We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #32 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Very nice hotel for the money”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We spent 4 nights here.we wanted a place with fridge and microwave in the room, breakfast, and free wi-fi, and this fit the bill. Beds were very comfortable, rooms were very clean, and housekeeping kept the room well stocked and clean. Breakfast was good most days, the juice machine was almost never filled when I was trying to get juice but other than that it was a well stocked buffet. We enjoyed the use of the downtown shuttle , would have liked it running earlier but hey not the end of the world. We did find that most nights the shuttle driver did not maintain the pick up schedule from downtown, which was frustrating . Definitely a good value considering how expensive the in-town hotels are plus those all charge for parking, which this one did not. We would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonMartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    247
    68
    26
    21
See reviews for
189
207
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here in September and finding the location really convenient I decided to stay again with my wife and some friends. I knew that they were in the middle of an upgrade and confirmed that it would not be a problem.
The staff was extremely helpful, the updates were well appointed (still on going), the breakfast quite nice and if you have an odd numbered room you have a great view of the marina.
One added feature is the FREE evening shuttle that will take you downtown and back so if you are concerned about going to dinner and drinking and driving you have no worries.
It may be just a small thing but it is a nice touch.
I will definitely stay there again and certainly recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Don C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a lovely review of the hotel with other travelers. We truly appreciate it! We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all of the amenities offered including our hot breakfast & complimentary evening shuttle to the historic district. I will make sure to pass on your kind words to the staff for a job well done! We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Charleston. Until then, take care!

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We booked 2 rooms for my husband and myself and relatives. Everyone enjoyed the quiet location and roomy little suites. We walked down to the river just steps outside the hotel. It was packed for breakfast but the food was good. One weird thing happened. My daughter lost an earring while she was wearing it the first day. The second day she saw it on the divider where the hot food is located! Evidently someone saw it and put it there! We have stayed at the Residence Inn next door and that is nice too. We just got a better rate at Springhill Suites this time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnC576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corbin, Kentucky, United States
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

If you don't want to pay the high price of downtown but still convenient this place is perfect. We stayed during spring break and loved it. Spacious rooms that were clean. Just a short drive to town, beaches and only about 20 minutes to plantation homes. The breakfast bar was satisfying. The workout room was good to finish the day off right. Overall great place and definitely will be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel 6 or 7 times and it got a much needed renovation. The guest rooms are bright, cheery and spacious. I thoroughly enjoyed my king suite. The hotel staff were attentive and friendly.

Room Tip: 311 overlooks the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bacon864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Staff was wonderful! We had reservations for an upcoming medical procedure at MUSC. Plans changed on a dime and we had to come in a few days earlier in more of an emergency situation. The staff was so accommodating and helpful to adjust our reservations. Whatever we needed was provided. Rooms were very clean, location was fantastic with easy access to get to MUSC or even head over to Mt Pleasant for dinner. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lrob226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed here for only one night, but was impressed with everything during my stay. I looked at tons of hotels and was prepared to spend a lot more to be in the historic district, but after I found this hotel, I couldn't justify the expense or hassle. The convenience of the shuttle to and from downtown Charleston was a HUGE bonus - it was great to not have to worry about finding parking OR paying for it. I think the front desk worker's name was Erica - she checked me in and promptly called to make sure I was pleased with my room. The lady who helped with checkout was equally as kind and thorough.

***Again, the FREE shuttle was the best part of the stay. I later found out the other hotels in the Marriott chain charges $8.00 PER PERSON for the same service.

I really enjoyed the space of my room that faced the marina, and the king size bed was awesome! I can't say enough good things about my stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: The shuttle to and from downtown Charleston was FREE - I later found out the other hotels in the Mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#36 of 62 in Charleston
1,122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Property: SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Address: 98 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Charleston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#37 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Riverview, the ideal choice when traveling to Charleston for business, family vacations, or romantic getaways. Conveniently located near MUSC and Roper Hospital, you will find your inspiration at the SpringHill Suites. From the moment you enter this downtown Charleston hotel located 1.5 mi from the bustling historic district, you will find breathtaking views, old world charm, and unpretentious southern hospitality. Our spacious all-suite hotel's service amenities are designed to fit your lifestyle- with suites that are 25% bigger than average hotel rooms. We'll spoil you with amenities such as free WIFI, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, shuttle to the historic district (at a small fare), and an outdoor pool & whirlpool… just to name a few! So, what are you waiting for? Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott and let us show you what Charleston is all about! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing