We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short drive and free roundtrip shuttle to downtown...free parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #38 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Short drive and free roundtrip shuttle to downtown...free parking”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is an excellent locate for people visiting Charleston, SC. It is a short drive from downtown. A free roundup shuttle takes you to and from downtown. The breakfast is good...the maple waffles are an excellent choice if you like eating waffles. The rooms are very familiar if you are a Residence Inn customer. The rooms are clean, free wi-fi that works well and despite being next to the elevator on the first floor, I did not hear a lot of noise. The property is situated next to a marina, right off the water and has an all brick exterior...definitely makes you feel like you're in Charleston. Parking is free and available...this is a huge bonus because parking costs so much and is so limited in downtown Charleston. I do not think staying downtown benefits you unless you are single with no car and want to be within walking distance of all the action all day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iknowtravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    192
    64
    21
    20
See reviews for
223
166
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We took a quick family trip to Charleston for our son's birthday. We needed a two bedroom suite and didn't want to spend an arm and a leg for a weekend jaunt. We had stayed here several years ago (happily), so we knew the area would work.

Upon check-in Brittney (the Operations Manager) set us up. She and the entire hotel staff (seriously, every one that we ran into) were friendly, helpful, cheerful and professional. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and pleasantly decorated. We settled in and took off to explore downtown Charleston. There is a shuttle from the hotel to downtown but we opted to drive the short distance.

The hotel is beautifully landscaped and well maintained. Although it is pet friendly, you would never know it. They also offer breakfast buffets and weeknight socials. The pool area is small but gorgeous. This is a little gem away from the hustle and bustle of downtown but close to everything.

We will return on subsequent visits, next time with our four footed family member! You can't beat the location, value and staff. Thank you Residence Inn.

Room Tip: If planning to travel with your pet, call the property first to find ou all the details. If you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utfan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide the great feedback! I will make sure to pass on your kind words to Brittany and the rest of the staff. We have a great team here and are thankful for your recognition. We would love to see your family (and your four legged friend) back again soon. Please contact me personally to make your travel arrangements next time you are in the Charleston area. We truly appreciate you choosing to stay with us.

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Katie.Register@fowlerhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I have stayed at this property 3 times, Rooms are Nice, Beds small for 2, try to get with Balcony, Parking is free and is 15 minutes from Downtown. I have enjoyed the Free Dinner Beer and Wine at night and also the Breakfast Buffet. Prices are a little high but average for Charleston. The Hotel has No view of water but on a quiet street.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzackz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

While this is a great property, it is not downtown nor does it have a riverview. It will take 7 minutes via car to downtown. That said, it is a great place to stay. The 2 bedroom suites are great for those families traveling together. It offers 2 bed, 2 private baths, and a common living/kitchen area. Breakfast is good but can be a bit crowded. The fitness center and pool were great. The hotel also offers a shuttle from 5:30 on to take you into/out of the downtown area.

Room Tip: If you have a pet, request a 1st floor corner room for easy access in/out of the hotel. For those lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallyho67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Our room had a musky odor that could have been some deodorant used by the staff to mask a pet odor/mold. Also. the water had a bad smell, almost like it came from the river! Talking about river, this hotel is not a riverview hotel! If you are lucky you get a view of the marsh!!!
Breakfast was good. This hotel is in need of a remodeling/upgrading.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank xuxuverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
It is with my sincerest apologies that we did not meet all of your expectations and it is with sadness and regret that my team was not able to sense your discontent and offer their personal service resolution. Furthermore, I do greatly appreciate your honesty and opinioned review. Unfortunately we were not given the opportunity to address your concerns while you were here.

Just to update you on the odor-- this summer has proven to be one of the hottest summers in history. South Carolina's marshes are known for its pluff mud. This mud leads to an unpleasant smell when it is extremely hot and humid outside. Luckily, we are able to take preventative measures with an dehumidifying system and other methods. Because of this, it is very rare that we get any complaints regarding the issue. Also, the water comes from Charleston Water System and is city water. I am unsure as to why it would have had an unpleasant smell as this is regulated by the city. As far as the riverview title, I understand that this can be confusing. This section of town that the hotel is built on is named the "Riverview" area. While some of our rooms provide river views, you are correct in the fact that most of the rooms provide marsh views.

We truly appreciate your honest feedback and constantly strive towards excellence in guest satisfaction. We would love to have you visit us again so that we can make it up to you. If you are ever in the area, please contact me at katie.register@fowlerhospitality so that I can personally set up your accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We were impressed by the friendly staff at this Residence that went above and beyond anytime we had a question or when we had a problem. The air conditioning wasn't working correctly in our room. I wish I would have complained the first night but I thought it was just me. But on day two I asked them to check it and they send someone right away. When it was determined they couldn't fix it then they gave us a room upgrade. They offered to move all our stuff and gave us a $25.00 gift certificate to a local restuarant. They also let us have late check out which allowed to get to the beach before we had to leave town.
We took our dog Rocky and they greeted him with a goodie bag. It had dog treats and pages of info about dog friendly places in Charleston inside.
Our kids loved the pool and the breakfast. They have many choices at their breakfast, including my daughter's favorite, belgian waffles.
The manager's reception is great. Free food and alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank superjulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We were in Charleston to help celebrate a friends' wedding at Boone Planation. The hotel was awesome and the staff were superb. The location was great with easy access to downtown and to the beach. We will stay at this hotel again when we return to Charleston!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen_G378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Property: Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Address: 90 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing