We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #37 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Good location and easy drive to Folly beach and downtown. Hotel shuttle was very convenient to get to Market street. First shuttle into town doesn't leave until late afternoon but you can take a cab and use shuttle to come back in the eve. Our 2 bed, 2 bath suite was very comfortable and had everything we needed. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ranger1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

I have always been a fan of the Residence Inn line from Marriott. This particular location was a great stay. My family staged a mini-reunion in Charleston. The Residence Inn offered 2 bedroom suites which were ideal for our group. We reserved two 2-bedroom suites, but when we checked in, they had to offer us one suite, one studio, and one 1-bedroom. Though not exactly what we had wanted it all worked out: it still allowed the grandparents to share a suite with the grandkid on a pull out sofa and the parents in their own bedroom (this was always the plan). My sister and I got our own rooms which was fine by us.

The rooms were spacious, clean, and well equipped - the suite had a full oven in the kitchen and the two other rooms had burners and a microwave in addition to a full size fridge. The hot breakfast offered by the Residence Inn has always been a big plus for my family. The waffle iron produced South Carolina-shaped waffles!

Front desk staff was very helpful with directions and recommendations for meals.

Parking was adequate but pretty much at capacity as it seemed as if a lot of people were in town for weddings (Charleston is a major wedding destination!).

The hotel offered an evening shuttle to the historic area of downtown which is a huge plus when not familiar with the city. The drop off location was very convenient to restaurants/bars and the drivers had plenty of recommendations.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_Mas2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We've stayed here on several occasions over the last decade. It is convenient to downtown Charleston, has free parking and internet service, has a nice breakfast venue and has a workout room and pool that are user-friendly. From Market or King Streets, it is a straight drive west on Calhoun with easy traffic flow. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and well-kept and the noise level is low compared with downtown. We can get most of our favorite downtown restaurants in the evening in under 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side, upper level for quiet evening and nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank AgJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Our son's wedding was made complete by a wonderful stay at the Residence Inn in Charleston. We have a son with disability and the hotel staff and coordinator worked tirelessly to make sure that the room was spacious, well appointed and set up perfectly for us. Although this may be a small point for most travelers, it is critical for us. The layout of the rooms, bathroom and roll-in shower made it VERY easy for our son to be comfortable, while not feeling overwhelmed. This was a key reason for staying at this hotel and it was the best experience we've had traveling with our son. The room was always clean and the cleaning staff made sure we had all the towels and supplies we needed.
The hotel staff were 'sunny' each and every day. They made a point to say hello to us and our son, wishing us a "great Charleston Day" each time we met them. they were always helpful and answered our questions with a smile. Great location as we were able to get to all the wedding events without difficulty.
All in all, it was a perfect experience for us and all the family that stayed with us. Highly recommend this hotel for families travelling.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcsilvamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The property provides easy access to Battery Park and downtown Charleston, breakfast gets you off to a great start -- and it varies day be day. Staff have been very helpful. Our check in was easy and the staff changed our room location and suggested a quiet area when I reminded them we had out dog. GREAT JOB in that regard.

The property shows a bit of wear in some of the furniture and the large burner in out stove did not work but it was fixed promptly.

Odd that when the morning temp was in the upper 60's the gas fireplace in the dining room was blazing away -- it was really hot. I would suggest forgetting that feature until winter.

Room Tip: For two people we find the one bedroom suite the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gfindlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel was very clean and the front desk personnel eager to help with dinner plans and places to visit. The city was not crowded and walking was a pleasure. A car is required to get to the downtown area. We were with 2 other couples and traveled to Savannah, St Augustine, and Orlando before returning to Fort Lauderdale. It was the most expensive rate of all our stays.

Room Tip: Not one sound was heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank d0ug51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great staff, overall a great stay, as usual! We love the proximity to down town and Folly. When we have time for a get a way, this the place. We are always well taken care of. Thanks so much for your staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charleston Historic District
0.8 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#31 of 61 in Charleston
1,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Address: 90 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
#22 Business Hotel in Charleston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £95 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing