We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, luxurious, comfortable and convenient!”
Review of The Restoration

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Restoration
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 May 2010

An old building restored with the hope of being a condo becomes a great hotel in Charleston. Elegantly furnished one bedroom suite with one and a half baths was perfect for my husband and me. Breakfast was included and promptly delivered in a picnic basket; the fully equipped kitchen provided the utensils, plates and cups. There are two flat screen tvs with an IPod dock too. More than all the comforts of home. A wonderful weekend place with helpful staff and lots of nice perks -- milk and cookies at 8, anyone?

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyhdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLetts, General Manager at The Restoration, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2010

Thank You for your kind review of The Restoration on King. I am so happy that you enjoyed many of the hotels new amenities such as our IHome clock radios and IPod, ITouch and IPhone docking stations which allow our guests to see video and listen to music directly from their Flat Screen TV's. My staff and I truly enjoyed the pleasure of serving you and we hope we will see you again soon upon your next visit to Charleston, SC. We will have our freshly baked cookies and milk ready upon your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,049)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2010

My partner and I had an Amazing stay at Restoration on King. The accommodations were
incredible. The space was immense. We had a huge patio that overlooked Wentworth. Perfect for the types that want to feel like they Live in the city of Charleston. Next time we'll plan a cocktail party there as it could easily accommodate 50 people. Would we stay there again?? YES, YES and YES.

Skot Bradford and Jason Preston

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxuryalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLetts, General Manager at The Restoration, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2010

Thank You for your kind review of The Restoration on King. The staff and managment truly enjoyed the oppurtunity to serve you during your visit to Charleston and I am delighted that you enjoyed your Luxury One Bedroom Suite with a Balcony. We would be happy to help you plan a small cocktail party in one of our oversized condo style suites or for a larger gathering, we can help plan your event on our RoofTop Terrace which is always available for private events. We hope to see you again soon when you next return to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

We stayed here a few days after they opened at the beginning of April. We were traveling with our 2 daughters and it was great to have the space of a one bedroom condo.

They put 2 cots in the living room to accommodate the extra 2 guests at no charge.

Every evening we would fill out a sheet which indicated the breakfast items we wanted for the following day and they would be delivered by picnic basket the following morning (fruit, muffins, juice, coffee, tea, yogurt, cereal the list goes on).
They also offered a wine and cheese every evening which in other hotels we haven’t wanted to bother with but at this hotel because it is so small and the lobby/entrance room So inviting we enjoyed it.

The hotel décor was fantastic, loved the photo prints of South Carolina decorating the rooms. The furnishings were gorgeous just want you want from a boutique hotel.

One of the reasons we picked this hotel was its proximity to shopping areas as we wanted to be able to let our daughters go out on their own shopping which they did with no problem. We walked everywhere and except for dinner one night never used our car.

We loved Charleston and the Restoration on King.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bee-bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLetts, General Manager at The Restoration, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2010

Thank You for your kind review of The Restoration on King. I am so glad you enjoyed our "Picnic Basket Breakfast" service filled with our fresh baked pastires, fruit and cereals along with our evening Managers Wine & Cheese Reception. I know your daughters had a great time shopping as they returned to the hotel arms filled with all of their findings from their Charleston shopping adventures. We hope to have the oppurtunity to serve you again when you next visit Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

My wife and I stayed here this past weekend and were overwhelmed by the incredible service, beautiful environment, and luxurious, spacious,apartment style suites. We've stayed in first class accomodations all over the country including Ritz Carlton Resorts but they have nothing on The Restoration on King. Included with our room was a wonderful cheese and wine reception on the roof top overlooking steeples and other Charleston sites. We lounged on comfortable couches and sipped our wine as we watched the sun go down over the bustling streets of downtown Charleston. We slipped out of the hotel and enjoyed stepping right into the heart of this beautiful city. We walked to restaurants and shopping and by some of the many historical homes and parks in the the area. We missed the evening snack set out for guests but were spoiled the next morning with their over the top "continental breakfast" which is actually delivered to your room! Breakfast included coffee and juices, parfait and granola, fresh fruit, bagels and cheese or fruit bagetts made fresh that morning at a local bakery. The rooms are luxurious. The kitchen comes fully equipped with high end appliances. The refridgerator was even stocked with water and soft drinks (no extra charge!). The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. So, as you can probably guess, I highly recommend this hotel. What a difference it made for our special weekend together! David S.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcswain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLetts, General Manager at The Restoration, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2010

Thank You for your kind review of The Restoration on King, Charleston's newest Luxury Boutique Hotel. I am so happy that the weather was so nice during your stay and you were able to enjoy our beautiful rooftop terrace and the wonderful views of Charleston. Sorry you missed our evening Cookies and Milk, but we promise to have some ready for you on your next return. We look forward to the oppurtunity to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

This boutique hotel exceeded our expectations, from the beautiful kitchen and comfortable bed to a staff that went out of their way to make sure our stay was flawless.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InquistiveCobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLetts, General Manager at The Restoration, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2010

Thank You for your kind review of The Restoration on King. The staff and managment take great pride in serving all of our guests staying at our new 15 room boutique hotel. I am thrilled that you enjoyed all of the many amenities our guestrooms have to offer. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you again on your next return to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Irenaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EPScarlata, Manager at The Restoration, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Schweiz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike S, General Manager at The Restoration, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,936 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,266 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,466 reviews
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,864 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 61 in Charleston
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restoration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration

Address: 75 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £207 - £563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Opened & Re-Created The Restoration welcomes you to be our guest at our newly expanded location on Charleston's iconic King Street. From food and drinks to culture and boutique shopping, we have recreated history for your enjoyment. Come get inspired and experience what the New South is all about firsthand. See below for more details. A world class hotel isn't just a place to get a good night's rest (or a refreshing afternoon tipple,) it's a meeting ground, a place where unexpected elements come together to delight, inspire and entertain. Uniting classic elegance with a natural and easy going Southern touch, The Restoration translates its hometown's vibrant local history and culture into a casually chic, luxurious hospitality experience. It's relaxed and refined and just a little bit left of center-a world where high meets low meets Low Country. The Restoration is all about community. From locals to international travelers, we provide an immersive, beautifully designed environment for guests to connect and relax. It is this civic-minded, progressive mindset that powers the Restoration brand- from our jewel box inspired spa and farm to table restaurant, to the motorcycles we custom design for guests to ride away on. This is classic Southern Hospitality, modernized with a few twists and expanded to meet and exceed the highest standards of today's luxury traveler. We welcome you to experience The Restoration first hand to see what the New South is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Restoration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing