We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smaller main room, less furnished”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #37 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Overall Residence Inns are consistently good. For the price we paid for a 2-bedroom suite, the view was mediocre and the primary living room was smaller than other RIs we have been in. The main room was missing an easy chair, the walls were bare. Though advertised as "riverview", we were told it was "One Hotel away from the water" and that rooms with large windows and/or balconies were only available on an "as possible" basis. The breakfast was bountiful, but not exactly fresh or healthy. The facility lobby and eating area decor was very nice. One of the evening buffets was quite sad. On our last night the smoke alarm started chirping in the night. The outdoor grounds were beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask lots of questions before you book.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TheBlur123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear TheBlur123,

I hope all is well in Virginia!

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your honest feedback regarding your stay. We strive toward 100% complete guest satisfaction and guest feedback is vital in reaching that goal.

Just to update you on a couple of matters-- We are currently undergoing complete renovations in all of our suites. Our brand new sofas are due to arrive this week. We have currently removed all easy chairs in our rooms on the top floor as we await arrival for the new sofas, which include a chaise lounge. Also, we have not installed any pictures on the main living room wall until the sofas arrive so that we do not have to hang twice/ put unnecessary holes in the wall. Regarding the size of our suite, the rooms mimic a traditional hotel and our suites at the Residence Inn fit in accordance to the Charleston market.

We hope to welcome you back next time you are in Charleston so that you can see for yourself all the beautiful changes we have made! Thanks, and please contact me directly at Katie.Register@marriott.com if I can personally coordinate your reservations.

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Location is about 15 minutes car/taxi ride south of downtown Charleston. Apartments are extremely well appointed with full kitchen facilities, daily maid service and in house laundry facilities. A very good breakfast is included, with evening dining "specials". A small snack and drinks facilitiy is also available. Free evening return shuttle service to downtown is a great facility.
And to cap it all there is a good sized pool to cool off with tables and BBQ facilities.
And finally the staff are very helpful and efficient making for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin2417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel is conveniently located to the downtown area. Only 5-10 minutes by car. The rooms were clean and quiet. We enjoyed our stay. We'd stay here again and would recommend the hotel to our friends and family.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were happy to find a pet friendly property in Charleston while in town visiting family. Our dogs were welcomed with no issues, even received treats upon check in. The facility is nice and covers all of the basics. Overall the stay was comfortable. Our room was not serviced during our stay per our request as we had the dogs in the room but they made sure to provide us towels and other items as needed. Our first stay at a Residence Inn and they have certainly won us over from the service and willingness to allow dogs. Will look to stay at this chain more when traveling with our dogs.

Room Tip: They have started to upgrade rooms, our room on the third floor had not been. May want to ask for a...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laceyc05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This property has a great team with wonderful customer service and is going through a renovation! The new rooms look fantastic and I look forward to visiting again later this year and seeing the end result.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here for one night on a business trip. Stayed here because all the hotels downtown were booked. This isn't exactly downtown but it is a short distance across the river with a convenient shuttle service that leaves every 30 minutes from the Residence Inn and its sister property next door, the Springhill Suites.

The hotel was clean with a large lobby and friendly staff. It has a standard 3-story layout, though there was some construction going on the top floor while I was there. There's a small outdoor pool and indoor gym. There's also free wifi throughout. There's a comlimentary "hot" breakfast in the mornings and cookies/alcohol in the afternoons. No free afternoon meals on the weekend though. There are simple cocktail orders in the pool/lobby area as well.

The rooms I saw were well apportioned, with a kithenette that included a dishwasher, sink, small stove, microwave and medium sized refrigerator with separate freezer. My room had a small balcony with sitting area though only overlooking the hotel's AC unit. One of my coworkers had an indoor sitting area instead. The bed and bedding were comfortable. I've noticed that many hotels are starting to include HD tv programming now that it's more or less the standard. However, many chains, including this one, are slow to include AV hookups and numerous outlets for all those smart devices people travel with nowadays.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notleo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Ideal location easily accessible to all areas of Charleston. Light and bright, with a nice area to walk. Everyone on staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Nice breakfast selection, with a great common area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tracey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Address: 90 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Charleston
#26 Family Hotel in Charleston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £124 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing