We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mackinac Island Fudge and homemade ice cream”

Kilwins Chocolate and Ice Cream
Ranked #6 of 36 Dessert in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Wheaton, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mackinac Island Fudge and homemade ice cream”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My wife found this place on our second to last day in Charleston and was instantly in heaven. Superb ice cream and fudge. When we got home, we just found out that they are opening a store in our town soon. I know where date nights are going to end up now!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dancingdentist60189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    87
    19
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moultrie, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“THE best ice cream, caramel popcorn, and milk chocolate caremels”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My hubby and I ran in here for ice cream and chose the sea salt caramel. TO DIE FOR. The place was packed and the staff were all VERY friendly and helpful. I ended up buying caramel popcorn and some milk chocolate caramels to go. If I had tried those in the shop, I would have bought more. Very good!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Picky_eater14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandia Park, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unorganized and out of whipped cream”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stopped in for a sundae...made the sundae than realized they were out of whipped cream? Hello? You are an ice cream place?? Server should have offered something as substitute topping but didn't and we didn't ask. Place looked untidy with boxes strewn around behind the counter. Neither of us finished our sundaes because we both thought the flavor (vanilla) tasted a little off. Have eaten at a Kilwin's in Sarasota and Key West area and not the same experience at all.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sandiagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Setauket, New York
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Expensive, But So Good”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Unusual flavors of ice cream and wonderful fudge. Lots of raves about the fudge when we got home. Too bad the ice cream couldn't last.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Kilwin's is great!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The ice cream here is very good. Creamy, not too sweet, a nice range of flavors. It's a bit pricey, but hey, we were on vacation!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 207mainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kilwins Chocolate and Ice Cream also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Kilwins Chocolate and Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing