staying more than 2-3 days. No restaurant on location, but several within walking distance or arrange pickup and staff will deliver upon request (Tom Bodett will not do that, but Howard and the ROK staff would). Walking distance to mostly everything downtown, trolley stop just around the corner. The cost is higher, but the you will have a unique stay at Restoration on King. Would return on next trip to charleston.

Green Features: Has water purification system and tonic water option. Energy efficient appliances.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    83
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
212
502
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eden, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The front desk staff are to be commended on their professionalism and courtesy. I especially would like to thank, Nathan! Nathan located my son's cell phone and made sure that it was secure until he could pick it up. I appreciated so much his willingness to help make the connections that were necessary for this to be a story with a happy ending! In a busy and inpersonal world his choice to be helpful and responsible was a huge relief to our family. Thank you, Nathan, for stepping up!

Sincerely,

Sandy Morrison

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smorrison30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I cannot say enough great things about our stay over July 4th at The Restoration on King. Fantastic location to walk to great sites/shopping/restaurants, details and decor so perfect, wonderful staff, breakfast and evening wine and cheese delicious, fully equipped upscale kitchens, the most comfortable beds and soft linens, showers/shower heads top notch. I peeked in many rooms and they are all just magazine worthy. Everything you could need. It was our family's first stay and we will go back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
241 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

ROK is one of our favorite hotels in the US and we have stayed in a ton of first class properties. This is not a full service hotel by any means. The lobby is small and there are only a few employees on duty at any given time. And, the valet and front desk (except for Nicole, who was knowledgeable, professional and very nice to boot) personnel are not Ritz-trained. It really doesn't matter to us, because the wine and cheese at 5 pm is great, the picnic basket breakfast is cool and doesn't require you to spend a couple hours of your morning at an assigned breakfast at a B&B, and the rooms are AMAZING.

We sprung for Room 301 this time, which is a king suite with a massive balcony. We even had an extra half bath/powder room. We love the decor, the large bathroom with superb water pressure, and the amazing full kitchen. We could live here for a month. And the location is the best, whether shopping King Street, eating out, or visiting a kid at College of Charleston. Love ROK and love Charleston. This place ROKs!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildcatGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
191 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I have had many accommodations around the world, but I must say for a small city, the suites(actually complete apartment) with a huge great room,( eat-in kitchen and living room combined), large bedroom down the hall and well- appointed bathroom(fantastic shower) left me feeling like I was living like royalty. Breakfast arrives in a large picnic basket with so many options(bagel, croissant,smoked salmon, prosciutto, fresh orange juice, yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit,tea, coffee, muffin, eggs) delivered to your front door when you would like, make quite an impression. The wine and cheese hour is delightful in the non-obtrusive lobby. For approximately $300 a night, it is worth every penny. Centrally located on King Street(the main thorofare in town). You can even take advantage of the in-room washer/ dryer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markmena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at The Restoration on King for two nights as part of a family vacation with our two twenty-something year old daughters. Two words sum it up - casual elegance. This hotel is absolutely beautiful and well-appointed -- really has to be seen on the inside to be appreciated. In our travels, we have found that having that kind of luxury can also equate to a sense of stuffiness. Not here! It felt easy to kick our shoes off and to sink into the plush chairs in the lobby while enjoying a wine and cheese reception with the other hotel guests. And our room -- no words. We stayed in a two bedroom and two bath two level room with a full Charleston-style side balcony that we thoroughly took advantage of at night to watch the activity on the street below. We wanted for nothing - expect the opportunity to stay in this place for much longer.

The staff could not have been better. Everyone seemed genuinely invested in us having a wonderful stay and had that sense of how to provide friendly, yet discreet service.

The hotel is central to just about everything you would want to see or do in Charleston. If walking is not your thing then there is always a pedi-cab or the DART trolley nearby, but even as a heavy-set middle-aged woman with bad feet, I found it easy to walk to most locations I wanted to go for restaurants, shopping and sight-seeing.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone, even if your budget allows for only a single night stay. The experience is worth it!

Room Tip: Loved our room with the Charleston-style balcony to allow for enjoying the mild nighttime weather an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momwriterlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed for three nights and really enjoyed the luxury of this hotel. Our suite was enormous and would have been spacious even for a family of four. Much more of an apartment than a suite, it was lovely to have a washing machine and dryer. The welcome with wine and cheese was great and the staff were delightful. What more can I say?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#11 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restoration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration

Property: The Restoration
Address: 75 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Opened & Re-Created The Restoration welcomes you to be our guest at our newly expanded location on Charleston's iconic King Street. From food and drinks to culture and boutique shopping, we have recreated history for your enjoyment. Come get inspired and experience what the New South is all about firsthand. See below for more details. A world class hotel isn't just a place to get a good night's rest (or a refreshing afternoon tipple,) it's a meeting ground, a place where unexpected elements come together to delight, inspire and entertain. Uniting classic elegance with a natural and easy going Southern touch, The Restoration translates its hometown's vibrant local history and culture into a casually chic, luxurious hospitality experience. It's relaxed and refined and just a little bit left of center-a world where high meets low meets Low Country. The Restoration is all about community. From locals to international travelers, we provide an immersive, beautifully designed environment for guests to connect and relax. It is this civic-minded, progressive mindset that powers the Restoration brand- from our jewel box inspired spa and farm to table restaurant, to the motorcycles we custom design for guests to ride away on. This is classic Southern Hospitality, modernized with a few twists and expanded to meet and exceed the highest standards of today's luxury traveler. We welcome you to experience The Restoration first hand to see what the New South is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Restoration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing