We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee stop”

Bakehouse Charleston
Ranked #7 of 18 Bakeries in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Description: The perfect spot for coffee & pastries or a light lunch.
Michigan
Level Contributor
243 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Great coffee stop”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We were on a walking tour when we stopped in for coffee. My coffee with steamed milk was very good, and the treats they had for purchase looked so pretty. My only complaint is, and this is like a lot of coffee places, there's so much writing everywhere that you have a hard time quickly finding out what flavors of coffee they have, if any For me, I was offered the choice of flavored coffee (not the flavor shots, the flavored beans), but my friend didn't know they had that and ended up getting a chai tea. She really wanted the flavored bean coffee, but the menus and blackboards were hard to follow, as we were first timers in there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    50
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relax”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Called in the bakehouse after walking our little socks off and needed a drink and a break. Very relaxing, tidy and friendly cafe, the coffee was excellent and we left suitably refreshed. Call in if you need a boost or just want to read a book in peace!

Helpful?
Thank Pegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best coffee in South Carolina”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Happened upon this wonderful place whilst on a short visit to Charleston. Best coffee of our holiday and the coconut macrons and gluten free date & nut bars are delish!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anitamariak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wonderful cakes”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

A light, airy coffee shop with good coffee and excellent home made cakes. I had an unusual brownie billed as a 'German brownie' - a conventional brownie covered with a thick layer of flapjack like crunch. Sounds a little weird, tasted terrific. They also have free, fast wifi. A great place to while away an hour in Charleston when you've had enough of sightseeing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
674 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 821 helpful votes
“Very Good Little Coffee Shop”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Better than that even. The baked goods were so well done, that it was hard to back down from the counter. The juices were bottled, but at least they were high end and advertised natural. The coffee is very good and the mixes better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nabenom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bakehouse Charleston also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bakehouse Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing