We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #38 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Room rate includes the breakfast buffet (including yogurt, fruit, breads and muffins, cereal, oatmeal, ham and eggs), free coffee all day long, and a happy hour in the evening. Tonight, in addition to the free wine and beer, there was chefs salad, fruit salad, bread sticks, tea, lemonade, Caesar salad, pretzels, and other munches. There is a free shuttle to the downtown historic district every evening. Why stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: If you are a Marriott rewards member, you can request a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d102macc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    193
    64
    21
    21
See reviews for
227
168
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

No room service for two days. Housekeeper told us to put our dirty linens in the hall. Spoke to manager and he assured us that our room would be the first to be cleaned today. Still waiting at 2:30 pm. Terrible.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
328 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

A great place to use as a base to travel out from!

Two room suite suited our purpose to a T.

VERY comfortable beds and room was clean.

Good bath in each bedroom with fluffy towels and shampoo/conditioner etc.

Great kitchen area including a dishwasher and all requirements including a full size fridge!

We never used the kitchen except for drinks and appetizers but will in the future if required.

A little smell from the A/C when we started it (room was a little warm when we arrived) but as it was summer and very high humidity we expected a little as we do whenever a room is vacant and humid. Not an ongoing issue during the rest of our 3 day stay.

The shuttle bus to the city - very short trip is great and yes it is only in the evening hours but still great.

Driver was very helpful in suggesting places to go to see and to eat at.

Managers Night Specials were Fantastic and most nights we had a hard time not staying for them. Even had a catered night from a very popular restaurant in the area California Dreaming that was as good as any buffet we could want!

Overall just what i expect fro this Hotel Group.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TangoForFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Room seemed a bit small and run down, except for a pair of nice 32" LCD TV's. Carpet looked clean, but gross bodily fluids & stains were on couch & loveseat, food was splashed on side of fridge, a bit of mold was in the shower, and dust was hanging from the ceiling corners. Room and halls had a strong cleaning supply odor, aggravating my allergies during the entire 5-night stay. Housecleaning rang bell to wake guests despite "no service" sign.

Couldn't sleep over HVAC which sounded like a bulldozer running next to bed, until we were moved to a different room with a much quieter unit. Some dogs were barking in nearby rooms (thin walls). All of the staff were VERY friendly and quickly responded to all requests, but incoming calls took immediate priority over guests standing at the front desk waiting.

Bed was queen size (no king-size beds are in the hotel). Mattress felt like a trampoline; firm yet bouncy, and any motion shook the entire mattress. Feather pillows didn't provide much head support (we prefer foam). Toilet seat was broken and had gouges that were painted over, and toilet paper was very rough (bring your own).

Nice evening reception with free snacks, free beer & wine, and games such as bingo. Free breakfast. Free WiFi (with no encryption/security).

Hotel parking is free, and we always found a spot. A free shuttle to/from downtown runs in evening only 6-11pm and stops at one location. We thought the hotel location was good, but nothing is within walking distance of the hotel. If you drive to downtown Charleston, note that some parking locations are metered and require coins (but if you don't mind walking a little further it's almost always possible to find free spots with 2-hour limit. Watch out for South Carolina drivers who have a habit of pulling out in front of oncoming traffic, possibly due to lack of left-turn arrows on most traffic lights.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but cleaning-supply odors were overpowering, and we didn't get as much sleep as we would have liked.

Room Tip: If HVAC is too loud, just ask for a different room right away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank No2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Jefferson North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Sometimes staying in Charleston can be bewildering due to the hundreds of choices.
Most of them share one thing in common - they are expensive!
But how would you feel about a beautifully maintained, quiet place with a harbor view, great rooms many with patio courtyards, less than five minutes from the historic district, fifteen minutes from the beach, with green space, immaculate service, reasonably priced, and dog friendly to boot.
Well here it is, Charleston's best kept secret the Residence Inn Riverview.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed one night on way home from Hilton Head. Room was spacious and comfortable. Kitchen smelled of bleach. Did not make it to pool. Room was quiet and near river. 10 minutes from downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggreentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Having stayed at many other Residence Inn properties (my preferred hotel when traveling with my 2 sisters), I was kind of underwhelmed. My sisters and I like the feel of having a suite for our trips and the luxury of having a kitchen in our room. The staff wasn't exceptional, just average. The room was ok. The location could have been better. Although, I do appreciate the shuttle to the downtown part of Charleston, it was kind of inconvenient that the shuttle only ran after 5p. Before that it was a $12 cab ride to and from downtown area. Not that it was super expensive, but also not ideal. The breakfast was ehh. The fitness facilities were clean but did not include many options.

We weren't disappointed, we were just underwhelmed with the service overall. We arrived early and I didn't expect that a room would be available at 11:30a. The front desk held our bags for us and after giving us the number to a cab (No. They didn't call one for us. Would that have killed them to do?), they said they would call me when a room became available. I never got a call. After doing some sight-seeing and killing some time, we returned to the hotel at around 5p and of course our room was ready by then. The best thing the hotel staff did was give us the number to Keefah taxi. Now THEY were great. We ended up with the same driver the entire weekend. I only wish we would've have taken down his cab number and name because he was great - like awesome-great. It was like we had our own personal driver for the weekend. That was the best thing the Residence Inn did for us.

Stanley - Shuttle Driver at night was great! He gave us awesome nightlife recommendations. Stanley, the Keefah cab service, and the cleanliness of the hotel is what garnered this hotel the average rating. If it weren't for them we would have gone from underwhelmed to disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iamamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Property: Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Address: 90 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing