We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Chef, New Menu Outstanding”
Review of Osteria la Bottiglia - CLOSED

Osteria la Bottiglia
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Great wine bar with savory Italian plates! Easy feel like you are sitting in a small, local bar in a Tuscany. Informal with just the right ambience!
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“New Chef, New Menu Outstanding”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I liked it before; Massi has always had authentic and delicious food at his restaurants. The new Executive Chef Michael Perez has created a fantastic new menu of small plates. I ordered the Raviolo and it was delicious--when I cut into it a beautifully runny egg yolk popped open and gave a richness to the wonderful, fresh pasta. Wow. My friend had the Agnolotti pasta and loved it. Great wine selection and many other choices. We'll be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eastcoastdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    8
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“If you want to feel you are in Italy....”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

If you want to feel like you are dining in Italy, try this restaurant! All pasta is made in house - it is absolutely a delight! The cheese plate was beyond any I've had anywhere - the choices, the presentation, the taste - all fabulous! We enjoyed mussels as an appetizer and they were plump and fresh! The raviolio with the egg yolk center was unimaginable! I have never had anything like that before and the waitress had recommended it, so we tried it! The service was excellent, which for me, enhances the meal l00%! We were seated in the back area of the restaurant and it was just the right noise level and allowed us to have conversation and great wine! They have quite a nice wine list! Great experience!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suefromcharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“quiet dinner”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

pasta made from scratch (4/day) was great.
if you eat near the bar it can get loud. Service was genuine.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank aroccoNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small, quiet and wonderful”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Was referred here by a local. They make their own pasta which tastes so fresh. I had the Raviolio which as the menu states includes an egg yolk. It was excellent; the ricotta was smooth and creamy & the egg added a nice flavor. Of course, I love eggs. I liked that you can order a half or full portion. We sat at a tall table with the bartender as a waiter. He was wonderful and attentive. My husband had the meatballs which were light and flavorful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GRC0520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just walk on by!”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Horrible staff -- rude, arrogant and only skilled at making excuses rather than making it right. reservations mean NOTHING to these people. I live in Charleston and love our restaurants. This place is a disgrace to our city.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B0gie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria la Bottiglia also viewed

Daniel Island, Charleston
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing